System of a Down
Hypnotize


4.0
excellent

Review

by mranti USER (21 Reviews)
November 25th, 2005 | 23 replies


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist


There’s no denying that System of a Down has shook the music industry at its core, with both the spoken word and music that has shed light on a dark modern world. In 2005, they follow-up 2001's hit album Toxicity with the two part MEZMERIZE/HYPNOTIZE release. Mezmerize hit the shelves half a year earlier than Hypnotize in attempts to make sure people really listened to every track instead of skimming through over 20 at a time, and via a thin piece of cardboard, they both physically join together. With recording legends Rick Rubin and Andy Wallace at the helm, and with guitarist Daron Malakian’s interesting acoustic guitar theory explained on the DualDisc release of Hyponitze, System of a Down has arguably never sounded better on compact disc.

Continuing after the halfway disappointing Mezmerize, System of a Down seemingly takes a more serious stance with Hypnotize, with the exception a few lines like “eat all the grass that you want, accidents happen in the dark" and repeating “banana terracotta pie" over and over again. Above all, this is primarily for the fans of System of a Down’s debut rather than the far more commercial Toxicity. Although, with singles like “Question" and the title track “Hypnotize", there is still a place for those who might not of liked the raw sound the band came from. The backbone of the band is in politics and their beliefs are showcased in full circle here. The haunting cry of “where do you expect us to go when the bombs fall" during "Tentative" hits home for anyone even partially awake in these times. With the closer “Soldier Side", which sandwiches the entire effort with the “Soldier Side" intro at the beginning of Mezmerize, Hypnotize is concluded with such emotional lyrics as “They were crying when their sons left, God is wearing black, he’s gone so far to find no hope he’s never coming back".

MEZMERIZE/HYPNOTIZE fits the album artwork quite well. Upon first glance it seems pretty cool, but amongst the obscurity and complexity there are points where the aforementioned drifts into the unnecessary. The second part of System of a Down’s 2005 album proves to be consistently better than the first part, the whole album being great except for a few points here and there, but smashing choice tracks into one album would have better secured the idea that System of a Down can do no wrong. Then, another Steal This Album could poke its head out some time down the road. All in all, songs like “Sad Statue" and “B.Y.O.B." from Mezmerize and “Tentative" and “Soldier Side" from Hypnotize stabilize SOAD’s place amongst the gutsiest and most honest bands to come around. In this world of war, it’s always great to hear someone say something that signifies a still living sense of progress. In closing, Hypnotize seems to get better and better with each listen, and definitely possesses some of the bands best material. Don’t pass over Hypnotize is you were skeptical of System of a Down’s current sound, this one knocks Mezmerize out of the water.



Recent reviews by this author
Nirvana Sliver: The Best of the BoxCurt Kirkwood Snow
Meat Puppets MirageCold A Different Kind of Pain
Meat Puppets Meat Puppets IIR.E.M. Document
user ratings (3209)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
vicy77
November 25th 2005


164 Comments


i just think that some lyrics could have been better. and u-fig is not good enough at all

Reywas
November 25th 2005


148 Comments


I think we need more Hypnotize reviews

Cravinov13
November 25th 2005


3854 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

We don't need anymore. It's an okay review, way too short and gives Grateful_Dead's review absolutly no competition. Sorry mranti.

vicy77
November 25th 2005


164 Comments


there will be seven more reviews before they stop...damn

masada
November 25th 2005


2733 Comments


You don't have to write a review to have an opinion. That's why there is a comments section.

Basically, Grateful Dead's review made all others unecessary, unless they offer a different opinion (e.g. a rating of 3 or below) and don't suck.

Storm In A Teacup
November 25th 2005


12781 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Or even a review with a rating of 3.5 considering Dead gave it a 4.5 in his, but a 4 is to close.


Still, stop bitching everyone about there being to many reviews.

masada
November 25th 2005


2733 Comments


Grateful Dead gave it a 4. "Excellent" and "Great" are pretty interchangable terms to most people, so it comes down to whether or not the person thinks what the rating should be. Eh.

Cravinov13
November 25th 2005


3854 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Actually, it comes down to who wants to make a well written arguement against Grateful_Dead's review.

Storm In A Teacup
November 25th 2005


12781 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Oh, my mistake, then I guess that means that all 4 reviews for it give it a 4 out of 5.

Maybe when a review has that many reviews for it then when someone attempts to submit a review with a certain rating it'll block it?

masada
November 25th 2005


2733 Comments


You can't stop people from expressing their opinions through reviewing (unless it's a terrible review). That would defeat the purpose of the site, pretty much. I don't think I could stand seeing another review praising this album.

/not-so-subtle hint

Cravinov13
November 25th 2005


3854 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Compared to Grateful_Dead's, all the other Hypnotize revies are terrible :3

Storm In A Teacup
November 25th 2005


12781 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

OKay, but Medapolis was supposedly blocking anymore Green Day-American Idiot reviews after the stunt I pulled so...

axegrinder247
November 25th 2005


1 Comments


i agree...no more hypnotize reviews because the people who do the reviews dont even understand their music...we need more tabs..i had to tab the solo for lonely day myself because nobody else had it...This Message Edited On 11.25.05

barosjn
November 25th 2005


501 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, by the time I review Hypnotize, it will me way more detailed than this review.

Storm In A Teacup
November 25th 2005


12781 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

[quote=barsjn]Yeah, by the time I review Hypnotize, it will me way more detailed than this review.[/quote]

If it's going to be like your Mezmerize review, please don't.

Not that it's bad, it'll just be more of the same.

Tele_Dude
November 25th 2005


16 Comments


Pretty good review, but Grateful Dead has the best one this far.

Cant people stop dissing the lyrics?? "Eat all the grass that you want, accidents happen in the dark", is a very good line, if you know what the song is about. When Daron was driving home one day, it was a little rabbit sitting outside his house eating grass, and it was dark, so he accidentially drove over it. He named the rabbit "Rock n' Roll".

barosjn
November 25th 2005


501 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, he called the rabbit that because he thought killing Rock N Roll by accident would be a good idea for a song.

Ace_of_Bass2112
November 25th 2005


257 Comments


hmmmmm my spidy sense is tingling and i believe there will be 9 reviews for this before all is said and done

mranti
November 26th 2005


50 Comments


i decided to do this one considering i did mezmerize and felt "why not" because i was bored but not bored enough to do any more than three pararaphs. shit, i'm done with high school, no more reports. if it bugs you so much that there are 4 reviews or so of this album, then make yourself dizzy trying to take back the time it took to actually click on the link, read it, and then comment on it.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy