Coldworld
Melancholie


5.0
classic

Review

by fr33convict USER (10 Reviews)
February 23rd, 2011 | 69 replies


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Creating a stellar atmosphere like no other album, Melancholie is Georg Börner’s epic atmospheric black metal creation.

Black metal is one of those genres I could just never find myself getting into. The staples of black metal: tremolo-picked guitars, blast beats, and shrieks, all felt like they were just adding to the noise and making the resulting product feel like one big, depressing mess. This was my mindset until this winter. I began to struggle with depression and my outlook on life became much bleaker than it had been previously. Coincedently, I found Coldworld’s Melancholie at this time. A perfect channeling of the emotional turmoil I was going through, this album alone is the reason I was able to work into the genre I so long rejected. As I watched the snowfall pour down from the heavens outside this album grabbed me on an emotional level and became the soundtrack to my winter.

Starting with what impressed me the most, the atmosphere created by this record is second to none. Melancholie succeeds at sounding haunting and bleak while simultaneously beautiful. Rather than sounding gimmicky like most comparable black metal projects, every arrangement on Melancholie seems perfectly built to maximize its impact on the listener. The lush and vibrant string samples and keyboards perfectly compliment the dark guitar riffs and tortured shrieks and surprisingly effective muddy and lo-fi production, resulting in one of the most depressingly bleak atmospheres I’ve ever heard. Never before had a black metal album put me in the trance-like state this album seems to effortlessly create.

The vocal performance on this album is amongst the finest in the genre. George’s shriek is simply phenomenal. His scream is definitely in the higher register, yet strays away from the ear-piercingly high shrieks of found on albums such as Dusk… and Her Embrace. He succeeds at sounding tortured and depressed enough for you to feel the agony he’s going through, yet remaining completely listenable for those of who aren’t die-hard black metal fans.

The instrumental work is also incredibly well done. The riffs feel perfectly created to help bring the dark atmosphere to a whole new level. The repetition of parts perfectly puts the listener in a trance while never feeling overtly boring or unnecessary. The drums, while incredibly simple, are unbelievably effective. Even though they typically hold up a simple slower beat or basic blast, they seem designed that way as opposed to sounding underdeveloped in comparison to rest of the instruments to take full advantage of Melancholie’s slow and deliberate pace.

Overall, Melancholie is simply phenomenal. From the flawlessly created atmosphere to the perfect instrumental and vocal performance, Georg Börner has created an album similar to what most would expect from a veteran making excellent albums for many years rather than his LP. If he can keep this up, Coldworld could easily become a force to be reckoned with inside the black metal universe. And I’m eagerly awaiting that day.



Recent reviews by this author
Skillet AwakeAs Tall As Lions As Tall As Lions
My Chemical Romance Danger Days...Alter Bridge AB III
My Chemical Romance I Brought You My Bullets...Anberlin Dark Is the Way, Light Is a Place
user ratings (222)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
Cam EMERITUS (4)
the sun is just a dream...


Comments:Add a Comment 
fr33convict
February 23rd 2011


11697 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yay 10 reviews. This one's for Hawks

Lakes2
February 23rd 2011


206 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I agree so much with this review. Good job. Have a pos.

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
February 23rd 2011


8937 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

hawks will be proud!!

fr33convict
February 23rd 2011


11697 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Oh thanks. Do you have any advice or things you think need fixed?

Hawks
February 23rd 2011


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Hell yes this is for me! Haha nice review man. My favorite black metal album right here.

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
February 23rd 2011


16137 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Cool beans.

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
February 23rd 2011


8937 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Oh thanks. Do you have any advice or things you think need fixed?


don't think you were asking me, but nope - just keep developing your style as you read, you're pretty damn good as it stands :]

Hawks
February 23rd 2011


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Only thing I noticed about the review was that you didn't put all the album names you mentioned in italics. That's the only thing you should fix really.

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
February 23rd 2011


8937 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The vocal performance on this album is amongst the finest in the genre. George’s shriek is simply phenomenal. His scream is definitely in the higher register, yet strays away from the ear-piercingly high shrieks of found on albums such as Dusk… and Her Embrace. He succeeds at sounding tortured and depressed enough for you to feel the agony he’s going through, yet remaining completely listenable for those of who aren’t die-hard black metal fans.

lol i really disagree with you here, I find his vocals pretty appalling throughout the album

but it's well written, and it's all opinion - have a pos. :]

fr33convict
February 23rd 2011


11697 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

don't think you were asking me, but nope - just keep developing your style as you read, you're pretty damn good as it stands :]
I was just asking in general since I typically make a lot of grammatical errors. Thanks dude.

Oh and fixed the italics.

Hawks
February 23rd 2011


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Whaaaaat? His vocals slay man. Come on!

Bitchfork
February 23rd 2011


7584 Comments


The first paragraph is why you need more bm mr goodenough

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
February 23rd 2011


8937 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Whaaaaat? His vocals slay man. Come on!


sorry man but I think they're the weakest point of the album easily

it's why my favourite track is the last one :[

fr33convict
February 23rd 2011


11697 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@Bitchfork: The first paragraph was basically me four months ago before this. I don't feel that
way anymore.

Oh and thanks for this Hawks

Hawks
February 23rd 2011


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Noctus you disappoint me. And Free, glad I could help you.

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
February 23rd 2011


8937 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah well I'm disappointed you don't love marrow more

THERE I SAID IT

but it's cool man because you're still a bro to me :]

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
February 23rd 2011


23970 Comments


woah mad 5s all up in this bitch

I don't even listen to much Black Metal and I'm considering checking this out...

Digging: Taylor Swift - 1989

fr33convict
February 23rd 2011


11697 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

sputnikbros4lyfe

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
February 23rd 2011


8937 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Aids: nothing to lose man. this definitely isn't bad at all, in fact it's pretty great.

Hawks
February 23rd 2011


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Lol amen Noctus.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy