Mac Miller
Best Day Ever


3.0
good

Review

by Narshh USER (8 Reviews)
March 21st, 2011 | 100 replies | 17,863 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Surprisingly not the worst day...ever

2 of 2 thought this review was well written

Mac Miller’s second mixtape, Best Day Ever, is another giant step towards his inevitable mainstream success. What made his first mixtape, K.I.D.S., a personal favorite of mine, were the feel good beats, relaxing/soothing lyrics, and how it seemed to kick off the school year in a tremendous fashion. Best Day Ever see’s these appealing attributes taken to a new level, but ultimately stripped down for the hoards of new fans he has acquired from neighboring successful “freshman” rappers such as Wiz Khalifa. Extremely evident on tracks such as “Keep Floatin”, which features the aforementioned rapper, is Miller’s new cultural sensibility. Instead of having fun and keeping the tempo bouncing throughout the whole mixtape, this MC realizes that in order to be successful in this new scene, he needs to kick his “chill mode” into overdrive. The result isn’t too bad, but what we end up with are cringe worthy choruses like: “Got no problems/my weed lit/got nowhere to go/So we riding/we smoke til we can’t anymore/And keep floatin”. Miller has clearly blown up the scene since the release of K.I.D.S., which is undeniably a fun debut, but is now trying too hard to fit in with Khalifa and those in the same vain; who, to be honest, aren’t really good to begin with.
The highlights of this mix tape come in short, sweet, and unfortunately scarce packages. Songs like “Oy Vey”, and “Donald Trump” feature what Miller does best, with bouncing, catchy beats that are extremely addictive. And “In The Air” even has the MC finally switching up his flow, and proving yet again that he definitely could make a good album if he drops the weed-smoking high school mentality front. The production on this album is more toned down then on K.I.D.S., with each beat streamlined for the radio and not as ambitious, but yet again there are exceptions (see, “BDE Bonus”, “Oy Vey”) that offer a more varied listening experience. This is a mixtape however, and for what it’s worth, it’s a mildly entertaining one.

Recommended Tracks
“Oy Vey”
“In The Air”
“Donald Trump”



Recent reviews by this author
Childish Gambino Because The InternetBrand New Daisy
Jay-Z Magna Carta... Holy GrailPaul Thompson Who's Afraid of Rashida Jones?
Bad Meets Evil Hell: The SequelCartier Sims Cartier Chronicles
user ratings (138)
Chart.
2.4
average

Comments:Add a Comment 
Narshh
March 21st 2011



1186 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The formatting is a little off....I don't know how to make indents, bold, italicize etc

Hawks
March 21st 2011



35638 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Unlike a lot of people here in Pittsburgh, I think Mac Miller sucks ass.

Digging: Engraved - Before The Tales

JWT155
March 21st 2011



9220 Comments


Nah I'm with you Hawks though I like one of his songs.

Hawks
March 21st 2011



35638 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

When it comes to him and Wiz, I'd take Wiz every time.

Narshh
March 21st 2011



1186 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

haha i really enjoyed KIDS but only becuase it was such a feel good/in the moment album...this one on the other hand is really iffy...im gonna change my 3.5 to a 3 now that i think about it

Narshh
March 21st 2011



1186 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

when it comes to both, id take mac actually idk why, really don't enjoy kahlifa

Narshh
March 21st 2011



1186 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Asher Roth over both though

JWT155
March 21st 2011



9220 Comments


I'd pick Wiz too, crazy how they both went to TA.

Hahahahahaha Asher over them hahaha

Hawks
March 21st 2011



35638 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I've always really liked Wiz. His lyrics are repetitive and kind uninteresting, but he always has some killer beats.

JWT155
March 21st 2011



9220 Comments


Just say yeah.

Hawks
March 21st 2011



35638 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Never Ever is my favorite Wiz song. Always has been.

Narshh
March 21st 2011



1186 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

how's the review tho peeps?

Urinetrouble
March 21st 2011



5760 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

guys a bad combo of the worst parts of asher roth and wiz khalifa

Urinetrouble
March 21st 2011



5760 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

^ash only half sucks. he has decent songs like rik smits, but he ruins them by coming off as such a fucking douchebag

iFghtffyrdmns
March 21st 2011



7047 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

@Narshh, the review is pretty rough around the edges, sorry kid. Probably excusable for a first review, but one easy thing you can do is make sure you proofread proofread proofread.

Unlike a lot of people here in Pittsburgh, I think Mac Miller sucks ass. [2]
Everyone around campus here sucks Wiz and Miller's cocks so hard. I don't really care for either, though if I had to choose one, I guess I'd settle on Wiz.

JWT155
March 21st 2011



9220 Comments


Where do you go to school bro?

psykonaut
March 21st 2011



3913 Comments


yeah i really don't enjoy mac miller at all. my roommate listens to KIDS all the time though.

wiz, ash, this guy, they all suck [2]

iFghtffyrdmns
March 21st 2011



7047 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

oh cmon andcas you don't like anything if it doesn't have lead singer with an expensive haircut that falls so meticulously across his face
:]

and I'm a sophomore at Pitt jwt

Hawks
March 21st 2011



35638 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I guess I'm one of the only ones who likes Wiz haha. His new album just leaked so I'm gonna see how it is when I'm done with the new CunninLynguists.

JWT155
March 21st 2011



9220 Comments


I have a twin Bro who's a Junior at Pitt. Pitt's basically my 2nd home when I come home.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy