Pariso/Kerouac
Split


4.0
excellent

Review

by Mr. Lean Mug USER (109 Reviews)
April 11th, 2011 | 36 replies | 7,125 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Faster, looser.

3 of 3 thought this review was well written

Kerouac have changed yet again. Pariso, despite losing their vocalist, have just gotten about 10 times more rad. That’s pretty much the sum of these two UK hardcore acts latest 5” split release. The former have managed to get tighter and garner even more depth despite gaining some (wait for this one) melody. The latter have just shortened their songs down to powerviolence length which is probably the type of music they were meant to make all along.

In fact, all the tracks on this split clock in at an average of 30 seconds or so. The 5 part “Fiends” series offered by Kerouac might just be their best *song* yet. It manages to be wholly different from what they did on both Cold and Distant and their last split with The Long Haul. “Fiends” slows things down bit by bit allowing the spotlight to fall on Kerouac’s songwriting and lyrical prowess (because they’ve always been killer lyricists. Don’t believe me? Go read the sheets for C and D. It’s practically a religious experience.) Pariso, on the other hand, find themselves being something of a bastard spawn of Crossbreaker, Lavotchkin, and some good British powerviolence band that I’m sure has to exist. Hell they even named one song “Blastbeast" for Satan’s sake. It’s almost a shame that the original line-up is falling through after this record because to say they’ve improved their sound from Sooner Insignificant Better is an understatement.

The two sides of the split are polar opposites but fully capable of bringing the mosh. This is some real headbanger shit folks, and it’s easily one of the best tag-team hardcore releases of 2011 thus far.



Recent reviews by this author
Rome Fortune Beautiful Pimp IIMaxo Kream Quiccstrikes
Self Defense Family Try MeFatKidsBrotha Eastside Paradise II
Meyhem Lauren and Icerocks Raw CashmereWarm Brew The Ride
user ratings (20)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hep Kat
April 11th 2011



13999 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

http://pariso.bandcamp.com/album/pariso-kerouac-split


album art coming, but don't expect much. it's maaaad gay

Digging: Casanovas In Heat - Belvidere b/w Destiny St.

Hep Kat
April 11th 2011



13999 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

hope he doesnt sue me

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
April 11th 2011



23625 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nice this sounds awesome, checking out the bandcamp

Digging: Trophy Scars - Holy Vacants

Hep Kat
April 11th 2011



13999 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

it's over very quickly unlike death by aids

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
April 11th 2011



23625 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

that album art is ok. nothing special but it's fine. I wouldn't say it's maaad gay at all.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
April 11th 2011



23625 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"it's over very quickly unlike death by aids"

hahaha

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
April 11th 2011



23625 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yah it's like ...5 minutes for 10 songs wth

ConsiderPhlebas
April 11th 2011



6157 Comments


Sooner Insignificant Better is pretty badass

Hep Kat
April 11th 2011



13999 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

yeah but it's a pretty awesome five minutes

Hep Kat
April 11th 2011



13999 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

@ phlebas yeah it's not bad, but this is better. muuuuuuuuuch better

ConsiderPhlebas
April 11th 2011



6157 Comments


Hmm think I disagree... No Hope sounds a bit boring

Hep Kat
April 11th 2011



13999 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

bu bu but


butt

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
April 11th 2011



23625 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this is good, but it's almost too short. Like, right when I'm really starting to get into it, it's over.

Hep Kat
April 11th 2011



13999 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

well i think that was the point of this release sort of


i mean, you wanna hear some REALLY short hardcore albums. because this is pretty long compared to a lot of stuff

cvlts
April 11th 2011



8917 Comments


didnt really curr enuff to look for this. fuck it..

Digging: Pedro the Lion - It's Hard To Find A Friend

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
April 11th 2011



23625 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

seriously?
haha man I thought Cold and Distant, Not Loving was short I guess I'm just a hxc n0000b. But I don't know, I liked how Cold and Distant was short and easy to digest, I think it's length was a strength, but there's a limit to that strategy, and I think this album toys with that limit so I think I'll stay away from the REALLY short stuff.

mutatedfreek
April 11th 2011



7351 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Release rules so much. Cool review man, nice and succinct.

Hep Kat
April 11th 2011



13999 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

freek gets it@!

sniper
April 11th 2011



18578 Comments


the kerouac side is awesome. pariso side is pretty cool also.

ConsiderPhlebas
April 11th 2011



6157 Comments


Short songs are all good, but the Pariso stuff feels weak compared to their album



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy