Lady Gaga
Born This Way


4.0
excellent

Review

by EverAdrift USER (1 Reviews)
May 28th, 2011 | 19 replies | 4,064 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An authentic, if ridiculous, pop-masterpiece.

6 of 14 thought this review was well written

I am still not sure what I make of Lady Gaga. She certainly isn't similar to anything else I listen to (save, perhaps, Robyn). I feel almost dirty admitting I like her and really enjoy Born This Way. And that's ok because this is a dirty, delicious, ridiculous pop-masterpiece. I can't figure out if she's serious, if she's making fun of her listeners, if she's just trying to be ironic, if she's flipping off the powers that be or if she's just trying to have done. Regardless, she succeeds because she doe all of these things.

I have an eclectic taste in music, though it leans towards the 'indie' genre (whatever the hell that is anymore) as any purview of my profile will tel you. Lady Gaga is a 'mainstream Top-40 pop-artist'. This is the kinda thing I'm supposed to enjoy in someone else's car, in a club, not in the privacy of my own home. But I can't help myself. Her lyrics aren't deep and overly insightful, but she gets her message across just fine anyway. And while every song could be a single, they are all unique with their own big hooks. You can't help but want to dance and sing along with every addictive beat. And although she is a 'mainstream Top-40 artist' she isn't typical. This kind of music rarely makes it to the mainstream. It's modern poppy glam rock, (it's new age Madonna to use something that's become a cliche), it seems like it's been done before... only it's not something that's really been done before at all, though maybe it should have been.

This album is a music personification of Lady Gaga the person - someone in the spotlight who isn't quite sure how to use the power of fame, but who has a whole flood of interesting ideas and who is a monster (in a good way) when doing whatever it is that got that person into the spotlight. Born this Way is a bit awkward, it fumbles in places, but it is wholly Lady Gaga's. This doesn't have the feel of something with studio executives' hands all over it. When it does fumble, it's Lady Gaga who fumbles. When it shines, it's Lady Gaga who shines.

I for one think she's authentic, she's been given an incredible amount of attention and fame and she's figuring out how to wield it.


user ratings (613)
Chart.
2.5
average
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
May 29th 2011



30320 Comments


I want a review of this album, not you and your tastes

Digging: L'Orange - The Orchid Days

NapalmDe4th
May 29th 2011



54 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Meh, most of your review is talking about how ashamed you are about liking GaGa. Quite frankly, that's pretty boring to read and pretty irrelevant. I also think that to rate an album a 4, you need to go a bit more in-depth and tell us all the positive aspects of the album and maybe the flaws here or there that stop it from being better. Overall the review feels a bit...bare. If the album is wild and crazy, go ahead and tell the reader exactly what to expect and what makes it so good!

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
May 29th 2011



48587 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

A pop masterpiece.
That's like a shitty regular record.

Digging: Banner Pilot - Souvenir

tkxxx7
May 29th 2011



6146 Comments


If I somehow were a deaf person who lived under a rock and hated looking at billboards, upon reading this review, the only thing I'd know about Gaga and/or her music is that she's [a] "mainstream top-40 pop artist"

someguest
May 29th 2011



18942 Comments


she's as authentic as taco bell

Digging: BABYMETAL - Babymetal

Satellite
May 29th 2011



19929 Comments


neg'd so hard

Digging: The Menzingers - Rented World

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
May 29th 2011



6965 Comments


deviant's comment

Digging: Perfume Genius - Learning

Loanshark
May 29th 2011



333 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

You could have condensed this down into a comment (over half is just off topic or about you) and posted it on any of the 5 reviews we already have on this album.

Liberi Fatali
Emeritus
May 29th 2011



1588 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

@loanshark, he/she probably could post it on a blog or as a soundoff here

But nevertheless, welcome to the website, don't take this lot to be too grumpy or sour; they're usually
pretty friendly. You should just take their comments on board for your next review, a review isn't
really the suitable outlet for what you have written (again, try posting this as a soundoff on the
album).

fr33convict
May 29th 2011



11678 Comments


Wow that's a lot of negs for a first review that's not dreadful.

Wolfhorde
May 29th 2011



11799 Comments


Pretty much what Dev said.

RosaParks
May 29th 2011



14592 Comments


pos'd

Irving
Staff Reviewer
May 29th 2011



7012 Comments


Listen to Liberi Fatali - he's smart. That being said everyone else here had a solid point - this review isn't really a review of the music as much as it is a personal rant about your tastes. I have no idea what this album sounds like based on this review of yours. Keep trying though, eh?

Cheers. And have a welcoming pos.

Digging: Pixies - Indie Cindy

SowingSeason
Emeritus
May 29th 2011



14513 Comments


I see potential here, although this review is really shaky. But have a pos anyway, see it as an investment : )

Irving
Staff Reviewer
May 29th 2011



7012 Comments


But have a pos anyway, see it as an investment : )

Hahahah sweetest thing I've seen on this site today.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
May 29th 2011



9507 Comments


Don't take the criticism of the others too much to heart; I enjoyed the review, and think you should keep writing. ^_^ A good first review.

Digging: Koan Sound - Dynasty

dylantheairplane
May 29th 2011



2150 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Still better than Kesha.....


JohnXDoesn't
August 2nd 2011



1247 Comments


what stylee94 said. posi for u =]

qwe3
August 2nd 2011



21154 Comments


A pop masterpiece.
That's like a shitty regular record.


i reallllllly hope you were joking



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy