Grieves
88 Keys & Counting


3.0
good

Review

by KillYourRadio USER (4 Reviews)
March 15th, 2011 | 14 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Hybrids are great for a lot of things - does the theory hold for rap?

It's a weird world we live in these days - one where emo kids suddenly want to make rap records. I guess it's a testament to the "in" thing, which is musical diversity and hosting a wide range of musical taste and talent. That being said, it doesn't necessarily mean that these things translate musically or fit together as good as record execs seem to want them to. Grieves' debut album "88 Keys and Counting" is essentially the peninsula of South Africa, and Emo and Hip Hop are the Indian and Atlantic oceans slamming together.

The result is a record that feels a little overreaching, but one that isn't really all that bad either. The lyrics and piano lead beats are pretty repetitive, but Grieves has a flow that is pretty convincing and more than makes up for the shortcomings found throughout the rest of the album. October In The Graveyard is one of the standout tracks, and its the only one like it on the entire album - I definitely feel like Grieves should have focused on that darker and edgier atmosphere a little more.

Beyond October In The Graveyard, Gwenevieve is my absolute favorite song - and probably the saving grace of a 3 rating rather than a 2.5 - and should be a song that you grab regardless if you listen to the rest of the album. The song carries a heavy amount of emotion, a very solid beat and a nice guitar riff put down by Budo layered with Grieves best flow on the record. There are definitely several enjoyable pieces to 88 Keys, but overall it's difficult to imagine this gaining a lot of steam on its own (which explains why Grieves is on the national Warped Tour). I recommend checking it out if you're in hip hop but not really big on the gangster or mainstream rap side of things. Otherwise, you'll probably be looking at a disappointment in the grand scheme of things.

It's clear that Grieves definitely has musical talent, and as a rapper he is one of the better "blended" artists out there today. I think 88 Keys serves to show that two decidedly different influences for musical content can come together and fit halfway decently. I just don't buy into this new hybrid type of hip hop entirely yet, and Grieves doesn't do much to convince me that I should be seeking out more artists like him.


user ratings (46)
Chart.
3.6
great
related reviews

Together/Apart

Comments:Add a Comment 
iFghtffyrdmns
March 15th 2011


7047 Comments


tracklist plzzz

KillYourRadio
March 15th 2011


10 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm not sure what happened - I chose the one that had the art and tracklist already but for some reason the site created TWO different reviews for mine. Doesn't make any sense..

Tupik
March 15th 2011


673 Comments


This needs an introduction to who the artist is, as I'm sure not many people know him, it'd be nice to have some background.

Not a bad review, I think you could've gone a bit more in-depth though.

ButcheredChildren
March 15th 2011


5591 Comments


album was okay
this review needs some serious attention
if this were your child I doubt you'd want it being so thin and shallow

KillYourRadio
March 15th 2011


10 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Alright - finally it was corrected. I am not somebody who believes album reviews should be too in depth - the reason is I want to leave the reader to form their own opinion of the music rather than going into the album with a bias based on everything I say about every little detail.

I suppose I could have done more of a background on who Grieves is, I'll make sure to do that next time I review a lesser known artist.

Thanks for the feedback!

BigHans
March 15th 2011


26454 Comments


Mac Lethal says fuck Grieves

Tupik
March 15th 2011


673 Comments


Yes, but you don't really describe the music, how the album feels, it's a bit too superficial imo.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
March 15th 2011


7318 Comments


I am not somebody who believes album reviews should be too in depth - the reason is I want to leave the reader to form their own opinion of the music rather than going into the album with a bias based on everything I say about every little detail.

Erm, that's what reviews are for? To give your opinion? Js.

Digging: Portishead - Dummy

BallsToTheWall
March 15th 2011


44789 Comments


Been jamming to this lately.

Digging: Pink Turns Blue - If Two Worlds Kiss

KillYourRadio
March 15th 2011


10 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Tupik & Irving, thanks for the constructive criticism. I will definitely keep all that in mind the next time I write. Thanks!

Inveigh
March 15th 2011


25097 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Grieves makes some damn cool beats from time to time, but I don't really like his raps

plus, yeah, fuck Grieves

Digging: Hail Mary Mallon - Bestiary

BallsToTheWall
March 17th 2011


44789 Comments


Nature vs Nurture is so dope.

thedougler
November 2nd 2011


212 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

heart and soul right here

sixthgoldenticket
November 30th 2011


1176 Comments


pretty sure irreversible is his debut album. why does mac lethal hate grieves?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy