Floating Me
Floating Me


4.0
excellent

Review

by Billy USER (32 Reviews)
April 5th, 2011 | 34 replies | 11,865 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Maybe inbreeding isn't so bad...

3 of 3 thought this review was well written

It has been well documented over the last couple of years that Australia’s alternative rock scene has indeed suffered a substantial degree of what could very easily be called inbreeding. So much so that it is increasingly hard to find bands that are standing out from the rest and writing somewhat original music. The latest product of musical inbreeding is quintet Floating Me, featuring members from Karnviool, Cog and Scarymother. Given the pedigree on display, it is immediately obvious Floating Me aren’t your average boring Australian prog band. In actual fact, Floating Me’s self-titled debut easily holds its own against any Australian rock albums released in recent times.

As a collective, despite the names behind the music, Floating Me manage to move off in a mostly different tangent to the various members’ previous previous work. While still maintaining the somewhat tradition hard rock sound, instead of focusing on hooks and huge choruses, Floating Me instead create an atmosphere that manages to be both tense and beautiful at the same time. That is where this band’s strength truly lies, their ability to use atmosphere and subtly change the dynamics of the music only helps them stand out from the slather of bands attempting this genre.

Vocalist Andrew Gillespie’s commanding baritone, a mix of Jeff Martin and Nick Cave, is one of Floating Me’s strong points. Gillespie demands attention, with the band’s ridiculously tense atmosphere forming the perfect background for his dark lyrics. Despite the power of his voice, Gillespie is noticeably careful in his delivery, ensuring he doesn’t overshadow the rest of the band, often taking a back seat and treating his voice as just another instrument. ‘Bezhumous’ and ‘Short Cuts to Feeling’ are perfect examples of this, with the keys of Tobias Messeiter and Antony Brown’s guitar taking more of a lead role. Conversely, the band also move in the other direction here and there, with cuts such as the album’s lead single ‘Sugar’ and the somewhat softer ‘Piano.’

Given Floating Me possess what is arguably the best rhythm section in Australia Jon Stockman (Karnivool) on bass and Lucius Borich (Cog) on drums, it is immediately clear that it is one of the band’s strengths. The underlying tribal feel of their debut only accentuates this, with tracks such as ‘Deathless’ and ‘Bezhumous’ featuring impressive drumming by Borich. Similarly, Stockman’s trademark rumbling bass is excellent throughout, particularly on ‘Breaking to Breath’ and epic closer ‘Across the Gulf.’

Whether it is the sheer talent of the band members or their years of experience that has made Floating Me an instant success, it is hard to tell. Regardless, as if appearing from nowhere, Floating Me have crafted what is an outstanding debut. The tense atmosphere found on the record does indeed result in quite a hard listen at first, however it is definitely a grower. What Floating Me have managed to do is avoid the ‘dreaded’ supergroup syndrome, instead creating an outstanding piece of atmospheric rock and doing their part to silence the supergroup naysayers in the process.



Recent reviews by this author
Twelve Foot Ninja Silent MachineMonuments Gnosis
Uneven Structure FebruusFair to Midland Arrows and Anchors
Trial Kennedy Living UndesignedOver-Reactor Lose Your Delusion
user ratings (28)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Vooligan
April 5th 2011



3541 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Out officially on 15th April, but they've been selling it at shows for the last couple of weeks.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
April 5th 2011



6733 Comments


depends on how nice the mods are feeling but they might still take this down. good read though.

Vooligan
April 5th 2011



3541 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

They're normally pretty cool about it... Since the band has actually been selling it themselves it should be okay.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
April 5th 2011



6733 Comments


there is soo many reviews today. it's weird

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 5th 2011



20798 Comments


Been meaning to check this out. Good review Billy... I knew you'd get to it soon enough.

Where do you rate it on the catchiness/accessibility scale, say in comparison to Dead Letter Circus, Cog & Karnivool?

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
April 5th 2011



6733 Comments


Now that im sure it won't get taken down, have your pos.

Vooligan
April 5th 2011



3541 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks man.

Umm this is quite un-catchy on the surface, like not very immeadiate. Takes a few listens to get into, but once you do it kinda draws you in from there and after that there's a few hooks to be found. Probably less catchy than all of Cog, DLC and vool.



DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 5th 2011



20798 Comments


Oooh, this is gonna test me then. But I'll give it a go down the track. There better not be any 10 minute tracks.

Masochist
April 5th 2011



7900 Comments


It's really dark-sounding, actually. I just caught wind of this today before you posted this review because Sleep Parade is joining them on their national tour. Really gritty stuff, not catchy at all...but rewarding if you get into it. I'll have to check the album out when it's officially released.

cb123
April 5th 2011



1957 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

will have to put this on the to-do list, how could i not with that rhythm section

Vooligan
April 5th 2011



3541 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, what Masochist said. Super dark, and not catchy, but really rewarding.

Anyone who is a fan of Karnivool or Cog should check them out.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
April 6th 2011



7159 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It sounds awesome. Great review!

Digging: Triptykon - Melana Chasmata

Vooligan
April 6th 2011



3541 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh and Davey. Average track length would be about 5 minutes. Only one long one which is the closer, Across the Gulf (9 minutes long).

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
April 7th 2011



6733 Comments


Ill have to find this somewhere.

Vooligan
April 7th 2011



3541 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

There's plenty of places to download it. Not that sputnik condones that.....

Benwx
April 30th 2011



127 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Saw these dudes at the Annandale last night with Sleep Parade. Pretty sweet gig!! I was never really hugely keen on these guys so mainly went for Sleep Parade (might I add I certainly am not that keen on their new material). However Floating Me were brilliant, although it took a few songs to get into them. Lucius Borich did the most insane drum solo in the track Bezhumous I think it was, for about 7-8 minutes, and Jons bass was mindblowing per usual. Great value for $15 tell you what! The crowd slowly left through Floating Me which puzzled me though.. their set got better and better..

Vooligan
May 1st 2011



3541 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Gunna ask the more pertinent question. What's Sleep Parade's new stuff like? Im getting less and less excited for their album by the minute now.

Floating Me are sick live though. Seeing both bands this weekend.

Captain North
May 1st 2011



6743 Comments


I forgot all about this. Should check it soon aye.

Vooligan
May 1st 2011



3541 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah get it. Shit rules.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
May 1st 2011



7159 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Rules, but gets old quite quickly.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy