Frank Turner
England Keep My Bones


5.0
classic

Review

by Caesar Riley USER (25 Reviews)
June 11th, 2011 | 31 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: One of the strongest albums of the year, and one of the most surprising.

Imagine yourself reflecting hundreds of moments from your past life. You're going through your childhood, your tween and teenage years, and you go through everything you've done wrong. Everything you could want to change. The events that followed you from the past into the present. And you want to redeem yourself, to show that whatever act you did in the past, that your in a state of anger at yourself for it, and you want it to stop, you want the past to stop getting into the present, and affecting your life with endless supplies of thoughts and flashbacks.

That's basically like listening to England Keep My Bones once you get the lyrical content. Frank Turner's fourth attempt, and this phenomenal title is easily his greatest, is a recollection of events from his life, whether it be regret, past memories of his religion, daily life, all of it, over one man, his group, and one hell of an acoustic guitar. Frank Turner could be unlike anything you've witnessed before: a man from the heart of England who has something to say, and lets it out in the most heartfelt way he can, and England Keep My Bones has yielded a glorious music moment, and, no matter what kind of music you like, it's an album that you simply can not hate.

Many know Frank Turner from his past releases. 2008's Love Ire & Song was an amazing example of how in-depth the lyrics were, with a great amount of wit and expert guitar work, about how the days of childhood are gone, and how you are now an adult, introduced to real life. Or his debut, Sleep, with intriguing politician and his interesting family. But this is different: Bones is basically a guilt trip: regretting everything done, and how it can't be changed. The incredible acoustic work is here, some incredibly charming melodies popping up, and his group doing a great job as well, whether it be the Ben Lloyd's fade-out solo at the end of Redemption, or the great bass and drum work of Tarrant Anderson and Nigel Powell (respectively), everybody does their part, and it isn't just Turner who's the standout, even with his voice (though it tends to put me on edge at times), therefore making it a crime to not give credit where it is due.

An example is the bitterly sweet "I Still Believe" single, a message that music can save us, that it can talk to you, or "Redemption"'s oblivious message of regret and hope for resurrection. When you get into the picture-perfect musicianship, England Keep My Bones is a testimony of why I listen to music: something that is meant to be experienced, no matter what kind of music you like, and a message that speaks to everyone, even if it isn't that precise, and those messages come full circle in this great title, such as the atheist nature of "Glory Hallelujah", and how religion doesn't matter, or who you are.

For me, it's an album that, to it's credit, manages to do a lot of things right, and is on many levels of good songwriting, though it is too far away from perfection. But thing again, is there ever truly an album that IS perfect? Not to mention the fact that it's the calm after the storm for music, how it's a personal reflection of his past life, but I've already said this a million times. The bottom line is that England Keep My Bones is an amazing album, but I wouldn't recommend it for people into hard rock or metal, for this is NOT any of those types (excluding the heavy bit at the end of Redemption), but you'd also be stupid to not pick up this title. But this album is definitely going places, and you will remember two words after the end of 2011:

Frank. Turner.



Recent reviews by this author
Power of Zeus The Gospel According to ZeusKing Crimson In the Court of the Crimson King
Asia OmegaArcade Fire Funeral
Radiohead Kid ABlack Sabbath Reunion
user ratings (567)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
RavenRock
June 11th 2011


688 Comments


Well, there. A user has finally reviewed Frank Turner.

I could have edited the ending a little bit, but give your opinions!

liveatthegods
June 11th 2011


62 Comments


I didn't expect this to get a review today. Better than I would of done it, anyways, so good job nevertheless.

liveatthegods
June 11th 2011


62 Comments


This album for me seems too cynical.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
June 11th 2011


17920 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

you write very awkwardly

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
June 11th 2011


16141 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

That's basically like listening to England Keep My Bones once you get the lyrical content. Frank Turner's fourth attempt, and this phenomenal title is easily his greatest, is a recollection of events from his life, whether it be regret, past memories of his religion, daily life, all of it, over one man, his group, and one hell of an acoustic guitar.

errmm...what?

no matter what kind of music you like, it's an album that you simply can not hate.

it's better not to make broad generalizations like this; everyone has different taste and of course it is possible to dislike this

Many know Frank Turner from his past releases. 2008's Love Ire & Song was an amazing example of how in-depth the lyrics were, with a great amount of wit and expert guitar work, about how the days of childhood are gone, and how you are now an adult, introduced to real life.

Commas are not your friend in this review, are they?

For me, it's an album that, to it's credit, manages to do a lot of things right, and is on many levels of good songwriting, though it is too far away from perfection.

yet again

Yeah this review is pretty meh, your dissections of the songs and their meanings are pretty shallow. Keep on trying though...I haven't read your other stuff so maybe this is just a fluke.

Digging: Alt-J - This Is All Yours

RavenRock
June 11th 2011


688 Comments


"Very awkwardly"

I love how intentional that was. But, Chan, being an emeritus, what do you think of it?

RavenRock
June 11th 2011


688 Comments


@Sowing: Ah, good to see you again with yet again good criticism.

@Gods: Cynical? Really?

Tyrael
June 11th 2011


20883 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I've seen you write better stuff Raven. This review just doesn't tell me all that much about how the music sounds. It's not a bad review in any way but I expect a little more from you. Sorry bro.

Digging: Darkspace - Dark Space III I

MarvellousG
June 11th 2011


368 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The first sentence doesn't make sense, and this in particular threw me: ;For me, it's an album that, to it's credit, manages to do a lot of things right, and is on many levels of good songwriting, though it is too far away from perfection.'

I'm sorry dude, but I can't really understand your points in a lot of your (increasingly frequent) reviews. Still, decent album.

STOP SHOUTING!
June 11th 2011


631 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

promising review.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
June 11th 2011


23841 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

RavenRock you are such an idiot. This review is garbage and so are the two comments you've left in this thread so far. Hey I bet the next one will be too.

AtavanHalen
June 11th 2011


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, sorry, this is really bad

wabbit
June 11th 2011


7003 Comments


this review is still a blow-job but like a really bad blow-job with teeth and she's probably fat and has no idea what to do.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
June 11th 2011


17920 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

very awkwardly is correct phrasing

vanderb0b
June 11th 2011


3473 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

There's plenty wrong with this review, such as:

Or his debut, Sleep, with intriguing politician and his interesting family.

This makes no sense.
An example is the bitterly sweet "I Still Believe" single, a message that music can save us, that it can talk to you,

This is awkward as hell.
But this album is definitely going places, and you will remember two words after the end of 2011:

Frank. Turner.

This is far too overblown/fanboyish.

Try spending more time on individual reviews (and, prior to posting, reading them aloud to yourself to see if they make any sense). It's better to upload a few good reviews than tons of shitty ones.

Hep Kat
June 11th 2011


15351 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hey let's all rip on the awkward guy

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
June 11th 2011


23841 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ok

taylormemer
June 11th 2011


4917 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"hey let's all rip on the awkward guy"

I'm up for that.

Satellite
June 12th 2011


20818 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

don't bother giving him constructive criticism, guys. he never makes any adjustments (see also: the "genesis of hip-hop" is still "sometime in the 90's" apparently).

Drsmith4
June 12th 2011


1715 Comments


I like heavy music - guess that means this is NOT for me.





You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy