We Are The Ocean
Go Now And Live


3.0
good

Review

by Davey Boy STAFF
May 9th, 2011 | 102 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: These Young English Cardinals have turned homage into outright stalking.

On their first two releases, one could not help but feel a little sorry for young English quintet We Are The Ocean. As impressive as the post-hardcore outfit were at effectively balancing aggression and melody, there was a nagging comparison which they simply could not escape from... Their sound was very similar to that of the already well-established band Alexisonfire. Call it admiration, adulation or adoration, the observation was clear and unavoidable. So when the Canadian veterans threw the world a curve-ball in 2009, by incorporating an element of hard-rock into their punky post-hardcore sound, it seemed the perfect opportunity for We Are The Ocean to shake the tag. So what do the youngsters go and do on their second LP 'Go Now and Live'? You guessed it... Stalk their heroes and make a similar stylistic change.

As was the case on 'Old Crows/Young Cardinals', when Alexisonfire's screamer George Pettit refined his vocals into a divisively raspy delivery, the chief talking point on 'Go Now and Live' will be the lack of screaming from Dan Brown. Like his Canadian counterpart, Brown has no instrument to fall back on when a song would otherwise benefit from his vocal disappearance. Here, that is most evident on two cuts which lie dangerously close to ballad territory. Both 'Runaway' & 'Now and Then' appear destined for radio airplay, except that Brown delivers a verse on each that is as misplaced as a teetotaller at an AA meeting. Elsewhere, there is a Southern Rock vibe evident, with the grittier songs (opener 'Trouble Is Temporary...', 'Overtime Is a Crime' & 'Godspeed') containing dirty, distorted riffs and urgent drumming. These are very much Brown's chances to shine, with vocal effects limiting the potency of his partner in crime Liam Cromby.

And what of the aforementioned English version of Dallas Green? Surely, one would expect that an album leaning more towards mainstream alt-rock would suit Cromby's superlative clean vocals. Well, when the songwriting allows the dual vocal dynamic to shine, Brown's gruff rasp actually serves to highlight Liam's silky smooth melodies. Unfortunately, that does not happen anywhere near enough, with lead single 'What It Feels Like', the catchy ‘Trials and Tribulations’, uplifting closer 'Before I Die' and second single 'The Waiting Room' being the best exponents. The latter, especially, is a highlight, with the two often trading line for line until Cromby understandably takes over come time for a soaring chorus. Even these standouts will have their detractors however, with the rather simplistic song structures leading to less intricate guitar lines and more general lyrical themes. Contradictorily, as big a risk as 'Go Now and Live' is, it ends up feeling just a little too safe.

While many had issues with Alexisonfire's most recent LP, it succeeded because the seasoned campaigners were as cohesive, passionate and energetic as ever. This led to some genuine "wow" moments, that We Are The Ocean fail to consistently deliver here. 'Go Now and Live' is by no means a bad album, since it is a solidly composed, straight-ahead rock release with some satisfyingly driving rhythms. The experience may even assist the growth of this talented band, rather than hamper it. Too often though, the songwriting feels incomplete... Frequently relying on Cromby's melodic vocals for a winning hook. Elongated outros litter the album, which is disappointing considering its meager 33 minute duration. Then again, maybe we should not be so surprised, since this LP arrives a mere 15 months after its predecessor. Hopefully, We Are The Ocean take a little more time in locating their true identity next time around... They can start by realizing that they are Young English Cardinals, not Old Canadian Crows.

Recommended Tracks: The Waiting Room, What It Feels Like & Before I Die.



Recent reviews by this author
Emmure Eternal EnemiesThe Pretty Reckless Going to Hell
Broods BroodsThe Jezabels The Brink
Fanfarlo Let's Go ExtinctAbandon All Ships Malocchio
user ratings (106)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
May 9th 2011


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I personally like this album more than the review & its rating suggests, but I can’t objectively go higher than a 3 since it is so flawed.

Oh, and when I said that some songs had a “Southern” Rock vibe, I meant Alabama, not (the RECENTLY PROMOTED) Southampton. Woohoo.

EDIT: I never thought that I would do this, but I can't help it. Personally, it's a 3.5... Leaving the review with a 3 rating though.

Xenophanes
Emeritus
May 9th 2011


10614 Comments


I love your use of the Recommended by Reviewer section haha.

As always a really great read, but unfortunately this isn't really my thing, cheers though! : D

Digging: Kayo Dot - Coffins On Io

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
May 9th 2011


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Unfortunately, since this is a bit more (dare I use a word I hate) "generic", I could probably list about 100 albums in the Reco by Reviewer section.

Cheers big ears.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
May 9th 2011


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks Stokes. Thought I'd leave the "Old Crows" part out until the review's finale.

Let me just make it clear that I think these guys are supremely talented & have high hopes that they will one day put it all together to make a ripper of an album.

I love 'Save Me Said the Saviour'.

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
May 9th 2011


8010 Comments


a band that so clearly rips off their number one influence cannot be respected

Digging: Beach Slang - Cheap Thrills On A Dead End Street

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
May 9th 2011


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I can still respect them cw... For now. They're still young, but they wouldn't want to keep doing this.

I was waiting for you to arrive andcas. Expected you to lay into me tbh.

I don't care if Liam sounds identical to Dallas... It's a f'n great voice, no matter who is delivering it. But does this album really make use of his talent? Maybe it will require a solo album for that to happen.

Stokes, if you sound anything like Liam, then get to laying something on record mate.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
May 9th 2011


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Stokes, you could be managed by SputnikMusic Inc.

I was expecting a higher rating from you andcas. You're not just following my lead to be cool, are you? ;-)

I was reading an interview with them where the resemblance was brought up & they answered it well, and part of that was saying they are an influence. Look, it's mostly Liam sounding like Dallas, but the change in style here adds the new Dan sounding like the new George too.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
May 9th 2011


22011 Comments


Album's meh. Pretty boring.
What It Feels Like is catchy though.

Digging: Miguel - Kaleidoscope Dream

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
May 9th 2011


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hehe. "At times?" I'd say a little more than that. LOL.

Well said re: this album. I do think they will actually reel in a few more fans from this album, so it won't be a total disaster... But the important thing is how they use what they have learnt come their next album.

Now that I think of it, this would have worked better had it been a 6 track EP.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
May 9th 2011


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Fish, I think there are actually 4 songs on here that are really catchy, but even they have things wrong with them.

I ended up rating their EP & debut LP the same. 'Cutting Our Teeth' did take a few listens to get into, but once I was hooked, I was really hooked good.

Sanders
May 9th 2011


2353 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Never checked this band out, even though my mate loves them and they sound like something I'd dig. Think I'll have to have a goosey. Where should I start?

VheissuCrisis
Contributing Reviewer
May 9th 2011


993 Comments


They're a band who've always been in and around my playlists but they never really seem to hold my
attention for very long.

Perhaps cos I've seen them live 4 times (always supporting other bands, somehow) and the lead singer
was a bit of a tool. Their drummer seems cool, however.

Davey, inspired review I think its one of your best. I'll probably give this a shot.

2muchket!
May 9th 2011


900 Comments


Harsh vocalist is an arsehole.

I enjoyed their older stuff, like the EP, but anything after that I don't really care for. Heard the waiting room and thought it was ok.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
May 9th 2011


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, that song on andcas' link is a great place to start for their earlier stuff Sanders. And if you can imagine that song without the screaming, that's basically what this album sounds like.

Thanks VC, I hope I have inspired a few people to check these guys out. And you know, you have a point re: this band. As much as I say I really like them, I have never rated anything of theirs over a 3.5. There has to be a reason for that, even though I can't put my finger on it. They're so close to taking that next step.

As for Dan being a tool/arsehole, I'm telling you, having a singer who can't play an instrument & sings less than 50% of the vocals is just a recipe for disaster. Grab a cowbell or something man.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
May 9th 2011


22011 Comments


How's he an arsehole?
Reminds me of Sean Smith...

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
May 9th 2011


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ditto... I personally found Sean very entertaining having seen The Blackout live twice. I can see how he would rub people the wrong way, but he didn't have that effect on me.

We Are The Ocean are heading down under in September, so I'll try to catch them then.

For those who have seen them live, what are they like?

HBFS
May 9th 2011


1262 Comments


This is good but nothing more, probably won't bother with them at Revo

Knott-
Emeritus
May 9th 2011


10198 Comments


Superb review. Have practically no interest in this, really.

Tyrael
May 9th 2011


20900 Comments


Great review. I have no interest in this either but because it's a Daveyboy review I feel obliged to listen to this nonetheless.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
May 9th 2011


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yep, I agree with that simple statement HBFS. 3 = good. I'd like to catch them at Revo, but it's gonna depend who they clash with.

Thanks Adam. They may remind you too much of The Blackout, so I'd stay away if I was you.

LOL Thomas. I think you have by now learnt to judge what you will & won't like off of my reviews.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy