King Crimson
In the Court of the Crimson King


5.0
classic

Review

by tarkus USER (16 Reviews)
April 12th, 2011 | 45 replies | 5,662 views


Release Date: 1969 | Tracklist

Review Summary: KC's first and in the top three of their discography

2 of 4 thought this review was well written

This highly influential progressive rock album from 1969 is one of the best King Crimson has to offer, and has some of the best songs of all time. From the hard rocking distortion of 21st Century Schizoid Man to the cadence of I Talk to the Wind, this recording has everything you could want in an album.
Side one consists of:
21st Century Schizoid Man- The hardest song on the album by a very long shot. This song has distorted vocals by Greg Lake and the long guitar and saxophone fueled instrumental known as "Mirrors". One of the best of the album, which is not to say there are any bad tracks.

I Talk to the Wind- A calm song moved along by Lake's soft vocals and flute solos. If there was ever a song that could make anyone calm, it would be this. The shortest song on the album clocking in at a little over six minutes is one of the best six minuets you can have while listening to music.

Epitaph- My all time favorite song, the vocals of Lake, combined with Fripp's guitar playing and the mellotron, make it easily one of the best. The buildup to the repeated line "For I fear tomorrow I'll be crying" is one of the most rewarding once it reaches the climax towards the end of the song.

Side Two:

Moonchild- A thirteen minute epic including "The Dream" and "The Illusion". The first two minutes of the song, or "The Dream", is a mellotron driven poem about a moonchild. "The Illusion" is nine minutes of tapping, hitting of cymbals, and other various sounds. To some, this may be annoying and drag on, but others may enjoy the simple display of technicality involved in these noises.

In the Court of the Crimson King- A mellotron fueled nine minute song, and the best on side two, ITCOTCK is nine minutes of impressive vocals, and impressive drumming by Michael Giles, breaking away from the sounds of the chorus and verses twice, only to return to the glorious sound.

Key Tracks: All of them

This album is completely worth the price, I bought it on CD for $15 and I've seen it available on vinyl for about 30. If you want to start listening to King Crimson, start here, or Discipline is also a good place to start.

Overall: 5/5



Recent reviews by this author
Wild Nothing NocturneThe West Coast Pop Art Experimental Band A Child's Guide to Good and Evil
The Brian Jonestown Massacre Strung Out In HeavenVan der Graaf Generator H to He, Who Am the Only One
Hawkwind OnwardCan The Lost Tapes
user ratings (2525)
Chart.
4.6
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
FromDaHood
Contributing Reviewer
April 12th 2011



8931 Comments


Go more in depth, don't go track-by-track, explain your summary statement in your review etc. No real
glaring grammar issues though. That's cool.
You will read literally the exact same thing 5 more times at least in this comment string. Don't be
discouraged though. Keep working at it.

Digging: Phantogram - Voices

rasputin
April 12th 2011



14504 Comments


disconography

SloppyMilkshake
April 12th 2011



981 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Awesome album. Schizoid Man alone makes this a classic.

Yotimi
April 12th 2011



6270 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Just can't get into Moonchild. The rest is gold though.

Shrapnel94
April 12th 2011



2213 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

disconography

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
April 12th 2011



48522 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Disco pornography

Digging: More Than Life - What's Left Of Me

iFghtffyrdmns
April 12th 2011



7047 Comments


all I see is nagrarok / Iluvatar

krig9412
April 12th 2011



791 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Phenomenal record. Pretty much do everything FromDaHood said and you'll be fine.

That said, this a good first review anyway. Keep hacking at it.

Masochist
April 12th 2011



7901 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

One of my favorite records ever, absolutely.

mallen-
April 12th 2011



1235 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Listened to this earlier, has that amazing timeless quality

Digging: The War on Drugs - Lost in the Dream

AnotherBrick
April 12th 2011



9766 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

think I'm the only one who enjoys reading track by tracks.

KeithStone582
April 12th 2011



1480 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I talk to the wind...do you?

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
April 12th 2011



23613 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"all I see is nagrarok / Iluvatar"

all I see is the greatest album cover ever made

shy away from track-by-tracks, not a bad review though for a first. keep at it.

Digging: Trophy Scars - Holy Vacants

Chrisjon89
April 12th 2011



2960 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I made a mental note to check this out back in 2005 or so when people I like were name dropping them as an influence and here we are all these years later and I still haven't.

Reminds me I need to check this out.

Digging: Elizabeth Rose - Elizabeth Rose

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
April 13th 2011



23613 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This is one of the best and most influential albums ever made. Without this (and Red, among others) modern prog and metal as we know it would not exist.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
April 13th 2011



23613 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

haha I just noticed that his username is Tarkus and he rec'd Tarkus. sneaky sneaky.

Knott-
Emeritus
April 13th 2011



10193 Comments


got a question, would i like this? i see it everywhere. but i have a mental block when it comes to prog.

eggsvonsatan
April 13th 2011



1087 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

A classic album like this deserves a more in depth review.


Aids
Contributing Reviewer
April 13th 2011



23613 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"got a question, would i like this? i see it everywhere. but i have a mental block when it comes to prog."

if you ever like a prog album in your life, I can almost guarantee that this would be that album. "I Talk To The Wind" is kind of cheesy, but this album avoids most of the genres cliches, partially because this album fucking created the genre.

"21st Century Schizoid Man" is one of the greatest songs ever. Period the end. Those drums man, they're super human. Knott, I don't even think you can consider yourself a music fan without hearing this. That's how essential I feel this is.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
April 13th 2011



23613 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I mean, it's one of my four framed record cover sleeves, the other three being Wish You Were Here,
Lift Your Skinny Fists, and In The Aeroplane Over The Sea.

/hipster



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy