The Devil's Blood
Come, Reap


4.0
excellent

Review

by Voivod STAFF
June 7th, 2011 | 22 replies


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Become friends with The Beast.

At the dusk of the 00’s, there was an unusual turmoil occurring within the ranks of the contemporary heavy rock scene that burns sulphur on the altars of 70’s occult heavy rock. The evangelia of the genre, written by mythical bands such as Black Sabbath, Rocky Erikson and Pentagram, had been re-discovered and re-interpreted by a new generation of heavy rock bands throughout the world. As a result, a highly active underground scene emerged, a scene that continues to issue records copiously and to tour the world as often as possible, a scene that’s starting to come out of the underground as the lines of this review are being written. The 2010 release from Ghost, Opus Eponymous, was warmly welcomed by both fans and metal press. Coming back from the dead, Pentagram recently made a deal with the mighty Metal Blade label for their new album Last Rites. Hailing from Sweden, Witchcraft and Graveyard have signed a deal with the mighty Nuclear Blast label, with their new albums coming in 2011, being characterized as most anticipated for the genre. The aforementioned band names are only the summit of the iceberg.

Before the peak of the occult heavy rock revival, there were sparse bands like The Devil’s Blood, the occult heavy rock outfit from the Netherlands, which bared a good reputation mostly in the underground. Come, Reap is their debut EP, a work that has all the necessary ingredients to be hailed not only by the 70’s occult rock die-hard fans, but by every quality rock/metal fan all over the globe. Putting it briefly, Come, Reap is an orgasmic 70’s occult rock gem from start to finish. Although it is nominally an EP, its merits are enough to almost classify it as an instant classic. The band’s most powerful spell comes in the form of their female singer, who responds to the name “Mouth of Satan”. Her vocals are godly on the opposite way, as she narrates stories of devotion and appreciation to the Angel of Light, either sounding terrifically aggressive or utterly mesmerizing. The guitar riffs and the ways of the rhythm section come fully refurbished from the psychedelic heavy rock 70’s and while the wheel is not re-invented by any means, they are immensely effective in their aims. Throughout the 5 songs of the EP, the whole variety of rhythms and melodies that came about in the 70’s, is featured most convincingly, yet it feels fresh as the listening sessions keep piling up. The effectiveness, as well as the freshness of the music, is also supported by the lively fitting sound production, which aptly captures the vintage feeling of the 70’s.

As an epilogue, Come, Reap is a spectacular piece of 70’s occult heavy rock music, waiting to be discovered by those that still lie away from its occult wizardry. Seldom is a retro rock record in position of fruitfully reinvigorating the interest of contemporary rock/metal audience about the 70’s heavy rock whereabouts.



Recent reviews by this author
Sanctuary The Year the Sun DiedVoivod Voivod
Essence Beyond CarnivalismElectric Citizen Sateen
Vicious Rumors Live You to Death 2 - American PunishmentMayhem Esoteric Warfare
user ratings (12)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Voivod
Staff Reviewer
June 7th 2011


6205 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Stream: http://thedevilsblood.bandcamp.com/album/come-reap




Constructive criticism is most welcome.

Digging: Seduced (AT) - The Proclamation

DoubtGin
June 7th 2011


6752 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Rape

DoubtGin
June 7th 2011


6752 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

but holy shit this sounds awesome

Irving
Staff Reviewer
June 7th 2011


7312 Comments


Long time no read, Voivod =) It was good reading one of your consistently well-structured pieces again. Have a pos dripping with nostalgia and fondness.

=)

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
June 8th 2011


6205 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

@ DoubtGin

Indeed, it sounds awesome. There isn't a single track in here that doesn't stand out. I had this on a 4.5 rating as well during the first 5-10 listening sessions, but after the 100th time i listened to this, this "retreated" to a 4 rating.

@ Irving

Likewise man, thanks for the feedback.

76TVs
June 8th 2011


161 Comments


finally a review for this band. Love these countrymen and woman.

south_of_heaven 11
June 8th 2011


5436 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'll be honest here, when I saw this on the front page, due to the name of the band I thought to myself "oh awesome, another shitty mallcore band". Then I realized it was tabbed under rock, and checked out the link to the song "Come, Reap". I'm really glad I did, it's some pretty cool stuff. For sure getting this.

DoubtGin
June 8th 2011


6752 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

And they apparently have a new album out this year which is even more awesome.

I personally can't get enough of this recent hard rock scene (Witchcraft, Graveyard, etc.). Always quality stuff.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
June 8th 2011


6205 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Their new album is set for release in November (Europe). So cool...

My plan is to review their first full-length as well, which is awesome as well.



@ south_of_heaven 11

The other tracks - and especially "River of Gold" - are better, to say the least.


south_of_heaven 11
June 8th 2011


5436 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Had some long commutes today, got to listen to this in full twice (pretty short at just five songs). But it's absolute tits, awesome album. So catchy and just plain interesting to listen to. Love the vocals and guitar work.

Nagrarok
June 9th 2011


8259 Comments


Great review, if I can find this I'll check it out.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
June 9th 2011


21047 Comments


I need to hear this, great review Voivod.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
June 9th 2011


6205 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Thanks guys.

All classic rock afficionados of Sputnik must check this out.






I'll be honest here, when I saw this on the front page, due to the name of the band I thought to myself "oh awesome, another shitty mallcore band"

I know exactly what you mean.




chuckerson91
June 9th 2011


33 Comments


m/













UrbanAchiev3r
June 9th 2011


83 Comments


thanks for the review dude. convinced me to pick this up, and I'm glad I did

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
June 9th 2011


6205 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

thanks man, I really appreciate it.



You could listen the YouTube links (in the first post of this thread) as well before you pick this up ;)

Their first full length is worth picking up too.

UrbanAchiev3r
June 10th 2011


83 Comments


yeah I'll definitely check it out when I get the chance

scissorlocked
June 13th 2011


3511 Comments


solid and up to the point review man

I'll check these guys soon, I surely need some metal digs after so many indie listens

Digging: Traumprinz - All The Things

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
June 13th 2011


6205 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

The Devil's Blood are not metal by default, but the sound of Come, Reap is really close to "classic" metal.

Jethro42
June 13th 2011


12484 Comments


''..sound which aptly capturing the vintage feeling of the 70's.''

Enough to convince me. I have to listen to this. Review is a good read as usual.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy