Big K.R.I.T.
ReturnOf4eva


4.5
superb

Review

by AggravatedYeti USER (46 Reviews)
June 28th, 2011 | 167 replies | 19,078 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I guess the story of a country boy just ain't compelling

10 of 10 thought this review was well written

There’s something to be said for delivery. Not so much Mississippi native Big K.R.I.T.’s drawl-drench molasses flow--though it is exceptional--more so how he utilizes his voice and rhyme schemes posturing them against his self-produced beats. Whether it be a soulful banger sopping with soul-samples and blaring horns (“R4 Theme Song,” “Rotation,” & “Sookie Now”) or an introspective slow burner like the twinkly “King’s Blues” or the menacing “American Rapstar” and “ Made A lot.” Adhering his cleverly woven tales of Southern living, classic rides, giant booties and even bigger sub woofers pitch perfectly to ReturnOf4eva’s beat palette. More importantly though is how jovial K.R.I.T. makes everything sound. From his lamentations of his woes on the road to success (the excellent “Dreamin’”) to a provocative night out at the strip club (“Shake It.”) ReturnOf4eva is celebration of life though, as opposed to a declaration of excess. K.R.I.T. is reveling in his arrival to a place he has worked endlessly to reach.

What’s most exciting about this, his seventh mixtape, and first since signing to Def Jam is just how much potential there is still to work with. Make no mistake though ReturnOf4eva is a more a carefully planned out, complete record than a haphazard mixtape but it leaves you feeling there is still so much more for K.R.I.T. to do. “The Radio won’t play the *** I used to love/Or maybe I’m just growning up” K.R.I.T. relays on “The Vent” a gorgeous back-ender that reads more like a set piece for his impending career than a sendoff for the album. “Hope you understand/what I'm goin’ through/Hope you understand/when I call out for you” he later continues. If K.R.I.T. keeps pumping out such likable music as easy to fall right into as his previous two mixtapes--I don’t think it will be too hard for us to understand at all.



Recent reviews by this author
Los Campesinos! Hello SadnessM83 Hurry Up, We're Dreaming
G-Side The One...CohesiveBlackbird Blackbird Summer Heart
De La Soul De La Soul Is Dead Wavves King of the Beach
user ratings (234)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
TheJunkhead (4)
"I'm just rotatin' my tires"...


Comments:Add a Comment 
MalleusMaleficarum
June 28th 2011



14287 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This needed a review for sure, nicely done.

Probably a 4 for me, yet to decide..

Digging: Shabazz Palaces - Lese Majesty

AggravatedYeti
June 28th 2011



7684 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thanks Malleus.
just felt compelled (or bored)

I've been bumping this so hard the past few weeks as the sun's come out.

AggravatedYeti
June 28th 2011



7684 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

danke senor.
good to see you're still around (though you never really left did you?)

and yes get this. you, Feit, Hans, Blake and Maniac will all probably enjoy the shit out of this if you haven't already.

conradtao
Emeritus
June 28th 2011



2090 Comments


Excellent review. This is fantastic.

Hawks
June 28th 2011



35623 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

This rules.

Digging: Engraved - Before The Tales

AggravatedYeti
June 28th 2011



7684 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

^ damn right.

nice to see we're finally agreeing on something again Conrad.

telebyrd
June 28th 2011



869 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

his guest spot on Oneirology is nice too

ECRbubs
June 28th 2011



687 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah really hard to find much wrong with this mixtape, review is a bit short but still you provide good insight.

DoubtGin
June 28th 2011



6749 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

best

combustion07
June 28th 2011



5343 Comments


Haven't heard more than a couple songs yet but I checked him out because of the interview with Naudwar and the tracks I heard were cool.

qwe3
June 28th 2011



21355 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

so good

WickedMystic
June 29th 2011



76 Comments


Amazing. True Southern rap.

robin
Emeritus
June 29th 2011



4248 Comments


got this on my computer and all.

was about time you did this!!

balcaen
June 29th 2011



3183 Comments


i was wondering when someone would step up to review this. it's really great!

AggravatedYeti
June 29th 2011



7684 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

^ agreed. This and Curren$y's Weekend at Burnies are pretty much all I need for this summer.

was about time you did this!!

was about time I listened to robinsmith. Now 5 Aquemini and First Band On The Moon already.


HalfManHalfAmazing
July 3rd 2011



565 Comments


I like a few songs off of this but most of the production just isn't my thing. Great rapping though

AggravatedYeti
July 3rd 2011



7684 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

production is what seals it for me to be honest.

Inveigh
July 3rd 2011



24944 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

damn, missed this review when you dropped it Yeti... great read.

this record's awesome

Digging: YOB - Clearing The Path To Ascend

AggravatedYeti
July 3rd 2011



7684 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

hehe.

"review"

you're too kind : )

it is nice to see an artist use their major-label budget to do more than hire expensive albeit shitty producers to make yet-another-house-hop-track.

EyesWideShut
July 3rd 2011



3131 Comments


one of the few newer rappers along with Curren$y that got my attention. im digin this guy..



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy