Defeater
Empty Days and Sleepless Nights


4.0
excellent

Review

by CrimsonSky USER (2 Reviews)
March 6th, 2011 | 28 replies | 4,470 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: "The Blood Between Us, Makes It All But True"

4 of 6 thought this review was well written

One of the most anticipated Hardcore albums this year finally came out, and I just finished listening to it. However, considering the quality of this band’s last studio album, does “Empty Days & Sleepless Nights” live up to the expectations? I guess I’ll just leave the answer to the end.

As everyone knows by now, this record continues with the same narrative lyricism that the band has introduced us to three years ago. The album opens with “Warm Blood Rush”, and the first sound we hear is Derek Archambault’s desperate screaming. His words are angry and wrathful, as the eccentric guitars come in and Andy’s crazy drumming makes the song heavier. Then, it just gets better when the song starts to build up its ending and it becomes noticeable that this album will be more melodic and the lyrics carry just as much emotion as in “Travels”.

“Dear Father” is next, with more deep lyrics, catchy guitar lines and a fast chorus filled with frustration and anxiety. At this point, the album began to grab me and make me curious about the next tracks. But it amazed me for the first time with “Empty Glass”, which is probably one of the best songs the band has ever written. I particularly love the way Derek shouts “Because there ain’t nothing like your smile, your legs and those eyes. And I will beg and steal and borrow to keep you safe your whole life”.

The story proceeds with melodic riffs, chord progressions and more aggressive vocals, reaching one of its highest peaks with “White Knuckles” (probably the best song of the album), and making its way until the abrupt ending in “White Oak Doors”.

Defeater definitely improved their musicianship and developed their sound, but the last four songs started to lack some creativity, and didn’t really add anything new to the rest of the album. Of those acoustic tracks, I felt like “Brothers” was the only one that should be in the album, which was a bit disappointing.

To conclude, this isn’t an extremely complex record but the Hardcore part is almost perfectly executed. On top of that, the well known clever lyrics from this band remain here, and some lines are unarguably memorable. As for the question that started this review, in my view “Empty Days & Sleepless Nights” is just as good as Defeater’s last work, the only main difference here is that they experimented more with their sound, which is still excellent nonetheless.


Recommended Tracks:

- Dear Father
- Empty Glass
- White Knuckles
- Quiet The Longing
- Brothers


user ratings (1158)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
devildriver
March 6th 2011



1 Comments


Good review, although i disagree with you about the acoustic songs

I Dont Mind is the only weak one in my opinion

ConsiderPhlebas
March 6th 2011



6157 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Derek Archambault’s desperately screaming angry and wrathful words




Words can't scream, no matter how angry and wrathful they are.

Tyrael
March 6th 2011



20798 Comments


If I am not mistaken this isn't out yet so it will probably get removed.

CrimsonSky
March 6th 2011



6 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ConsiderPhlebas thanks for that, i corrected it now.

CrackTheSkye
March 6th 2011



726 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

People are getting their pre-orders now (I have mine) & the download that comes with the pre-order was sent out last month.

BirdlikeSymmetry
March 6th 2011



237 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Really liking the minimalistic route the album art is taking. Also, great album. Really grew on me.

huskerdoo
March 6th 2011



226 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

So minimalistic

BirdlikeSymmetry
March 6th 2011



237 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I suppose, "the route of simplicity...", would make more sense.

huskerdoo
March 6th 2011



226 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

:thumb:

FromDaHood
Contributing Reviewer
March 6th 2011



9033 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

White Knuckles is so good.

porch
March 6th 2011



8453 Comments


you don't need to capitalise the word hardcore

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
March 6th 2011



23804 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

pretty bad review

CrimsonSky
March 6th 2011



6 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Pretty bad argument

First of all, you say it's bad but you don't even say why it is bad, criticising something without explaining the reason is stupid, as I'm shure you know.

And secondly, I'm not a native speaker so my english is not 100% accurate, and this is the first time i write something here.

I´m not saying I don't accept negative feedback. I do, seriously, as long as it is constructive.

CrazyDrummer4562
March 6th 2011



21 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

"The album opens with “Warm Blood Rush”, and in the first sound we hear is Derek Archambault’s desperately screaming."

This sentence makes no sense. Change or delete everything after the first comma. It should read more like "...the first sound we hear is blah blah's desperate screaming."

Even then, I'd look for some better words to describe his screaming. I don't see how it's desperate in any way, unless it's implied by the lyrics, which you should make clear.

Spec
March 6th 2011



27104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fucking five it you ignorant cunt!

Digging: Rinoa - An Age Among Them

Lambda
March 6th 2011



2417 Comments


Album art looks it could be the front of the same house from the "The Devil God Are Raging Inside Me" cover..

Digging: Dog Fashion Disco - Adultery

cvlts
March 6th 2011



8954 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

they rented it out

SloppyMilkshake
March 6th 2011



981 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Maybe it's a subliminal thing. That would explain the amount of fawning over this album.

FromDaHood
Contributing Reviewer
March 6th 2011



9033 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's not, there's no alcove in the door while there is on the TDAG cover

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
March 6th 2011



15607 Comments


Album art looks it could be the front of the same house from the "The Devil God Are Raging Inside Me" cover..


RUSHES IN. What? Did somebody say Brand New?

Digging: Low Roar - 0



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy