Unearth
Darkness in the Light


4.0
excellent

Review

by Devin Earl USER (10 Reviews)
June 22nd, 2011 | 270 replies | 31,955 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Unearth is back with a heavy album that will get anyone's head banging!

8 of 14 thought this review was well written

The Boston, Massachusetts metalcore act Unearth, has been at it over 10 years and has 5 albums and many world tours to show for it. Their 5th full length studio album titled Darkness In The Light is due July 5th via Metal Blade Records. Their last CD The March was more on the “softer side” compared the release beforehand III: In The Eyes of Fire. But this time Unearth is back with a heavier album that is sure to satisfy the old and newer Unearth fans. As many are already aware of, former Drummer Derek Kerswill Parted ways with the band before the writing process began. Killswitch Engage Drummer Justin Foley was soon named as the man who would fill in for drums for the recording process. Adam D. also from Killswitch Engage, was chosen to produce the record.

Darkness In The Light is littered with melodic choruses, skull-smashing breakdowns, and face melting guitar solos. This CD nothing ground breaking by any means but this album is here to shred and bang heads. The record’s production (like many of the other releases) is great and is a tad bit better than The March.

The first single of the album is “Eyes of Black”. This track is one of the heaviest tracks featured here. This is a track that will definitely be a pit starter in shows to come. “Arise The War Cry” might be the best track on the album period. Starting out with a “My Will Be Done” type intro and ends the same way it began with stunning guitar work. Then the album takes a turn with the track “Equinox”, Which can best be described as the “Aries” of the Darkness In The Light.“Shadows In The Light” is also an album highlight. Melodic riffs accompanied by those face melting guitar solos, makes it a track that you won’t want to overlook.

Unearth’s 5th studio album Darkness In The Light is a great album that has only a couple filler tracks to hold it down. But if you haven’t ever been a fan of any previous work that Unearth has done this probably won’t change your mind about the band.

Recommended Tracks
“Eyes of Black”
“Arise The War Cry”
“Shadows In The Light”
“Watch It Burn”



Recent reviews by this author
Unearth The MarchUpon a Burning Body The World Is Ours
Decrepit Birth PolarityI, the Breather These Are My Sins
Sevendust Cold Day MemoryEmmure Speaker of the Dead
user ratings (269)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
Robert Garland CONTRIBUTOR (3.5)
If it’s not broken, there is no need to fix it....


Comments:Add a Comment 
AfterTheBreakdown
June 22nd 2011



7106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

This album has an official stream so don't delete my review.

RosaParks
June 22nd 2011



14592 Comments


pretty awesome album

AfterTheBreakdown
June 22nd 2011



7106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

yeah it is.

MalleusMaleficarum
June 22nd 2011



13784 Comments


review starts with an improper sentence.

AfterTheBreakdown
June 22nd 2011



7106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I was trying to fix that but my Laptop died. Lets just pretend the review starts with The. Lol.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
June 23rd 2011



6937 Comments


I might have to pick this up when it finally drops.

The one sentence 'paragraph' could be combined with the other song descriptions, unless your deliberately trying to create some length with the spacing.

Does anyone also notice how all the metalcore acts have over-lapped at some point.(Killswitch Engage, All That Remains, Shadows Fall, Unearth.........etc.)?? Okay not all but still.

AfterTheBreakdown
June 23rd 2011



7106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I will fix it in the morning. I don't pay much to length. As long as it has at least 325 words.

Hawks
June 23rd 2011



34450 Comments


Some grammatical errors and awkward sentences throughout the review. You could probably clean it up a lot.

Digging: Equilibrium - Erdentempel

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
June 23rd 2011



6937 Comments


Fair enough, your reviews seem to be around the same length anyway. Pos from this one mate.

AfterTheBreakdown
June 23rd 2011



7106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Thanks. I rushed a bit cause my laptop was dying but I don't think its too bad. Just a few things to touch up on.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
June 23rd 2011



6937 Comments


Also there is less chance of a review being removed if you a)either provide a link to a stream... or
b) have someone else do it for you (like in a news column or something)

AfterTheBreakdown
June 23rd 2011



7106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Its been streaming for a while. If anyone knows who to post it to the news that would be really appreciated.

AfterTheBreakdown
June 23rd 2011



7106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

How*

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
June 23rd 2011



6937 Comments


'How*'

'edit button'

Lol.


Bfhurricane
June 23rd 2011



6194 Comments


Its been streaming for a while. If anyone knows who to post it to the news that would be really appreciated.


http://www.sputnikmusic.com/musicnews.php Look to the right and you'll see the link for "Add News."

Your review was a little short but good enough, I pos'd. I expect the stream to be up in the news by tomorrow, I'm too lazy to figure it out myself...

Spec
June 23rd 2011



27054 Comments


Always post that link in the review ;)

AfterTheBreakdown
June 23rd 2011



7106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Well the news never works for me so someone else can try. I done trying to figure that feature out.

AfterTheBreakdown
June 23rd 2011



7106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Well you want to know something? It was on the news thread 3 days ago lol. And I commented on it that day too. Mind=blown

BallsToTheWall
June 23rd 2011



44164 Comments


Stopped listening to this band after III: In the Eyes of Fire for some reason, have not heard one song off the march.

AfterTheBreakdown
June 23rd 2011



7106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Skip the march and go to this.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy