Falls of Rauros
Into the Archaic


3.0
good

Review

by Robert Garland CONTRIBUTOR (197 Reviews)
June 26th, 2011 | 35 replies


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Listeners must look ‘Into The Archaic’.

For those looking for something different in the folk metal style comes Appalachian themed but United States made, ‘Falls of Rauros’. This is first full-length release made by Fall of Rauros and some of the tracks on here have been heard before on the “Window of the Eye" demo. Into the Archaic may not be the best thing listeners will ever hear, and in no way are they trying to accomplish the impossible. Falls of Rauros are many things that you expect of a folk metal band. There is the assortment of harp and wind melody lines adding to a respectable harmony level, as well as the aggression found within many other acts. Ultimately however it’s the progression and the bands lack of diversity that lets this record down, coupled with poor production.

When listeners first try out Into the Archaic it can be assumed that they will first look for the positives. However they might just find themselves looking harder than first thought. While there are some interesting combinations between differing elements i.e. the sweet melodic wind instruments that dance above and below the typical aggression of distorted guitars and moderately fast drum patterns. There lacks any overly interesting features to maintain the attention of the listener, especially for a longer period of time. Tracks like ‘Contemplation of the Forgotten’ and ‘A Silent Premonition (Of Our End)’ may not be straight up disappointing but they lack flair and creativity shown by bands such as Korpiklaani or Moonsorrow (whom could be considered a couple of the genres heavyweights) and listeners will feel as if they have heard better elsewhere.

When focusing on the positives it can be noted that the music is not actually bad. The tone colour provided here shows the normal array of instruments that can be seen in everyday folk metal bands. The guitars, drums and bass lines are all present here as well as wind instruments that feed some of the natural themes being presented lyrically. These themes are a rough mixture of nature and the bands belief in returning the world to a ‘before Christian times’, a radical upheaval of the modern world. The vocals add contrast to the warm acoustic passages and sweet melodic sections, whilst complimenting the ‘heavy’ passages that are prominent throughout the record. Highlighting the album is the track ‘Revisitation’ which is a great example of points already mentioned. The track starts off with a warm introduction with a plucked acoustic guitar, before being accompanied by the drums. The same basic themes are prevalent here and continue for the most part before leading into a thicker sound combined with other elements of the band.

Falls Of Rauros are in no way ground-breaking, nor are they overly attention grabbing. The tracks are solid but lack the flair and creativity shown by most other acts. Before listeners tumble head first into this record, they should be aware of the quality to make sure they are not blown away by hype. Into The Archaic represents a level of growth shown by the band to move from ‘demo’ to ‘full-length release’ and hopefully that growth continues in future recordings.



Recent reviews by this author
In Flames Siren CharmsMastodon Once More 'Round the Sun
Mayhem Esoteric WarfareArchitects Lost Forever // Lost Together
Kauan PirutMiserable Failure Hope
user ratings (18)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
June 27th 2011


7047 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Here's another one that has really no interest, maybe for good reason. Time will tell all.

IAmKickass
June 27th 2011


840 Comments


Death black folk metal or whatever they shall prefer to be called isn't really my cup of tea, but a solid review. Have a pos.

Hawks
June 27th 2011


35838 Comments


Seems like you're improving little by little with every review. Keep up the hard work.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
June 27th 2011


7047 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks guys- hawks, yeah i have tried to pay special attention to wording and such.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
June 27th 2011


31218 Comments


Listeners must carefully look ‘Into The Archaic’.


As opposed to, what; dangerously?

Where black metal is needed, heavily influenced by the folk style comes Appalachian themed but United States made, ‘Falls of Rauros’.


This doesn't make any sense either

This is first full-length release made


*the first full-length

coupled with a poor production.


Lose the "a"

When listeners first try out Into the Archaic it can be assumed that they will first look for the positives.


This isn't exclusive to just this album

While there are some interesting combinations between differing elements i.e. the sweet melodic wind instruments that dance above and below the typical aggression of distorted guitars and moderately fast drum patterns


You start this sentence with "while there" you fail to include an alternative before you end it. Example: "while there is a large amount of ____ and ____ you will also find....." etc

for a longer period of time.


Long period of time

(whom could be considered a couple of the genres heavyweights)


*genres'

The tone colour provided here


Purple, magenta? What are we talking about here?

feed some of the natural themes


*feed off of; or, "combine with the natural themes...."

These themes are a rough mixture of nature and the bands belief in returning the world to a ‘before Christian times’, a radical upheaval of the modern world.


Truthfully this whole sentence is a little iffy

The vocals add contrast


add a contrast

Before listeners tumble head first into this record, they should be aware of the quality to make sure they are not blown away by hype


What hype? You haven't exactly been singing its praises

The music this time around may not receive many repeated plays.


Lose this and conclude the review with the previous sentence

Digging: LV and Joshua Idehen - Islands

BallsToTheWall
June 27th 2011


44482 Comments


Review makes me want to read Hatchet at Starbucks.

Digging: Tove Lo - Queen of the Clouds

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
June 27th 2011


31218 Comments


Man I love that book

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
June 27th 2011


7047 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"yeah i have tried to pay special attention to wording and such."

Or not as much as previously thought. Cheers Dev you can always spot that kind of crap.

"Tone Colour"
Oh, that could be out of context there. It's an aural training description, it refers to sound sources or 'media' that is used within a sample or song. Can be described through instrumentation, or effects or similar,yet still different instruments i.e. an electric guitar vs. an acoustic guitar.




NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
June 27th 2011


7047 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Review makes me want to read Hatchet at Starbucks."

Kid stuck alone in a forest, but has one tool; a hatchet?



TheSpirit
June 27th 2011


17885 Comments


I really think you're trying too hard to sound eloquent and in turn you end up writing stuff that makes no sense whatsoever.

Digging: Wreodan Heahl - Laecig

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
June 27th 2011


7047 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Maybe i should go back to a 'to the point' style of writing.

TheSpirit
June 27th 2011


17885 Comments


Some straight to the point reviewers are amazing, you don't need to drench your work in these obscure metaphors for it to be a good review.

LoneWanderer
June 27th 2011


180 Comments


Hmm..barring all the mistakes pointed out by Deviant., the review is decent...

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
June 27th 2011


7047 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Noted, and if you're thinking about giving these guys a listen, you are probably going to like them less to Appalachian Winter.

TheSpirit
June 27th 2011


17885 Comments


I've heard these guys before and they are okay but nothing I've revisited since the first time I've spun them.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
June 27th 2011


7047 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Then its probably not going to change your mind.
I'm hoping this will get a few more ratings

sifFlammable
June 27th 2011


2741 Comments


ya duud hatchet is metal m/


mm ipod you should get rid of the summary man

AfterTheBreakdown
June 27th 2011


7147 Comments


Nice review once again, have a pos maine.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
June 27th 2011


31218 Comments


So, is there really any point in me going through your review if the changes aren't going to be implemented?

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
June 27th 2011


7047 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sorry man, I'm just commenting on a phone from work,



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy