Job for a Cowboy
Gloom


2.5
average

Review

by Bob Vance, Vance Refrigeration USER (56 Reviews)
May 25th, 2011 | 75 replies | 17,786 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: It might do nothing explicitly wrong, but its downfall is that it also fails to do anything right.

8 of 8 thought this review was well written

It would be heresy to even suggest that Arizona metal act Job For A Cowboy have not made progress since their inception. They have come a long way from their classically generic chug-a-chug bree-bree deathcore roots, even going as far as releasing a relatively decent, if not generic, death metal album in the form of Ruination. They are no longer the same band that crafted the Doom EP, and their latest effort is an attempt by the band to remind the metal community of this fact. In Gloom's 15 minute runtime, Job For A Cowboy seeks to impress, and they succeed in some areas. Killer riffs are scattered throughout, the guitar work is respectably technical, and the bass is impressive. The band's drummer, Jon Rice, might be the most impressive aspect of this release. He has his moments of blazingly fast double-kick action, his fills slay dragons, and his work serves to inject a bit of interest even into the EP's most dull moments.

It may all look good on paper, and Job For A Cowboy are lacking neither technicality nor musical prowess. However, they also fail miserably at putting anything into Gloom that would make it more than an average listen. No matter how many sweeps, double bass lines, or The Black Dahlia Murder-tinged riffs they may throw into the EP's four tracks, they cannot rectify the simple laziness and lack of creativity displayed here. First, there is the problem of originality: we have heard 90% of the material on Job For A Cowboy's latest release pulled off by other acts to a higher degree of success many times before. Derivative music is not inherently evil, for while it may lack original thought it can easily remain enjoyable material, and this is where the next problem with Gloom comes into the equation. Job For A Cowboy, while having no shortage of shred riffs, seem to be clueless as to how to arrange them in a way that makes for enjoyable death metal. Every one of Gloom's four songs sounds exactly the same as the last, and this issue resides on two levels. Not only do they sound identical, but the one song that is copied four times is not actually an interesting song. Job For A Cowboy may have ventured a long way from their mindless deathcore roots, but their death metal reincarnation is, in the end, really not much more interesting than the first iteration that reared its ugly head with Doom. They will never prosper until they realize that songwriting ability is just as important, if not more so, than technical skill. Until next time, boys.



Recent reviews by this author
Isis The Red SeaZodiak Sermons
Alda :Tahoma:VESSL Goddess
Hungry For Hands I Was Hungry For HandsJesu Ascension
user ratings (168)
Chart.
3.2
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
wyankeif1337
May 25th 2011



6739 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

haz riffz

ShinXetsu
May 25th 2011



605 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Drummer's name is Jon Rice mate, minor typo in the first paragraph.

Aside from that so far, I dig this review, I feel the same way except I enjoy it a little more than that, probably a 3-3.5 from me.

wyankeif1337
May 26th 2011



6739 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

sweet, thanks for catching that.

YetAnotherBrick
May 26th 2011



4424 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

yeah, this was pretty really average/decent.

ManintheBox
May 26th 2011



867 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Good review, this is kind of what I thought about it as well, cept a little higher than a 2.5. Last two songs are alot better and more interesting overall than the first two imo.

wyankeif1337
May 26th 2011



6739 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

morbid curiosity? or maybe...

GLOOMY curiosity????

wyankeif1337
May 26th 2011



6739 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

and yeah, the last track is a highlight.

BassDemon333
May 26th 2011



3366 Comments


Great review. I hated Genesis and never listened to Ruination, don't think i'll be checking this out. The Doom EP was alright back before I realized it was complete shit.

Digging: Mudvayne - L.D. 50

wyankeif1337
May 26th 2011



6739 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

also, this site plagiarized the first paragraph of the flagged Doom review here. the reviewer is a staff member. flood the comments section, put the fear of god in them.

http://www.cravemetal.com/?p=5802

AfterTheBreakdown
May 26th 2011



7108 Comments


Oops

ev0ken
May 26th 2011



586 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

the vox are kind of annoying. the guitar solo parts are good. audible bass in some parts is also good. average release.

wyankeif1337
May 26th 2011



6739 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

dammit, i forgot to mention the godawful vocals in the review. i might go back and edit that in at some point tonight or tomorrow.

ev0ken
May 26th 2011



586 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

lol. they are the worst part i think.

Hawks
May 26th 2011



35647 Comments


This band never sucked, but they were never good either. Probably always gonna be average.

Digging: Engraved - Before The Tales

BassDemon333
May 26th 2011



3366 Comments


Entombment of a Machine is soooooo good though. Their best song, always will be.

wyankeif1337
May 26th 2011



6739 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Doom may have been generic, but it was fun. Ruination was ok, though... maybe a low 3

ev0ken
May 26th 2011



586 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

will listen to this again tomo when i don't have such a headache and listening to this on my desktop speakers.

whywontyoudie
May 26th 2011



3063 Comments


Doom wasn't that generic in the time that it was released. Still kinda sucked though.

HeadbangMastermind93
May 26th 2011



624 Comments


has junz.

ctaxxxx
May 26th 2011



222 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Pretty disappointed. This is a step down from Ruination.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy