Tombs
Path of Totality


4.5
superb

Review

by DDconjoined USER (4 Reviews)
June 2nd, 2011 | 56 replies | 17,038 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A true contender for Metal album of the year.

9 of 9 thought this review was well written

During an occultation whereby the moon obscures the sun, it casts a shadow on the Earth - A so called ‘Channel of Darkness’ or The path of totality, Tombs reflect this process perfectly on album number three (four if you count 2010’s Fear is a Weapon compilation of older material).

Tombs are a 3-piece from Brooklyn, USA that play could largely be categorised as Experimental Post Metal/Sludge, and if your looking a reference point then look no further than Neurosis.

Path of Totality is a sprawling, twisting, pummelling and intense 57 minute album, but one that has its fair share of balance. Tombs showcase a melodic side in sections of songs that almost include actual singing before often transforming themselves through passages of wretched sludge infested black metal. Its the weaving sections of melody and Swans like vocals at times that accentuate the brutal parts.

Tombs are a very talented bunch of musicians, and whilst Winter Hours was a brilliant mix of Post Metal/Sludge songs, they wanted to up the ante, so they enlisted the production services of John Congleton who was at the helm for Baroness’ Blue Record, Congleton has guided this band towards making a well rounded, at times frantic, yet restrained record that really flows like an ugly, churning uncomfortable beast of Experimental Metal.

The atmosphere and angular song structures of Ulcerate are really prevalent here, and whilst Tombs never really delve into the depths of Death Metal vocally, there are some Black Metal shrieks and pummelling blast beats amongst a number of tracks, which never outstay their welcome (the longest clocking in at 6.46). The drumming itself is a highlight and the centrepiece on a number of tracks and whilst Tombs are different stylistically to Isis, there is a certain In The Absence of Truth feel to some of the drumming and a definite Oceanic feel to some of the guitar riffs, and Clifford Meyer (Isis, Red Sparowes) provided synths for some of the tracks as well.

While I can really reference a number of bands, that would be rather misleading as Path of Totality is unique in its delivery and intelligent in its message. Lyrically there are themes like the apocalypse, religion and reflections on death. There are also many references to the Book of Revelations as a source of imagery and its really the imagery that Tombs have portrayed on Path of Totality that is rare in Metal nowadays.

A true contender for Metal album of the year.


user ratings (111)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
DDconjoined
June 2nd 2011



326 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

npr.org for full stream. Really impressive album, I have not reviewed a lot so any constructive comments would be appreciated. Cheers

Wizard
June 2nd 2011



19335 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this process perfectly on album number two

Actually, they have a self-titled album too which rules, making this album #4. Good review.

Digging: YOB - Clearing The Path To Ascend

DDconjoined
June 2nd 2011



326 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thanks Wiz, I wasn''t entirely sure if that was a full length. edited. Def check out this release, their best

scissorlocked
June 2nd 2011



3509 Comments


seems massive

gonna listen

review is nice

Digging: Leon Vynehall - Music For The Uninvited

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
June 2nd 2011



8327 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Decent review, albums sounds interesting so I'm gonna check it out.

wyankeif1337
June 2nd 2011



6739 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

been meaning to check these dudes out, thanks for the reminder. pos, decent review.

ev0ken
June 2nd 2011



586 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i pre-ordered this, can't wait for it to get here next week. will listen to that stream in the meantime.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
June 2nd 2011



6006 Comments


This received critical acclaim from the Hellenic edition of the Metal Hammer magazine as well.

i should check this asap.

Digging: Troldhaugen - Obzkure Anekdotez For Maniakal Massez

ThyCrossAwaits
June 2nd 2011



3051 Comments


this sounds really good.

oh god are these some weird lookin' dudes.

FatChickIrl
June 2nd 2011



4096 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah gonna check this out

Wizard
June 2nd 2011



19335 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks Wiz, I wasn''t entirely sure if that was a full length. edited. Def check out this release, their best

I own everything by this band and you can't go wrong with any of their releases. Can't wait to get my pre-order in the mail.

Photon
June 11th 2011



1292 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I completely agree with your review. This is an amazing album

JAV
June 12th 2011



1934 Comments


I liked Winter Hours so I'll check this out too.
Good review.

accompliceofmydeath
June 22nd 2011



4200 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I love the mix of genres on here. Album is awesome. Good review, too.

Digging: Devo - Freedom of Choice

SladetoBlack
June 27th 2011



152 Comments


Like this much more than Winter Hours. I still hate it when he tries to sing though.

SladetoBlack
July 17th 2011



152 Comments


More people need to listen to this. It's a fucking grower.

Inveigh
August 15th 2011



24944 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

wish I hadn't waited so long to listen to this, definitely going to check out their other stuff now

Digging: YOB - Clearing The Path To Ascend

Inveigh
August 17th 2011



24944 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah dude you should check this out asap

TheSpirit
August 17th 2011



17720 Comments


Not generally a fan of post metal but the ulcerate and black metal references have piqued my interest

Digging: Venus Star - Nigredo Expulsion

Wizard
August 17th 2011



19335 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is not post-metal in any shape or form, this is just a really unique and interesting take on bm/ hardcore.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy