Integral
Rise


4.5
superb

Review

by Zettel USER (37 Reviews)
April 17th, 2011 | 15 replies | 4,534 views


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist


Rise is a highly cerebral and detailed work. Simple on the surface, complex in the making, bold in the delivery, it is designed to be consumed by it at every instant. It constantly overloads your brain with multiple details, presenting a hard puzzle to solve, insinuating itself until you are a mere captive of its schemes. Slow buildups create a somber tension, permeating the whole work with an unsettling feeling of both anguish and awe that cries desperately for relief and meaning. To reach its goal, Integral risks everything and abandons any shortcut. The result is an obscure work that takes you to a place strikingly familiar and new at the same time, like discovering the remnants of something that does not exist anymore but, somehow, you feel bonded to by some hidden connection. It is far from being cold and mechanical, but the fire does not come from a sense of humanity, but from trying to bring something human and recognizable to the surface. In several ways, it is a frightening spectacle.

It does not matter if you are familiar with this adynamic and abstract type of electronic music, Rise still comes out as a truly unique and sophisticated work that, unusually for IDM, feels alive and thrilling. It demands succeeding listenings before you can have a grasp of what is happening, being also its main weakness. Once the enigma is solved and the lonely hallways of this maze are no longer strange to you, all that will be left is an empty shell of a haunting and imposing place with no apparent purpose. Works of this rare nature are condemned to live and lurk in the dark, waiting to be experienced for the first time. It is worth every second of it.



Recent reviews by this author
Fhloston Paradigm The PhoenixIntegral Sercosa
Field Rotation Acoustic TalesCristian Vogel All Music Has Come To An End
Saschienne UnknownPleq My Life Begins Today
user ratings (6)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
pizzamachine
April 17th 2011


12571 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I love cerebral music. Will check this out.

Jethro42
April 17th 2011


12438 Comments


Inspiring inspired review, mon ami. All is left to do is listening to it, isn't it.

pizzamachine
April 17th 2011


12571 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I listened to what I could find, and it's pretty great.

Zettel
April 17th 2011


597 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I am glad that at least you read the review, Jethro, since you are not interested in this type of music, as far as I know. Maybe one day you will give it a shot.

Pizza: share your thoughts if you check it out.

Edit: That was fast, Pizza. Glad it picked your interest.

pizzamachine
April 17th 2011


12571 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I love spacey atmospheric stuff. Seems like a drum n bass/ambient album to me.

Jethro42
April 17th 2011


12438 Comments


I'm far from being an aficionado no doubt, but I stay vigilant. I'm listening to the openening track atm and I confess it's really not as accessible as most of the Jean-Michel Jarre nor Tangerine Dream stuff that I know.

Zettel
April 17th 2011


597 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

At least you gave it a chance. It is difficult to recommend this stuff. If you can, check out the last track "Je Ne Trouve Pas La Sortie", you might be surprised.

Pizza: I find it hard to put it into a category, but yes, it relies heavily on ambiances.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
April 18th 2011


7266 Comments


Great review. Pos.

Minor niggle #1: Simple on the surface, complex in the making, bold in the delivery, it is designed to be consumed by it at every instant.

What is "it" in that sentence, exactly?

Minor niggle #2: Review seems a little like it was written by a person who desired to play with words/write an essay, and not to convey an objective or practical opinion. Not to say that that's inherently bad or wrong - I just felt that as a neutral observer/reader, I didn't come away with the sense of knowing whether I should buy this album or not.

That said, you are an great writer Zettel.

Digging: U2 - Songs of Innocence

Tyrael
April 18th 2011


20875 Comments


Great review, I need to check this out.

Digging: Darkspace - Dark Space III I

Zettel
April 18th 2011


597 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Misleading.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
April 19th 2011


7266 Comments


Oh...I was actually referring to the fact that there are two occurrences of "it" in that sentence, Zettel. Sorry I should have been a bit clearer.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
April 19th 2011


7041 Comments


Irving is Irving others work like Irving does lol.

Zettel
April 20th 2011


597 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It is alright.

Adash
July 27th 2011


1356 Comments


Seems to me I have to check this out pronto, as we speak as it were

Keyblade
June 15th 2013


14822 Comments


rules

Digging: Strawberry Switchblade - Strawberry Switchblade



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy