Disturbed
Asylum


4.0
excellent

Review

by Darion Paone USER (71 Reviews)
February 21st, 2011 | 36 replies | 4,562 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Disturbed blends the sound of their past four records and somehow sound better than ever.

4 of 4 thought this review was well written

Pretty much everyone who listens to hard rock and metal knows of or listens to Disturbed. Even back when frontmant David Draiman wasn't a skin-head, and Fuzz didn't have a broken leg, these guys packed a serious punch with every performance. Their debut record, "The Sickness", was chock full of good listens, including album single "Down with the Sickness". However, since their sophomore album "Believe", I had yet to see an overarching sound that was both great enough to headband to and emotional enough to reach out to all crowds. "Asylum", the band's latest release, puts to rest my troubled thoughts of "where's my emotional yet heavy rock at?!"

For starters (which is a fitting term, seeing as how we're starting at the start of the album...), the opening track "Remnants" is an instrumental - the band's first ever, mind you - and sets the mood quite clearly for the entire album. The instrumental does a great job of building the tension and leading into the title track, which absolutely blows away any preconceptions you had about what the album might sound like. What's best is that it's not one of those "Blagh I want to skip this and just get to the real song" instrumentals - they really fit together! The excellent guitar and steady drum beat of both tracks may remind you of the instrument work of "Indestructible" single "Inside the Fire", and Draiman's vocals are crisp, rough, and quite welcome, working as a strange fusion of the bitter sound from Disturbed's debut and that of their 2006 release "Ten Thousand Fists", which works brilliantly and shows the progression of the band.

"Another Way to Die" and "Serpentine" are amongst two of my favourite tracks from this record because the emotional, introspective vocals fit like a glove over the absolutely incredible instrument work.*If you liked the riffs of "Believe" or "Indestructible" (or both), you'll be right at home here with the instrument work of "Asylum". How Disturbed managed to blend together the sounds of two radically different-sounding records and make it sound better than either one is beyond me, but then again, I don't question the music - I just write reviews for it. My only gripes with this record is that, for some inexplicable reason, I'm not ridiculously attached to it. It doesn't have the same replayability as other albums. Even if I listen to one or two tracks off of it here and there, it's not the same as listening to the whole album and actually enjoying it. A run every now and then can be quite the experience, and it certainly brings me back to my younger years, when I though Disturbed was one of the heaviest bands in existence, but it's not something I do often. More specifically, the lyrical meaning behind "Never Again" seems rather unnecessary. It's quite ridiculous to be singing about the Holocaust being real when pretty much everyone who isn't completely insane knows it wasn't faked. However, all that being said...

Everything about the band has evolved. Drumwork, guitarwork, vocals, songwriting - take your pick. You'll find both nostalgic bits that bring you back to past records and new, mind-blowingly amazing content within the walls of this asylum. Draiman proves that his lyrics can retain a thematic emotion and still blend perfectly with a heavy arsenal of guitar and drum beats. Props to you, Disturbed. You're definitely on the right track.

Enjoy the record, guys.



Recent reviews by this author
Deicide In the Minds of EvilHell:On Hunt
All Pigs Must Die Nothing Violates This NatureLycus Tempest
Circle of Silence The Rise of ResistanceAzure Emote The Gravity of Impermanence
user ratings (838)
Chart.
2.8
good
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
February 21st 2011



8221 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good review, a few minor grammar slips here and there but overall solid work. One thing: put album titles into italics ([i ] text [ /I] without the spaces in between) and songs between quotation marks.

Digging: Metsatoll - Karjajuht

Tyrael
February 21st 2011



20394 Comments


Strange, the reason that people don't like this album is because it lacks the evolution they went through between their previous albums leading up to the fantastic Indestructable. Still, this was a good review.

Digging: Lantlos - Melting Sun

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
February 21st 2011



8221 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Strange, the reason that people don't like this album is because it lacks the evolution they went through between their previous albums leading up to the fantastic Indestructable.
Yeah I agree with this because when excluding the instrumental track, there isn't anything that I'd say is new here, it's just Disturbed doing their own thing well once more.

Tyrael
February 21st 2011



20394 Comments


I just found it weird that this guy says that Asylum is an evolution for the band while I feel that only the guitar work has improved a bit. I still think this band gets a little too much hate because of their more commercial approach but that's just me.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
February 21st 2011



8221 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Mhm, it's basically Indestructible vol.2 sound-wise. And I agree that this band gets too much hate. Disturbed is a great gateway metal band.

Pr0nogo
February 21st 2011



352 Comments


Good review, a few minor grammar slips here and there but overall solid work. One thing: put album titles into italics ([i ] text [ /I] without the spaces in between) and songs between quotation marks


Yeah, I wrote this whole review on my iTouch. That's why there are grammar mishaps and the like.

I just found it weird that this guy says that Asylum is an evolution for the band while I feel that only the guitar work has improved a bit.


Draiman's vocals have improved since "Indestructible" in that they fit the theme of the album across all of the tracks. The same goes for the rest of the instruments, and the special effects doesn't seem forced or out of place when they play live like it has in the past.

Mewcopa0
February 21st 2011



1792 Comments


This album sucked so bad it hurts to think about it...

Pr0nogo
February 21st 2011



352 Comments


This album sucked so bad it hurts to think about it...


Got any reasoning behind your claim?

greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 21st 2011



7159 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This isn't their best, but I mostly agree with you being a huge Disturbed fan(boy). Pos'd.

Digging: Triptykon - Melana Chasmata

Tyrael
February 21st 2011



20394 Comments


Yeah well they're a commercial band, don't put your standards too high...

Pr0nogo
February 21st 2011



352 Comments


Yeah well they're a commercial band, don't put your standards too high...

Slipknot's a commercial band. Many people still like them.

Pr0nogo
February 21st 2011



352 Comments


no one likes slipknot anymore silly.


I wish.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 21st 2011



6731 Comments


good review, dont really listen to this as much as indestructible.

Tyrael
February 22nd 2011



20394 Comments


no one likes slipknot anymore silly

I do. Kill me.

Jesuslaves
February 22nd 2011



4572 Comments


Believe for life

fr33convict
February 22nd 2011



11678 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

ugh this album. pos'd anyway.

Pr0nogo
February 22nd 2011



352 Comments


ugh this album. pos'd anyway.


While I appreciate the pos, why'd you do it? Was it the quality of the review? I'm just wondering.

fr33convict
February 22nd 2011



11678 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

While I appreciate the pos, why'd you do it? Was it the quality of the review? I'm just wondering.
I disagree with the review. In my opinion this is the only bad album they've ever put out and is a regression in almost every way. I didn't pos because I agreed, I pos'd because you did a good job of defending this album.

sunofnothing13
February 22nd 2011



61 Comments


Disturbed hasn't put anything good out since The Sickness. Everything else is crap.

fr33convict
February 22nd 2011



11678 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Indestructible was my favorite album from them. And while the stand-outs are basically all of their best songs, The Sickness also had the most awful filler.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy