Lustmord
Other


4.5
superb

Review

by Robert Garland CONTRIBUTOR (198 Reviews)
May 13th, 2011 | 63 replies


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Dark and scary this was not made for listeners looking for some happy tunes. Prepare to experience a darker side of your consciousness.

At times ambience can be a fickle beast but impressively Lustmord has released a record that is full of ambience and a higher level of atmosphere that shows in a brighter light the darker side of ambience. [OTHER] is a release that could be defining everything that is ‘dark ambience’. From four minutes recordings to twenty two minute sessions this album will have the listener captivated from start to finish and all over again. Simply described as spooky this record will leave the listener a lot to digest over the length of a seventy-eight minute long working.

Known for his field recordings of bat filled caves, rituals and slaughterhouses listeners can expect something out of the ordinary from the likes of Lustmord.

Listeners should immediately notice the dark and ‘brooding’ nature of this record and for good reason. There is no need to sugar coat or find a way to see this as anything else. Lustmord immerses the listener and traps them in a field of ambience and darkness. While obviously the main theme presented by ‘[OTHER]’ is the ever present level of brooding darkness that at times can be downright scary this record does have a flaw in its making. The flaw comes in a very simple manner that most groups find unavoidable throughout all points of their careers i.e. listeners may find this becoming a tedious and over long listen. However to fully appreciate the masterpiece that is ‘[OTHER]’ listeners must first work themselves over the ‘hump’ that this record contains. To further the listeners’ acceptance of this record they must also pay close attention to the sound sources, its unusual mediums to grasp the overall technicality of an album that may for the most part need multiple listens to fully appreciate.

For listeners into the dark, moody, ambient or into anything unusual they should be urged to give this a go. Those same listeners should also be urged not only to listen to this, but also check out some of Lustmord’s other workings. There is much to be heard here and much to look forward to on this near perfect record, as long as listeners can make it past the ‘tediousness’ of some of the albums inner workings. This was made for the listeners’ darker side of their consciousness. The only question is the listener ready for it? There is not too much darker or greater than this in the ambient genre.



Recent reviews by this author
Eden Circus MarulaIn Flames Siren Charms
Mastodon Once More 'Round the SunMayhem Esoteric Warfare
Architects Lost Forever // Lost TogetherKauan Pirut
user ratings (36)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
May 13th 2011


7097 Comments


This is definitely out of the ordinary for me, however i wrote this up on a request so.... tell me how i have done.
Also i havent reviewed anything with this rating so it could sound a little 'fanboyish'

pizzamachine
May 13th 2011


12571 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Review seems rushed honestly.

On a separate thought, I find it hilarious that no one knew about this album until I added it to the database and started talking about it.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
May 13th 2011


7097 Comments


Like i said really out of the ordinary, so this is your fault lol.

someguest
May 13th 2011


20871 Comments


this was not made for listeners looking for some HAPPY tunes

Digging: Dexter Gordon - Our Man in Paris

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
May 13th 2011


7097 Comments


Yay Giant font!!! from some-feater

pizzamachine
May 13th 2011


12571 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hahaha I guess it is in a way :p The review is alright though.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
May 13th 2011


7097 Comments


I'll touch it up. I don't ussually do high scoring reviews for this reason.

scissorlocked
May 13th 2011


3511 Comments


only listened to heresy-I could say that it was a suffocating experience

Digging: Traumprinz - All The Things

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
May 13th 2011


7097 Comments


Darkly awseome huh?

North0House2
May 13th 2011


5876 Comments


I like Lustmord a lot.

Digging: Ef - Ceremonies

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
May 13th 2011


7097 Comments


I'm now converted.

typeoneletter
May 13th 2011


6 Comments


This is weirdddd

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
May 13th 2011


16422 Comments


C-

Not as good as the last review I read from you. Once again your descriptions are really vivid, but you seem to have something against stucturing your sentences in a readable way. I'm not going to go into detail like with the other one, but two things that ticked me off was the use of the word "ambience" 3 times in the first sentence (plus the sentences long length with no commas or separation) and your 1- sentence paragraph. It's still pretty much an average review, just a little bit of a chore to read because of grammar and general awkwardness.

edit: thanks for the pos on my review btw. now i feel like a DICK. lol.

Digging: Weezer - Everything Will Be Alright in the End

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
May 13th 2011


7097 Comments


Lol, Sowing all you have to do is
a) seperate the critics you make on other users reviews from you own personal opinion of that user.
There is no "b)"

Thanks man. i had actually asked for the Threat Signal review to be anaylised, but i can't have everything i have only had this one up for like an hour now lol.

pizzamachine
May 13th 2011


12571 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Basically exactly what Sowing said.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
May 13th 2011


7097 Comments


I guess that's what the contrib's are for lol.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
May 13th 2011


16437 Comments


Excellent band

Digging: Swallowed - Lunarterial

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
May 13th 2011


7097 Comments


Agreed and Noted.

AfterTheBreakdown
May 13th 2011


7157 Comments


I will pos this review. Pretty decent for being so fast. Btw i finished my Emmure review and decided to type it on my phone after and it wouldn't submit properly. So i may have it on tommorow or the next day.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
May 13th 2011


7097 Comments


Cool, give us a shout when it's up. At least we know the answer now.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy