Scale the Summit
The Collective


4.5
superb

Review

by SatelliteYears USER (11 Reviews)
March 1st, 2011 | 41 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An instrumental epic.

Scale The Summit is a band that, no lie, I just started listening to a few days ago. I'm a huge fan of instrumental music when it's done right, and Scale the Summit is no exception.

For starters, EVERY instrument is audible, especially the bass, which takes the lead role in the opening song "Colossal". With all the bands nowadays who have inaudible bass guitar, Scale the Summit is a shining example of why the bass is important in metal. But it's not just the bass, it's everything about this band. It's bands like this, who are superior and technically proficient at what they do, that should get recognition. And unlike some instrumental bands who you'd prefer to have vocals, Scale the Summit doesn't need them.

Like Between the Buried and Me, there are abrupt time signatures and stylistic shifts, especially in the song "Whales" which is my favorite on the album. The guitar work is impeccable, and the strange thing is, this is a great album to chill to. It demands multiple listens to fully realize its value. It's not about individual songs-as an album, it's tremendous.

Now, this is an instrumental album, so obviously there are no vocals. But "The Collective" will take you on a trip, expressing a wide range of musical genres, but mainly staying in the progressive metal realm. The album expresses a wide range of emotions-it can be fun to cue each song to a part of your day, and it's definitely a good idea to wear headphones while listening to this album-you will discover new intricacies of this band with repeated listens.

If you like bands like BTBAM, Animals as Leaders, Dream Theater, Rush, or even the Sword (if you like The Sword, listen to "Black Hills") then you need to pick up this album. I for one will be listening to this all night.
It's one of the best progressive metal albums, front to back, that I've ever heard.



Recent reviews by this author
Of Mice and Men The FloodSaosin Translating the Name
Dead Letter Circus This Is The WarningFalling Up Your Sparkling Death Cometh
Funeral for a Friend Welcome Home ArmageddonThis Is Hell Misfortunes
user ratings (834)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
Tyler Cross (5)
Instrumental metal at its finest...

Thompson D. Gerhart STAFF (5)
Where's the conductor? There's got to be a conductor for this type of thing....

Eli EMERITUS (4)
Scale the Summit continue carving out their niche in the instrumental metal world, creating an album...


Comments:Add a Comment 
SatelliteYears
March 1st 2011


190 Comments


It's hard for me to describe progressive music, as I'm not able to play any instruments myself. But I hope you enjoy the review. It's a truly beautiful album.

Short review I know, but I didn't want to be super redundant.

cvlts
March 1st 2011


8960 Comments


track listing plz

Scoot
March 1st 2011


17770 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

one of the best of the year so far

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
March 1st 2011


31215 Comments


Great way to start off your review

Scale The Summit is a band


Digging: LV and Joshua Idehen - Islands

Static
March 1st 2011


2188 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

^

lol

Digging: georgerolandallen - swagbob

Scoot
March 1st 2011


17770 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

lol [2]

FeralMemories
March 1st 2011


680 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Albums is so awesome. But for some reason, Carving Desert Canyons just seems more... memorable.

BigTuna
March 1st 2011


5158 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

way too much lead and incredibly average imo

Digging: Big Boi - Sir Lucious Left Foot

beefshoes
March 1st 2011


4029 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Big Tuna is incredibly average.

This is the best metal album of the year so far.
I really don't get all of the comparisons to Between The Buried And Me though.
They have never really conveyed as much emotion and diversity as effectively as this album does.

Digging: Ulver - Blood Inside

BigTuna
March 1st 2011


5158 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

There's just nothing to separate this band from anyone. I wanted to love this but it's pretty forgettable.

bloc
March 1st 2011


34872 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

One of the best of the year so far

Kubrick
March 1st 2011


746 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've listened to this about four times so far and I definitely agree that this is an album that really takes some time to fully appreciate. I wasn't that into it at first... yeah it sounded very pretty but I felt myself losing attention as the songs came and went without anything really changing stylistically. After a few more spins I'm starting to catch the intricacies of each song and it's definitely more enjoyable, but I still feel like theres a few on here that haven't made an impression on me yet.

The one thing that I think this album really needs is more moments that break out of that pretty, smooth, melodic lead material and really hit you hard with some riffage. A really good example is the opening minute or two of Gallows. As soon as I feel myself starting to enter into that state of lost focus due to a lot of the similar aesthetics from the previous songs, Gallows opens and immediately grabs my attention and gets my head bobbing. I feel so far that moments like that are far too few on the album. I'm still enjoying it though. The guitar work is very nice.

beefshoes
March 1st 2011


4029 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

The bass playing on this album is insane.
I love the mix on this album too.

DoubtGin
March 1st 2011


6752 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

hopefully better than their last one which was average

bloc
March 1st 2011


34872 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I think the mix on this album is miles ahead of the mix on Carving; you could barely hear the bass on that album.

Kubrick
March 1st 2011


746 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah I agree the production is pristine as hell.

DoubtGin
March 1st 2011


6752 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nice, the production was one of the reasons I didn't like the last album.. I like my bass on prog metal albums

sexpoi
March 1st 2011


599 Comments


i actually remember being able to hear the bass quite well on cdc. this album is going to be sick though! i already have it now i just have to go home and listen to it

WhiteWallStargazers
March 1st 2011


2647 Comments


This is soooooo gooood!

kingjulian
March 1st 2011


1297 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Can't wait to pick this up today. Listened to the samples on iTunes and it seems a lot less repetitive than CDC (like how that album was CONSTANTLY in 3/4 or 6/8 with all the riffs doing the same pattern). Review is alright; I wish there was more detail.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy