Touche Amore
Parting The Sea Between Brightness And Me


3.5
great

Review

by John weathered old reviewer Hanson STAFF
May 28th, 2011 | 811 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: There goes Touche Amore, bringing the windmills again

As far as hardcore albums go, Parting the Sea Between Brightness And Me doesn’t pull any stops. In the vein of their contemporaries, its still hardcore with some metallic riffs and vague emo influence thrown in. You’ll hear the same driving riffs punctuated by pretty interludes you’d expect from a band that plays with acts like La Dispute and Comadre, and the same vocal intensity to boot. This is the type of band made for a live show, and the energy they give off throughout the album shows it well.

The opening trio of songs are undoubtedly the strongest section of the album, as through the opening cries of the album title in “~“ to the early era Blacklisted inspired “Pathfinder“, into the epic “The Great Repitition” you get to see all the variables of Touche Amore that really work, in particular “The Great Repitition“. A song that is undeniably visceral but still well constructed, Touche Amore take all of the punch of a five minute post-hardcore song and wrap it all up in under two.

Thing is, is that necessarily a good thing? The rest of the album suffers from an identity crisis, being that all 20 or so minutes of the album never really get distinguished. The same novelty behind a 5 minute song being condensed to two minutes also makes everything feel sort of homogenous. Where its cool and dynamic at first, by the time the albums over you get the sense that there was too much, too quickly, and something was certainly lost. While it may break away from the hardcore realm, giving these songs more room to grow and expand would have greatly increased the replayability of Parting the Sea beyond the first listen or two.

Then again, its still a great record. You can still point out the disconnect of the lyrics (routinely awful, but no worse than any of their peers), but the total package makes sense. The album also finishes strongly with “Amends”, a song that owes more than a little to the ‘post-screamo’ crowd. Touche Amore once again prove that they can make a damn good hardcore album, but the potential for them to make something better oozes throughout the record and continues to hold them back.



Recent reviews by this author
Say Anything HebrewsWashboard Leo Thomas Louisiana Bluegrass
Crusades Perhaps You Deliver This Judgement...Against Me! Transgender Dysphoria Blues
Los Campesinos! No BluesArcade Fire Reflektor
user ratings (1066)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
Neal Zetek (3.5)
An acceptable follow-up to a promising debut....

Chris Higgins (5)
Parting that sea has taken some time, but it seems they've found what makes them one worth mentionin...

Richard Craig (3.5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
May 28th 2011


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Another review for the kids to disagree with.

SeaAnemone
May 28th 2011


20970 Comments


agree so hard John Hanson you are spectacular and perfect and this review is spot-on keep up the good work man, you're goin' places

Digging: Viet Cong - Viet Cong

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
May 28th 2011


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I would go so far as to say Cheese, I am lamer than them

bodiesinflight57
May 28th 2011


870 Comments


interested to hear this

don't really get the appeal of this band compared to many of their peers

sniper
May 28th 2011


19079 Comments


i don't hear much metalcore in this tbh.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
May 28th 2011


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

maybe you're just not smart enough to be listening to Intelligent Dance Music

Counterfeit
May 28th 2011


17819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

hey now

HBFS
May 28th 2011


1294 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I agree that sometimes the songs have a tendency to blend together and sound a little repetitive, but this is still excellent.

natey
May 28th 2011


4170 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i hear Touche albums as a whole since they're so short, almost average cruising distance length

disagree so hard

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
May 28th 2011


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

it was hard to get across the fact that i didnt want to come off as saying the songs were really repetitive, just that they blend together because they arent fleshed out enough.

meh.

HBFS
May 28th 2011


1294 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ah, I see what you're saying. (And I agree, to an extent)

natey
May 28th 2011


4170 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i get ya and don't even disagree I just don't mess around with proverbial "better" more "fleshed-out" songs they could've made in my imagination. it makes me anxious



Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
May 28th 2011


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

i mean, i still like this album a lot, POWER IS MAXIMUM etc.

and lol natey

Shrapnel94
May 28th 2011


2213 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I agree with most of this review. Mainly the awful lyrics part.

cvlts
May 28th 2011


8986 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

what? last three songs shit on the first three

nicely written but I'm not understanding most of the points. Oh well...

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
May 28th 2011


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Sorry but Condolences is hilarious, in a way that I don't know if its "awesome" or "ridiculously stupid"

Kris.
May 28th 2011


12512 Comments


who gave john hanson a copy of this


i did

you insignificant fucks

Shrapnel94
May 28th 2011


2213 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Yeah, Condolences made me wut so hard.

Duderino
May 28th 2011


828 Comments


doing it for the kids. striving for a positive scene

qwer7yfreak
May 28th 2011


486 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Yeah, this is not as good as ...To The Beat, but I still really enjoy it. And Condolences is rather...interesting, to say the least.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy