The Mountain Goats
All Eternals Deck


4.5
superb

Review

by Adam Thomas STAFF
March 29th, 2011 | 106 replies | 21,274 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Never sleep, remember to breathe deep

It has been stated more times that one can count that change is the only constant. Well, I call bullshit! If only Albert Einstein had studied the indie music universe instead of the cosmic one he would have found his missing cosmological constant in the form of The Mountain Goats. John Darnielle's creative outlet has nary evolved since his days sitting in a Claremont, CA apartment singing songs about cows into a boombox. Obviously he now takes advantage of more modern production techniques (gasp! He records in a studio now!) but if you compared his work on an album like, lets say, Sweden or Nothing For Juice to what he's putting out now it's still the same songs by the same man shining in the same magnificent glory. John Darnielle's formula of intensely personal, eruditely literate, and elegantly simplistic songs has turned him into one of the indie music world's most respected troubadours. John knows what he does best and that's exactly he delivers, every damn time like clockwork.

All Eternals Deck is exactly what those already accustomed to John Darnielle's nasally timbre have come to expect. Every song opens like a wound: torn open from god-knows-what sort of traumatic event that one has come across in life, exposing our inner makings blood, guts and all. Over the course of the album his words burrow ever deeper into the wounds that are par for the course for living, be they his own stories or just figments of his imagination it doesn't matter, until they eventually expose the bones that hold us together. But just as soon as he has broken down the human experience into it's darkest bits, he starts tying it all back together with a string of hope. It is this which makes The Mountain Goats canon so transcendent. No matter what happens to make our lives unravel, there is always a single thread of hope present to put it all back together.



Recent reviews by this author
United Nations The Next Four YearsMatter Teraphim
The Hotelier Home, Like NoPlace Is ThereOwls Two
Taking Back Sunday Happiness IsGridLink Longhena
user ratings (195)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Athom
Staff Reviewer
March 29th 2011



17204 Comments


this mini-review is dedicated to sobhi

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
March 29th 2011



23807 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I still gotta get this album, I love love LOVE The Mountain Goats

nice review, I really like the short write-ups

cbmartinez
March 29th 2011



2525 Comments


i streamed this on npr a few weeks back, i liked it, definitely a lot more than the bs christian one before this

gaslightanthem
March 29th 2011



5209 Comments


suh-weet

Athom
Staff Reviewer
March 29th 2011



17204 Comments


http://pitchfork.com/news/42050-video-craig-finn-joins-the-mountain-goats/ the greatest video on youtube ever?

mallen-
March 29th 2011



1235 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Tied for my favorite with All Hail West Texas

kingsoby1
Emeritus
March 29th 2011



4950 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

i hate u adam

mmfarva
March 29th 2011



1352 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Such a wonderful album.

Knott-
Emeritus
March 29th 2011



10195 Comments


hey guys look adam likes the new mountain goats album

klap
Staff Reviewer
March 29th 2011



10330 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

adam reviewing the mountain goats is like me reviewing trail of dead 2/5

Digging: Literature - Chorus

Steoandnoodles
March 29th 2011



2832 Comments


With you there Adam. =)
Hope to pick this up shortly.

cbmartinez
March 29th 2011



2525 Comments


darnielle is one of the most consistently good musicians out right now so its really not surprising this is so good

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
March 29th 2011



23807 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'd be shocked I don't give this at least a 4

I just downloaded it and as soon as my computer speakers learn to behave I'll listen to it.

mmfarva
March 29th 2011



1352 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That doesn't make him wrong.

Ire
March 29th 2011



41754 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

whoa big surprise

flamingmouse
March 29th 2011



183 Comments


"http://pitchfork.com/news/42050-video-craig-finn-joins-the-mountain-goats/ the greatest video on youtube ever?"

They really couldn't wait just 2 weeks to do something this awesome?

shakethatbearfight
March 29th 2011



31 Comments


I apparently really need to get this. Dang.

kitsch
March 29th 2011



5107 Comments


holy fucking shit holy fucking shit holy fucking shit holy fucking shit

BigTuna
March 30th 2011



5155 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

He's consistent but also consistently better. I love this album.

Athom
Staff Reviewer
March 30th 2011



17204 Comments


i wouldnt say consistently better but this is better than his last 3 albums. he put out his best work
from 1996-2005. this should really be a 4 but i'm a superfan.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy