Eyehategod
Take as Needed for Pain


4.5
superb

Review

by eggsvonsatan USER (8 Reviews)
May 1st, 2011 | 230 replies


Release Date: 1993 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I love her heart as well as her warm piss and the cuts and bruises on her body.

Let's face it. Most people will cringe within the first 30 seconds of this record. A drawn-out ring of feedback followed by a long agonizing groan. This is ugly music, made by ugly people, for ugly people. Its not written by musical masterminds. It wasn’t produced by Rick Rubin or Alan Parsons. Listening to this album will not get you laid, and you certainly will not get any elitist hipster cred.

The pain of abuse and addiction, the suffering of man, feelings of being downtrodden are all present here. The atmosphere and subject matter is not the least bit pleasant or uplifting. Despite the gruesome subject matter and ugly instrumentation, Eyehategod’s music makes me really happy. After all, it’s hard not to enjoy the attitude of early Misfits albums combined with musical styling of Sabbath’s Master of Reality and a heavy dose of narcotics.

So why should anyone listen? For one, taken in isolation, it would be hard for anyone to not appreciate the bluesy melodies of guitarist Jimmy Bower (Crowbar). While the heavy Sabbath-inspired riffs are a real treat, it's Bower’s soulful melodies that make EHG stand out from other sludge acts. It’s hard to imagine that someone with strong southern rock influences would tune down a notch and use a fuzzy guitar tone behind the gut wrenching grunts of singer Mike Williams. By the hand of God, those two beastly forces trod along side by side to sing symphonies of the beaten down and decaying masses.

The drumming on this album certainly stands out. Joe LaCaze’s rhythms are pretty unpredictable. You never know when he’s going to skip a beat or throw a curveball into the mix. His slow, plodding assault provides a solid backbone for the rest of the instruments, and it's very unique.

The album opener “Blank” highlights everything the band does well: thick and down-tuned riffs, catchy melodies, powerful drumming, and amplifier worship. Feedback, bloody feedback. Some people may be turned off by the fact that most of the songs here don’t clearly stand out from each other. Many guitar parts on the album sound alike, but that doesn’t take away from an incredible listening experience. The only serious faults are that the last few tracks aren’t as strong as the first, and Disturbance is pretty unnecessary filler.

Its hard to sit here and analyze the music of Eyehategod. This is a band that probably doesn’t take as much pride in musicianship as they do their ability to make a soundtrack for swinging fists and banging heads. What makes this an interesting listen isn’t musical diversity, but the unique blending of slow and upbeat sections and the magical chemistry between slow sludgy riffage and the blues. The bottom line is that Take as Needed for Pain is one of the finest sludge albums ever made. Not to be missed.

Recommended Tracks
Blank
30 Bag
White ******
Sister ***er Pt 1



Recent reviews by this author
Benevento Russo Duo Play Pause StopMy Dying Bride Songs Of Darkness, Words Of Light
Charred Walls of the Damned Charred Walls of the DamnedGarage a Trois Power Patriot
Anaal Nathrakh EschatonBetween the Buried and Me Colors
user ratings (186)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
eggsvonsatan
May 1st 2011


1087 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

First review in some time for me. Feel free to rip it apart.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
May 1st 2011


7277 Comments


Lets face it.

Let's.

Aside from that, review is ok. I would remove the "recommended tracks" section towards the end though.
I never understood why anyone would do them.

Digging: U2 - Songs of Innocence

xenocide.
May 1st 2011


1187 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"last few tracks aren’t as strong as the first"
My favourite tracks off the album are "Crimes Against Skin", and "Who Gave Her the Roses" - from the
2nd half.

EHG deserves more attention and higher average ratings.

Anyway, pos'd.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
May 1st 2011


7041 Comments


good review, voted as such.

HenchmanOfSanta
May 1st 2011


1866 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't know what it is, but this just doesn't have the same affect on me as Acid Bath or Crowbar.

iFghtffyrdmns
May 1st 2011


7047 Comments


Lets face it.
Let's*

its Bower’s soulful melodies
it's*

Its hard to sit here
It's*


Pretty good review aside from those minor grammar things. I think I'm gonna avoid this hahaha

MalleusMaleficarum
May 1st 2011


14329 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Feedback, bloody feedback."

pos'd

alachlahol
May 1st 2011


7489 Comments


I don't know what it is, but this just doesn't have the same affect on me as Acid Bath or Crowbar.


those bands are a bunch of sallys compared to ehg

MalleusMaleficarum
May 1st 2011


14329 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

crowbar is mad homo

alachlahol
May 1st 2011


7489 Comments


crowbar named themsleves after a tool that looks like a dick cause thats what they like, they like dicks

eggsvonsatan
May 1st 2011


1087 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Acid Bath and Crowbar are completely different animals.

Wizard
May 1st 2011


19402 Comments


Let's face it. Most people will cringe within the first 30 seconds of this record. A drawn-out ring of feedback followed by a long agonizing groan. This is ugly music, made by ugly people, for ugly people.

Let's face it, most people will cringe within the first 30 seconds of this record. A drawn-out ring of feedback followed by a long agonizing groan. This is ugly musi, made by ugly people for ugly people.

This is just an example of how to clean up some of the punctuation throughout. Good review and pos'.

Digging: Khonsu - Traveller

demigod!
May 1st 2011


44389 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i downloaded this a little while ago but never listened to it because my computer's power supply decided to take a shit. i wanna hear this now

Digging: Portishead - Dummy

eggsvonsatan
May 1st 2011


1087 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks Wiz. I'll work on that.
@demigod- You should check out Southern Discomfort as well. I wanted to review that, but I thought that this needed a review first.

rasputin
May 2nd 2011


14544 Comments


crowbar named themsleves after a tool that looks like a dick cause thats what they like, they like dicks


haha

good band, good album

HenchmanOfSanta
May 2nd 2011


1866 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Acid Bath and Crowbar are completely different animals.
They're all a part of the NOLA sludge scene and have heavily overlapping fanbases. You can throw Soilent Green onto this list too, although I've only heard their most recent effort.

I also find Iron Monkey, who are known for essentially being a British Eyehategod, to be far superior.

eggsvonsatan
May 2nd 2011


1087 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Soilent Green is even more out of place, except for the fact that they're from New Orleans.
Lets go ahead and add Goatwhore and Pantera while we're at it.

alachlahol
May 2nd 2011


7489 Comments


soilent green sucs why are you people mentioning crappy bands in a thread dedicated to a good one

accompliceofmydeath
June 13th 2011


4215 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Not sure why I never listened to this album by these guys, but I've only heard Blank so far and it's heavy as fuck.

Digging: The Swarm - Parasitic Skies

Psychopathologist
June 13th 2011


1924 Comments


rulez



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy