Embers
Shadows


4.5
superb

Review

by Hawks USER (71 Reviews)
June 27th, 2011 | 196 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I would just like to know one thing...where in the hell did Embers come from?

Embers is a relatively new band to the black metal scene, having only been around since the year 2004. To date, they've only released one EP, one split with a band named Book of Belial, and this, their first full-length album, Shadows. The band comes from the United States, more specifically California and, like I said, they play black metal. However, that's not the only thing that they are. Unlike other black metal bands from the area such as Ash Borer and Fell Voices, they don't fit into the whole "Cascadian" black metal scene. Instead they go for an atmospheric black metal sound heavily influenced by doom metal and crust punk as well as some drone, particularly in the intro and outro.

This album is extremely heavy while still keeping the black metal atmosphere intact. Every fan of the black metal genre knows that the atmosphere you pull off is just as important as the music itself. More than likely fans will want something that gives you a visual in your head and not something that sounds thin or hollow. What this album tries to do is put you in a trance-like state with the tremolo picking. However, there's plenty of variations in the riffs here. Complimenting the tremolo picking is plenty of doom-styled guitar work that will pound your ear drums into oblivion. With the album being a little over an hour, you can expect this variation throughout the entire duration of the album. The drumming is varied as well, with black metal blast beats as well as some stuff just playing in the background when the doom parts take over and dominate. The crust influence mainly comes in some of the vocals, with a lot of hardcore-esque shouting.

As I touched on, the crust punk influence is mainly vocally, but those aren't the only vocal style displayed here. Being primarily a black metal band, the main style of choice is the raspy black metal scream. The vocalist, who is a female by the way, can keep up with any male vocalist in the genre and fits right in. While the vocals aren't anything unique, they're certainly well executed and aren't anything that will make you cringe in disgust, so that's a good sign right off the bat. Along with the black metal screams there are a few growls here and there that wouldn't sound out of place on a death metal album. The different vocal styles really keeps the album sounding fresh since, after all, it's pretty lengthy.

Embers are pretty much a breath of fresh air in the current black metal scene and they're definitely a band to watch out for in the future. While individually the elements don't really do anything special, they're very unique when you mix them all together. This album will always keep you guessing and the mixture of black metal, doom, drone, and crust punk really have you anxious just what they're going to do next and that makes the album seem a lot shorter than it actually is. For being so long, nothing drags or makes you want to skip any tracks. The whole thing is fantastic.



Recent reviews by this author
Incantation The Infernal StormXanthochroid Blessed He With Boils
Cradle of Filth Midnight in the LabyrinthIstapp Blekinge
Antediluvian Through the Cervix of HawaahMarduk Dark Endless
user ratings (19)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hawks
June 27th 2011


35837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album is kicking my ass right now.

TheSpirit
June 27th 2011


18001 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

first sentence should just be relatively new not newer

Digging: The Speed of Sound in Seawater - Red Version

TheSpirit
June 27th 2011


18001 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

also glad you ended up liking this so much dude. gonna read the rest of the review now but i'm sure it's good.

Hawks
June 27th 2011


35837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Good catch man. I'll edit that now, thanks. And yeah I really love this haha.

TheSpirit
June 27th 2011


18001 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm glad dude, I knew it would right up your alley. I love how this is definitely very modern but the atmosphere really reminds me of old school black metal as well. Anyway, I strongly recommend this to everyone pretty much. I don't really get much of the "crust" influence that is supposedly on it but it still rules nonetheless. I'm actually gonna bump my rating up to a four.

Hawks
June 27th 2011


35837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hell yeah, I completely agree. I definitely get the crust vibe heavily in some of the vocals, but that's about the extent of it. I'm on my third listen in a row. I'm actually surprised at how much I love this.

TheSpirit
June 27th 2011


18001 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This album is extremely heavy while still keeping the black metal atmosphere in tact


intact is one word

I personally think that you overuse the word "riff" in the second paragraph.

Besides those I really think this is one of your better reviews Hawks, I'd gladly pos this review.

Hawks
June 27th 2011


35837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks for catching that too haha. I'll try and edit that second paragraph up a bit. Thanks a lot buddy.

TheSpirit
June 27th 2011


18001 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

No problem dude, like I said it was well deserved. Btw, here are some of the other recs I told you about earlier

Drowning The Light - Catacombs of Blood (DTL is actually a very, very inconsistent band, when he's awful, he's fucking awful but he also has a lot of excellent materiel. Personally this is probably one of his best full-lengths and definitely the best DTL to being with. Really awesome, rich atmospheric black metal.
Sargeist/Drowning the Light - Crimson Wine/As The Blood Flows On.. (Excellent split, another one of Drowning the Light's better works, [[quite honestly, his last few splits, EPs and full-lengths have all been pretty quality]] and Sargeist's side is legit as well.
Dammerfarben - Im Abendrot (Generally I don't like much melodic/folk black metal, but this album which was released this year is actually pretty fucking awesome. Definitely something that is also right up your alley.
Irrwisch - Irrwisch (Pretty awesome atmospheric black metal with a strong depressive black metal undercurrent)
Pensees Nocturnes - Ceci est de la musique (Newest album by these guys and it's really fucking good. If you haven't already check out their older stuff, which is really great avant-garde black metal)

I have more but I don't want to flood you with a bunch at once. Let me know what you think!



Hawks
June 27th 2011


35837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Awesome, thanks dude. I saw your review for that Dammerfarben album on RYM and already put it on my list of stuff to check out. Sounds pretty awesome.

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
June 27th 2011


8945 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is impressive stuff :]

Hawks
June 27th 2011


35837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yes! Glad you like it Noctus.

TheSpirit
June 27th 2011


18001 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah Hawks, I really recommend you checking that out, it's pretty good for being melodic/folk black metal. You should also really check out the Drowning the Light/Sargeist split. And yeah Noctus this is awesome.

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
June 27th 2011


8945 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

stuck between a 3.5 and 4 but damn this could go up, this could be what I've waited for all year. i won't rate yet though. :]

Hawks
June 27th 2011


35837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm gonna download all of your recs tomorrow and give them a listen over the next couple of days. I've been meaning to check out Drowning the Light too just because I see how much you praise some of their stuff.

And yeah, this is my favorite black metal of the year so far. Might even be my overall AOTY.

TheSpirit
June 27th 2011


18001 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's not my AOTY but it definitely one of my favorite black metal albums from this year.

Hawks
June 27th 2011


35837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Well I can tell you that I'm very surprised by it. Hopefully some more people will give this the recognition it deserves.

TheSpirit
June 27th 2011


18001 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah I agree. Did you listen to the other material they released by chance? I'll probably check it out regardless but I was just wondering if you had some sort of opinion on it yet

Hawks
June 27th 2011


35837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nope not yet. I'm planning on finding the EP and the split sometime soon though.

ThyCrossAwaits
June 27th 2011


3065 Comments


Dammit I want that new Pensees Nocturnes but I can't find it...

Album is badass. Pos.

Digging: Old Man Gloom - The Ape of God I



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy