Yes
Union


2.5
average

Review

by Matthijs van der Lee USER (219 Reviews)
February 22nd, 2011 | 43 replies | 9,946 views


Release Date: 1991 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Yes try standing up and get halfway there.

5 of 5 thought this review was well written

Everything about Union aims to be accessible to the entire spectrum of Yes fans: the core group they built up during their classic progressive period was partly alienated when they chose to pursuit pop music during the 80’s, although the formula that created Owner of a Lonely Heart certainly introduced them to a whole new generation at the same time. Bringing together the separate Yes movement, Anderson Bruford Wakeman Howe (who weren’t allowed to use the band name since Squire owned it in part), and the current band with Trevor Rabin and Tony Kaye, Union was fittingly titled indeed (it even carried, for the first time since Drama, a Roger Dean cover). It also made Yes a big act again, with both sides of their fans, as following tour proved to be very fruitful. The album in itself is however of little comparison to the Close to the Edges of their career.

What makes Union unsuccessful as an album is simply the same thing that fuelled its existence: the uneven combination of Yes musicians from two radically different eras. The two didn’t match for obvious reasons, and created a lengthy, quite messy collection of songs that mostly range from half-hearted progressive tracks to poppy tunes that were, once again, stretched to a fault. There’s a few gems around that save the record from being poor altogether. With its lovely harmonies, I Would Have Waited Forever would have been perfect for 90125, while Shock to the System manages to actually rock a bit. As most of the good tracks are found near its beginning, Union does quickly become a bore. Its sound is still drenched in that 80’s production, despite being released in ’91, and while the merge of old and new band members ignited something that easily puts the album above the tiring, forced nature of Big Generator, its musical success as a Yes album remains rather limited.

Union’s Yes was:

- John Roy Anderson ~ Lead Vocals
- Stephen James Howe ~ Guitar, Backing Vocals
- Trevor Charles Rabin ~ Guitar, Backing Vocals
- Christopher Russell Squire ~ Bass Guitar, Backing Vocals
- Anthony John Selvidge ~ Keyboards, Backing Vocals
- Richard Christopher Wakeman ~ Keyboards
- William Scott Bruford ~ Drums
- Alan White ~ Drums, Backing Vocals


TO BE CONTINUED...




Recent reviews by this author
Genesis Calling All StationsGenesis We Can't Dance
Genesis Invisible TouchGenesis Genesis
Genesis AbacabGenesis Duke
user ratings (140)
Chart.
2.3
average

Comments:Add a Comment 
Nagrarok
February 22nd 2011



8169 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Not up to my usual tempo, but as promised, here's some more of that Yes. Beginning to like these shorties.

WatchItExplode
February 22nd 2011



3203 Comments


Never cared that much for yes but I love that avatar Nag.

Tyrael
February 22nd 2011



20729 Comments


Yes, finally! Yes yes yes yes!

Nagrarok
February 22nd 2011



8169 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

yes indeed

Thank you WatchIt.

Tyrael
February 22nd 2011



20729 Comments


Short reviews generally leave me uninpressed, but this was a welcome exception to the rule.

Nagrarok
February 22nd 2011



8169 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I thank you.

tiesthatbind
February 22nd 2011



7371 Comments


Short and to the point can be great, especially in discography reviews. I'm trying to move closer to this style myself if I take on a discography again.

Digging: Anberlin - Lowborn

scissorlocked
February 22nd 2011



3508 Comments


short reviews are always preferable, and this one is good

pos'd

Digging: John Roberts - Ausio

Counterfeit
February 22nd 2011



17819 Comments


Matthijs is the master of the short review.

scissorlocked
February 22nd 2011



3508 Comments


yeah,there are pretty useful,specially in sputnik where you can be lost in tons of reviews

Jethro42
February 22nd 2011



12376 Comments


Really not interested in listening to this but I will do by curiousity.
Another good one, Nag.
Another Dean's cover art, YaY.

Nagrarok
February 22nd 2011



8169 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Much appreciated everyone.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
February 22nd 2011



7140 Comments


Great review. Pos.

Also, the summary reads like a threat, lol.

vanderb0b
February 22nd 2011



3473 Comments


Really nice review, as usual. Never really listened to much of the band's post-Relayer material, something tells me that I'm not missing much.

Nagrarok
February 22nd 2011



8169 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Also, the summary reads like a threat, lol.


Haha, really?

Never really listened to much of the band's post-Relayer material, something tells me that I'm not missing much.


Going for the One is pretty great, Drama is even better. 90125 is nice if you don't mind pop. After that it isn't all that notable any more.

Thanks both.

Nagrarok
February 22nd 2011



8169 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

It's not among their best or anything, but it holds up pretty well.

Jethro42
February 22nd 2011



12376 Comments


@vanderb0b; You still have Drama (...like what Nag just said) and also Keystudio wich is all the studio tracks found in their live Keys Ascension I and II and you also got some scattered great songs here and there, like 'Homeworld' (The Ladder) for instance.
Taken from Keystudio (2001):
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wiCZAjn9-Pc
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b1GI8Q6n9nY
The live version of this (audio-visual) is also available on youtube.







vanderb0b
February 22nd 2011



3473 Comments


Awesome videos, I'll have to check out those albums.

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
February 22nd 2011



16134 Comments


Who would've guessed old Yes + new Yes = boring Yes?

Well, me, but that's beside the point. Good review dude.

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
February 22nd 2011



16134 Comments


I got a vintage Yes tour shirt from the '70s. Pretty tight.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy