Green Day
Bullet In A Bible


4.5
superb

Review

by goblue1098 USER (6 Reviews)
November 18th, 2005 | 123 replies | 15,100 views


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist


5 of 11 thought this review was well written

In the world of concert DVD’s, few match up to the real thing. Until now. Green Day’s first DVD, Bullet in a Bible, takes you on a thrill ride through the eyes of the Jesus of Suburbia straight to the mosh pits of Minority.

Green Day is:

Billy Joe Armstrong: Guitar, Lead Vocals: Genius songwriter, amazing guitarist, and master of the live show. Deep, emotional lyrics combine with his take no prisioners style to produce one kick ass live show

Mike Dirnt: Bass, Vocals: “THE BEST PUNK ROCK BASSIST IN THE WORLD" says Billy Joe on the DVD, and it’s hard to disagree. Hands moving at the speed of light to produce bass sounds only he can produce. Bass solo, anyone?

Tre Cool: Drums, Vocals: what a great drummer, and by far the drummer with the most style. You may come across one in a generation with as much style as Tre Cool. Along with amazing fills and rolls, he makes drumming not just an instrument, but a way of life.

The Review:

Recorded in Milton Keynes, England at the National Bowl during Green Day’s 2005 tour, Bullet in a Bible packs as much punk rock as the flimsy disk can hold. 65,000 rabid Green Day fans fit into the vast field at the National Bowl for a once in a lifetime concert. Any band can put together a concert DVD, but Bullet in a Bible goes above and beyond showing candid interviews in documentary form in between the live set. Also unlike other bands, Green Day actually sounds as good if not better in concert.

Part one: The Concert

If you had the luxury to catch them on tour this year, the DVD will stack up with that experience and then some. The first section of the DVD is 5 songs off American Idiot – The Title track kicks off the concert with an amazing BANG! of smoke effects to really get the crowd going. Jesus of Suburbia is complete with Billy Joe’s usually live passion, topped off with a crazy pyrotechnics display at the end of the song. To start off Holiday, Billy Joe screams “THIS SONG IS NOT ANTI-AMERICAN, IT IS ANTI-WAR!!!!" Mikes bass skills really shine through in Holiday, especially during the bass interlude section, when Billy Joe commands full attention screaming “LIGHTS OUT!" while spotlighting the crowd. Are We the Waiting is my least favorite American Idiot track, and there is nothing significant about it during the concert. St. Jimmy follows, with Billy Joe singing his heart out while going crazy on stage. The truest song that calls back to their Oakland, CA punk roots, St. Jimmy is an explosion of energy. After a lingering pause at the end, Billy Joe screams “AND DON’T YOU F***ING WEAR IT OUT" at the top of his lungs.

Next is a quartet of some of their most popular songs, starting off with Longview. The amazing bass line never ceases to amaze me with this song, and it has never let me down. A lot of cat calling to the crowd goes on in this song, but it doesn’t seem too over the top. Yet. The Nimrod classic and my personal favorite, Hitchin’ a Ride explodes with typical Green Day energy, with another crowd cat call. Brain Stew is heavily built up to, and it doesn’t disappoint. At the end, giant flames shoot up from the stage, showing off the great production skills. Basket Case is practically sung half by the crowd, but oh well. The energy in Basket Case in phenomenal, with moshing everywhere you look. King For a Day/ Shout is one of Billy’s concert favorites, and for good reason. Included is a trumpeter and a saxophonist, introduced with the rest of the band prior to the song. Parading around the stage in a crown, Billy Joe captivates the crow, cat calling yet again with a thunderous response. At the end of King for a Day is a cover of the 60’s hit “Shout", which is nice, but I don’t really care for Billy’s high pitched yea,yea,yea,yea ing

Wake Me Up When September Ends receives a tremendous cheer as it starts, but I just can’t see why. Its one of the weakest songs on American Idiot IMO, and not a very good concert song. I dunno what they see in it that I don’t. skip.

The Anthem minority then explodes with a high tempo high energy intro that is one of the best done songs live. Along with the regular song, Billy Joe includes a killer solo, making this the best concert song by far. Oh yea, and the accordion is FREAKIN AWESOME!!

Boulevard of Broken Dreams and Good Riddance conclude the concert in a proper manner. A hard rocker and then a ballad commence, arguably two of Green Day’s most popular songs ever. Boulevard is fantastic live, but lacks the pizzazz that some of the others have. Good Riddance is done solo by Billy, with all 65,000 fans as backup singers. A very fitting song for a great concert, as every single attendant had the “time of their life". A massive fireworks show ends the concert with a standing ovation

Part Two: the Documentary

In between all of the songs, you get a candid look of what Green Day is like off the camera, as well as a very emotion tour of a world war two museum. Mostly interviews, the solemn Billy Joe, the stolid Mike Drint, and the extravagant Tre cool give an inside look at their view of American Idiot, and a variety of other topics, such as snorting sprinkles (guess who talked about that…..). We get an inside look at how Green Day prepares for a concert of this magnitude as well as all the work going into it to produce it. My favorite documentary segment is the world war two museum, where they find the ‘bullet in a bible’. Billy Joe reflects, saying that they are “inside someone else’s worst nightmares", from the giant tanks to a replica atomic bomb.

Overall

This DVD is not for the light at heart. This is for any casual Green Day fan to a Green Day die hard. Any music love will enjoy this album, and I will go as far to call it an absolute masterpiece in the world of concert DVD’s. Bullet in a Bible gets a 4.5/5.



Recent reviews by this author
The Rasmus IntoGreen Day Shenanigans
The Starting Line Based on a True StoryThe Vines Winning Days
The Rasmus Hide From The Sun
user ratings (542)
Chart.
3.3
great
other reviews of this album
Adam Downer STAFF (3)
...

(2)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Electric City
Staff Reviewer
November 18th 2005



15727 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Pretty ehhh review I thought. You need to talk more aobut the concert in general. This is on my hitlist.

Glad to hear its as awesome as its billed as though.

If yer gonna do a T by T, either bold all the songs or space em up a bit. The concert section was hard to read.This Message Edited On 11.18.05

Digging: A Sunny Day In Glasgow - Sea When Absent

Zebra
Moderator
November 18th 2005



2647 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nice work, your review was a little hard to read at times but I thought you did a good job.

My sister loves Green Day and she forced me to watch this. I thought it was good, but Green Day chose a lot of tracks that I dislike.

goblue1098
November 18th 2005



61 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i didn't say mike was the best bassist in punk rock - billy joe did - putting billy joe as an 'amazing' guitarest was too nice of me, and i do admit that tre's drumming has declined and was probally best on dookie. but c'mon which drummer do you think has more stlye than tre?

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
November 18th 2005



15727 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Travis? Bonham?

Yer mistaking style with being an absolute goofball.

goblue1098
November 18th 2005



61 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

being an 'absolute goofball' is my interpretation of stlye. anyway around it, tre cool is hilarious. and yes, your right with your two having stlye

Hyper Music
November 19th 2005



45 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I went with my girlfriend straight from school on tuesday to go into town to get this... She's a Greenday nut :P She seemed fairly pleased by it but I'm not a fanatic to be honest and I havn't seen it yet, so I guess I can't say much apart from the fact, it was a good show when I was there.

I just hope they managed to capture it as well on the DVD as it was portrayed live seeing as your review doesn't seem to highlight this too much. You mainly cover the tracks here, I mean everyone knows of Longview but what makes this version different to the studio recorded one, is that during the song they break it down, stopping completely bar the bass riff and drums whilst Billie teases the crowd. Your account misses this and appears to show it as any other performance of the song, straight through from start to finish, so not highlighting the actual performance aspect of the show so much.
Now if for some crazy reason that has been edited out of this DVD, I'm sorry for that last part, in saying your review is a little vague but on the other hand if they have, it completely tears apart the reasons why this concert was good and wouldn't be worth the time anyway.

kolzig33189
November 19th 2005



335 Comments


way way too biased. to call billie joel an excellent guitar player is absolute garbage. i can play almost every green day song and i dont even play guitar. 3 chords cannot make an excellent guitarist. and there are plenty of other drummers much better than tre cool. bonham, bill stevenson, nicko mcbrain--go listen to them and tell me tre cool is better

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
November 19th 2005



15727 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Something Vague, I saw Gree Day Live and they were absolutely amazing. They played for 2 1/2 hours non-stop, and really played to the fans. They drove the crowd absolutely nuts.

*Giants Stadium, Sept 1, 05.

francesfarmer
November 19th 2005



1477 Comments


This DVD was alright. I didn't like the documentary in between the song things, I'd rather just watch through the whole concert instead (I don't know if you can turn that on or off as a setting, I did not see this at home and I don't own it).

But the show itself wasn't too bad. Of course, they left out a bunch of songs that should have been played, but this is the American Idiot tour anyway. They sounded great, and while the selection of played songs wasn't too amazing, it was still a good show.

Dragon_Prince
November 19th 2005



272 Comments


Mhm, shame they don't have the whole concert on it ... Green Day is fantastic live, fantastic ... But they aren't as skilled as you say, the best of the band is Mike Dirnt, and Tre' drummer with most style? Uhhm ginger Baker, John Bonham, Keith Moon, and many other drummers own him

good review btw

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
November 19th 2005



15727 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I agree with Frances Farmer they needed to play She and Jaded. But they did include the highlights of their live show, so thats pretty good.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
November 19th 2005



15727 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

You can on Storytellers, Dylanettes. Homecoming is the best song I agree with you. I like it much better than JoS. It needs to be a part of their live set.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
November 19th 2005



15727 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Well I know you can TiVo it, but I dont think there's a DVD, sadly.

goblue1098
November 19th 2005



61 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yea i'm sure there WAS a storytellers cuz i watched it the day it premiered, which was a few weeks after the american idiot release date, but i havent seen it rerunned. and that they didn't play homecoming or letterbomb really pissed me off.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
November 19th 2005



15727 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Umm yeah they did. I have it on tape. They played all of American Idiot.

O wait i just got it u meant the concert.

goblue1098
November 19th 2005



61 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yea lol...i shoulda put that in the review tho

Killtacular
November 19th 2005



1314 Comments


When I first saw the Storytellers the day it premiered they played Holiday and JoS. Then every other time I saw it when they showed it again, they didn't play those two.

Pissed me off.

BringHomeTheBacon
November 19th 2005



248 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Good DVD. The second half of it is far superior to the first half. The Documentary stuff was a waste of my time though. Some crazy stage presence Green Day has. Billy Joe mooning the crowd and doing... inappropriate stuff in front of the crowd. That was pretty unnecessary. This Message Edited On 11.19.05

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
November 19th 2005



15727 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

But funny as hell.

assbandit
November 19th 2005



1 Comments


The show on the dvd wasnt acctuly the full set at milton keynes, they edited it down, the full set they played was:
1. American Idiot
2. Jesus Of Suburbia
3. Holiday
4. Are We Waiting
5. St. Jimmy
6. Longview
7. Hitchin' A Ride
8. Brain Stew
9. Jaded
10. Knowledge
11. Basket Case
12. She
13. King For A Day
14. Shout
15. Wake Me Up When Sepetmber Ends
16. Minority
17. Maria
18. Boulevard Of Broken Dreams
19. We Are The Champions
20. Good Riddance (Time Of Your Life)

And on the second day they didnt play maria or boulevard of broken dreams but homecoming. This dvd doesnt give justice to how fucking awesome this day way, its good though.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy