Stench of Decay
Visions Beyond Death


3.5
great

Review

by Kyle Ward STAFF
April 12th, 2011 | 31 replies | 6,270 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Another worthwhile offering from the Finnish death metal scene that lives up to Stench Of Decay's previous releases in many ways, but also falls short in some

Visions Beyond Death is exactly the kind of EP that fans of Where Death And Decay Reign will enjoy: it is more or less unchanged. That is to say, I don’t think there were any listeners out there who wanted Finland’s Stench of Decay to change their ways, let alone expected them to. Visions Beyond Death follows in the same footsteps as their previous demos, scooping a heavy portion of death metal into the snapping jaws of its hungry followers; the murky songwriting equaling that of its predecessor in terms of style but not quite in quality. The riffs of songs like “Creation of Carnal Lust” aren’t around in such a memorable form, but the guitar work present here still rings true to what Stench of Decay are aiming for with their savage and heavy cuts that shift like dunes in a high wind, with the vocals latched on to ride their pace.

A universally solid showing from the drums is something that was present on Where Death And Decay Reign, and is back on Visions Beyond Death, albeit rather oppressed by the more muffled production placed on not only them, but the entire band as a whole. The crunch of the guitars found on their self-titled demo is instead replaced by a muddier, but still wholly audible production that unfortunately isn’t so kind to the bass, which isn’t as prominent and distinguished as in the past. It’s unable to be the presence it was on Where Death And Decay Reign, instead being clearly there but smeared together with the low-end of the guitars and unable to create its own bite. Also, the pace of the album isn’t quite as frantic as that of songs like “Stench Of Decay” from their first demo, but is instead on line with Where Death And Decay Reign, with both tracks taking a more relaxed pace that features spurts of chaos, rather than dealing with that pace for the duration.

Due in part to its brief 11-minute length, Visions Beyond Death doesn’t branch much from what those familiar with the band have already heard; not that it should have in the first place. The vocals are the same deep growl, the atmosphere just as crushing. It’s a great Finnish death metal band playing great Finnish death metal; just another reason why you should continue to give the scene your undivided attention, because there’s no question that it deserves it.



Recent reviews by this author
Wolves in the Throne Room CelestiteAgalloch The Serpent and the Sphere
Insomnium Shadows of the Dying SunAinulindale Nevrast
Sargeist Feeding the Crawling ShadowsVindensang Alpha
user ratings (12)
Chart.
3.2
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
Crysis
Staff Reviewer
April 12th 2011



16242 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Wrote this kind of quick, let me know if anything seems off/is totally fucking wrong.

iFghtffyrdmns
April 12th 2011



7047 Comments


"the kind of the EP"
should just be "the kind of EP"

other than that - quick, concise and clear, nice write up Crysis :]

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
April 12th 2011



16242 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah you're right, nice catch, I'll fix that now.

iFghtffyrdmns
April 12th 2011



7047 Comments


and shit that was my 1000th comment haha, woohoo I guess lol

rasputin
April 12th 2011



14516 Comments


this isn't quite as good as where death and decay reign, but i still like it. the new krypts is a lot better than this.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
April 12th 2011



16242 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah that sums up my thoughts perfectly. New Krypts rules as well, looking forward to an LP from them or at least another demo.

Wizard
April 12th 2011



19208 Comments


Never heard of these guys but that's probably because I love penis in my bum, need to get on this. Review is perfecto!!!!

Digging: Monarch - Sabbracadaver

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
April 12th 2011



16242 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Start with Where Death And Decay Reign and prepare to be impressed.

rasputin
April 12th 2011



14516 Comments



Never heard of these guys but that's probably because I love penis in my bum


haha Karl I love you

Wizard
April 12th 2011



19208 Comments


Start with Where Death And Decay Reign and prepare to be impressed.

Just read the review for that and I had an instant boner. Love you too rasp.

liledman
April 12th 2011



3826 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

forgot about this will listen now.

liledman
April 12th 2011



3826 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

ok yeah agree with what everybody is saying here. production was better on where death... for sure.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
April 12th 2011



16242 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That's probably my biggest complaint about this. I'm really not sure why they went with the production that they did.

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
April 12th 2011



16134 Comments


Nice review, Kyle. Gonna have to give this a go.

the new krypts is a lot better than this.


Awesome. Might've had no idea they dropped new stuff unless you said something.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
April 12th 2011



16242 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks man, definitely get Krypts along with this. Rasputin posted them both on S4D.

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
April 12th 2011



16134 Comments


Ah, nice. Been taking the piss. Haven't checked S4D in a bit. Had to make some time just to get something else up on PtC yesterday.

rasputin
April 12th 2011



14516 Comments


just going to say that everyone should listen to that tempest album i posted. fucking great record.

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
April 12th 2011



16134 Comments


Sweet. Might pack it in late just to spin all these new goodies.

Willie
Moderator
April 13th 2011



15876 Comments


Good review, but it seems safe to assume that this isn't my thing. Those hand-drawn 'dark' covers are usually a dead give-away.

Digging: Emperor - In The Nightside Eclipse - 20th Year Anniversary

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
April 13th 2011



16242 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hahaha don't judge a book by its cover ;)


Only death metal I know you listen to really is Cannibal Corpse so yeah this might not be your thing.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy