Thursday
No Devolucion


4.5
superb

Review

by Adam Thomas STAFF
April 5th, 2011 | 668 replies | 79,764 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Stay true

For me there's a lot of nostalgia in listening to Thursday. For someone who was just entering their teenage years around the same time that they released Full Collapse, there was no greater companion at the time than Geoff Rickly. His strained vocals, that in any other context would be looked down upon as something inferior, gave those of us that had stumbled upon the beginnings of the modern post-hardcore scene a sense of purpose, a sense of community in a post-9/11 landscape that was growing more and more distant and divided from everything that we wished it would be. This is why when earlier this year when Thursday announced that they would be playing their landmark 2001 release, a sea of early twenty-somethings leaped at the opportunity to relive those oh-so-fleeting moments of unity through the album that tied us all together.

It is through this lens, with Full Collapse so recently re-etched in our minds, to which Thursday are releasing their sixth album No Devolución . It is more than fitting. Besides Full Collapse, no other Thursday album shares that same feeling of perfect cohesion, where every song feels like its more than just instruments put to tape, like each track is a living and breathing entity of its own. That's not to knock the albums that they put out in between, because not only were they more than admirable inclusions that helped cement Thursday's status for years to come, they were also stepping stones, inching us ever closer to what they would create here on No Devolución, as the moods and themes visited across its twelve tracks all had their starts on previous albums. Take for example the album's emotional centerpiece “Empty Glass" which, besides the fact that it starts off in a manner that sounds exactly like Bright Eye's “Padraic My Prince”, blossoms into melancholy bloom of mournful synthesizers that feels like the big brother of A City By the Light Divided's closing call for reflection “Autumn Leaves Revisited”. Even the album's heavier tracks, like opener “Fast to the End” and “Open Quotes”, feel connected to this same emotional wellspring which when taken in as a whole makes No Devolución a complete work of post-hardcore beauty.

It's no surprise that even after fourteen years as a band Thursday could still pull off an album like No Devolución that re-envisions everything that they have accomplished in that time in a new light without sounding like a retread of old ideas. By combining these previously worked on sounds in new ways Thursday have created an album that is not only new and unique, but also unmistakably their own.



Recent reviews by this author
The Hotelier Home, Like NoPlace Is ThereOwls Two
Taking Back Sunday Happiness IsGridLink Longhena
Comeback Kid Die KnowingSlough Feg Digital Resistance
user ratings (796)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Kris.
April 5th 2011



11307 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i got halfway through and got distracted
i need a better quality copy sigh

Athom
Staff Reviewer
April 5th 2011



17114 Comments


then why bother to post?

Digging: Sad Lovers and Giants - Feeding the Flame

Kris.
April 5th 2011



11307 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

CUZ I WANTED TO BUMP THE REVIEW SO PEOPLE SEE IT?
im doin you a favor but whatev

ifloatwithchino
April 5th 2011



53 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I can't get over how good this is..

Willie
Moderator
April 5th 2011



15774 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I've never understood the appeal of Full Collapse. His vocals aren't the greatest and, to me, they seemed mixed too high on that album. They're buried further down in later albums.

Anyway, I only really like War all the Time but I think I'll check this out since it seems to be generating so much praise already.

Digging: Teramaze - Esoteric Symbolism

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 5th 2011



20797 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That's one area where we've always disagreed Trey. I think 'WAtT' is the weakest of their past 4 albums, with 'FC' their best. I guess it all comes down to the production on the 2 albums, and for once, I love the rawer one.

Either way, Adam T has me hyped!

alachlahol
April 5th 2011



7422 Comments


youre already starting to overhype this

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
April 5th 2011



30280 Comments


I haven't listened to this yet, simply because I'm holding out for a decent rip. Its been talked up enough that I'm looking forward to it though

Digging: L'Orange - The Orchid Days

TREO5
April 5th 2011



1065 Comments


Good review, will probably check this out.

LiquidVelvet
April 5th 2011



628 Comments


Is it just me or does Empty Glass seriously sound like The Glow Pt 2 by The Microphones?

darkbunny
April 5th 2011



139 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

This is so much better than everything else I've heard this year.

Athom
Staff Reviewer
April 5th 2011



17114 Comments


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KikndcmV5Fs for those of you that have never heard Padraic My Prince
here's a link so you can get the reference.


Twelvetribes230
April 6th 2011



102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

SO DAMN GOOD!

StrizzMatik
April 6th 2011



3158 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Album is just as good as people are saying, that's not hype. There isn't a single track below excellent on here

c0ffee
April 6th 2011



270 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i'm liking this quite a lot.

tkxxx7
April 6th 2011



6146 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think War All The Time is better than Full Collapse , but FC hit me while in a particular emotional state that made it so much better at the time

Vesuvion
April 6th 2011



55 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

And the fact that this album was written in one week, in-studio, without prior demos or anything, just enhances the entire listening experience. That vibe of cohesion really shines through in the music, something I missed in recent albums.

Also, great review.

Chrisjon89
April 6th 2011



2959 Comments


Good review. I'll check this out for sure. Thursday had completely fallen off my radar and I don't even know why. I had a listen to Full Collapse again when I saw people start praising this and for me it hasn't aged as well as something like Relationship of Command or The Shape of Punk to Come or something.

I didn't even listen to Common Existence at all. And also I could rate an album after a few listens, but to articulate my point in a review I'd need at least a few weeks to familiarise myself with it. Some would say that's why I'm so shit at this reviewing caper but that'd be needlessly confrontational.

tkxxx7
April 6th 2011



6146 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

to articulate my point in a review I'd need at least a few weeks to familiarise myself with it.


that's why you're so shit at this reviewing caper

lol jk

kitsch
April 6th 2011



5105 Comments


full collapse is middle school in a nutshell for me

along with TBS's first album
and sublime
and minor threat



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy