Peste Noire
Folkfuck Folie


4.0
excellent

Review

by Angel STAFF
May 11th, 2011 | 43 replies


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: “And to everyone who hates us: I forgive and understand you. It must be quite hard to accept having a dick stuck in one's arse. Talent cannot be taught. You either have it or you don't. It isn't our fault if we're the best.”

Much has been said about black metal outfit Peste Noire, most of it being rumor or wild speculation. This stems mostly from a reluctance to press and media coverage and an abhorrence for internet culture. The band remains somewhat of an anachronism, a relic from whence the genre derived much of its allure from mystery and higher standards of operating. Peste Noire’s mastermind, Famine, has made it abundantly clear that he has no desire for fame or attention and wishes to hold true to early black metal culture in ways most modern groups have abandoned. His stance on the subject is characterized in the band’s limited releases and miniscule number of live performances in tiny venues and hole-in-the-wall bars. Does Peste Noire have the talent and the following to release its music and tour on a larger scale? Sure. Would these things then have the same magic? Absolutely not.

The group’s sophomore effort, Folk*** Folie, is in many ways reactionary to the attention garnered by their debut, La Sanie des siècles. Famine has called the album an attempt to weed out the “trendies”, and it seems to have worked, because there definitely appears to be a certain stigma surrounding this particular release. It’s a bit unclear if people shy away due to the music, the production, or the hearsay - perhaps some of each.

The baroque guitar melodies and epic medieval aesthetics the band has become widely known for are less abundant here but still remain an integral factor, incorporated impeccably well to a wide variety of grittier, thrashier riffs. Gritty and vile is precisely what Folk*** Folie succeeds in being, from the production to the deranged vocals uttering passages of wartime poetry and lines about insanity and spreading sexually transmitted diseases. The music itself can, at any time, be dark and brooding, dense and crushing, or upbeat and playful, only further serving to confuse the already unsure. Rhythms sway and pendulate between waltzing and pummeling while captivatingly maniacal leads dance alongside in great contrapuntal fashion. The album is yet another wondrous blend of primal aggression, technical execution, impassioned melody, and mystical aura. An atmosphere is conjured that manages to wholly embody the filth of a plague-ridden medieval France while simultaneously hinting at the beauty of its culture.

There’s enough going on here to immediately frighten off the bandwagon fans but, through careful rumination, more than enough to satisfy the discerning. Songwriting without preconceptions with a vessel of more-than-capable musicianship once again allows Peste Noire to stand tall over its peers. The album can be compared and contrasted to the works which precede and follow it, but it shouldn’t. Folk*** Folie is a masterwork in its own right, another excellent album from one of the genre’s most consistent. And at the end of the day, this is simply Famine doing what he’s always done - playing some really badass riffs.



Recent reviews by this author
Chelsea Wolfe Pain Is BeautyPrurient Through the Window
Muknal / The Haunting Presence SplitStorm Corrosion Storm Corrosion
Rudimentary Peni CacophonyNoothgrush Erode the Person
user ratings (54)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
May 11th 2011


16137 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well, here we are, as promised.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
May 11th 2011


16410 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yes

Digging: Blut Aus Nord - Memoria Vetusta III ? Saturnian Poetry

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
May 11th 2011


16137 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The fact that the title is sensored in the review really bugs me lol.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
May 11th 2011


16410 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sputnik and its profanity filters. Nice review, album is great.

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
May 11th 2011


16137 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks. Best of all, there's finally a PN review with absolutely no mention of Neige!

Tyrael
May 11th 2011


20885 Comments


Great review Angel, as usual.

Digging: Darkspace - Dark Space III I

relativeworld
May 11th 2011


289 Comments


Sounds like nothing else ! perfectly unique...
Been a while that haven't listened to this ...will do tonight.
Wish to hear news about a new album by these lads !

FatChickIrl
May 11th 2011


4096 Comments


Tyler will not be happy

vanderb0b
May 11th 2011


3473 Comments


Just downloaded this; about to listen. La Sanie was wonderful, so I've got fairly high expectations for this. Review is very well written.

BallsToTheWall
May 11th 2011


44482 Comments


the profanity filters are precisely why i curse so much when reviewing metal. Good review.

Digging: Tove Lo - Queen of the Clouds

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
May 11th 2011


16137 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thank you kindly, gents.

Jethro42
May 11th 2011


12456 Comments


Sup bud

Wizard
May 11th 2011


19444 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Damn good review. Damn average and rather boring album.

Digging: Godflesh - A World Lit Only By Fire

rasputin
May 11th 2011


14546 Comments


Good review.

Love this album.

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
May 11th 2011


16137 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Much appreciated, Karl and Rasp.

Don't think PN's ever done anything boring or average lol.

Wizard
May 11th 2011


19444 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Pretty much what you said in the opening paragraph about them being "troo" just proves how damn gimmicky these guys are too and does not excuse them from the rest of the bm coming out today. When you go publicly online and state your views on the bm scene on the internet, it seems like a cry out for attention as much as the next shocking bm band to come along and confess their ill-whoas about the world. I just can't stand how trebly this sounds and I personally feel it kills any mood whatsoever this band is trying to create. Just my view on Neige and this band.

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
May 11th 2011


16137 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I find it to be far less gimmicky than some of the attention-seeking behavior of even a lot of the early bands of the genre, but that's just me. I can see your beef with the production, but I don't find it to be that far removed from the production of their other releases (especially if you own a physical copy). And Neige has next to nothing to do with this band.

Wizard
May 11th 2011


19444 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I agree with them not being so gimmicky and maybe I overdid it a bit hahahaha. I own this and La Sanie... and they both irritate me with that high-pitched type of production. I had no idea Neige was very small part in this, I guess he's just the only band member I know.

TheSpirit
May 11th 2011


17885 Comments


I really need to check these guys out. The soloing thing sounds so interesting

Digging: Wreodan Heahl - Laecig

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
May 11th 2011


16137 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm really surprised you haven't yet, Brandon. You should check out their debut like immediately.

And yeah, Neige is often associated with the band even though he's no longer even with PN, and the only thing he's ever written is La Césarienne from this album. He was more or less a session player as every member sans Famine has been.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy