Stench of Decay
Where Death and Decay Reign


4.0
excellent

Review

by Ross22 USER (2 Reviews)
February 17th, 2011 | 45 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist


Hailing from Finland, the members of Stench of Decay bring the token “Old School Death Metal” sound into the 21st century with Where Death and Decay Reign. Though Stench of Decay aren’t exactly expounding upon what the genre known as Death Metal has already produced, they certainly warrant some attention. Jussi Rajala provides both rhythm guitar and vocals for the band, and he doesn’t disappoint. His vocals aren’t exactly unique, which is expected with most all death metal bands, but they certainly get the job done accompanying the catchy, Convulse-like, riffs played by both Jussi and the lead guitarist Rami Simelius. Rami’s playing is the definition of solid, his riffs are always catchy and his guitar solo’s will take you back to the 90’s, what more could you ask for?

Markus Hietamies sits behind the kit for Stench of Decay, and his drumming does anything but disappoint. The tasteful fills played in Creation of Carnal Lust are only one example of his drumming prowess. Markus’ playing exceptionally compliments that of his band mates, while never taking centre stage but never falling short. However, this cannot be said for bassist, Tommi Sookari, unfortunately the bass is barely at all audible and on an “Old School Death Metal” record, a healthy dose of bass is a must have. I do not know if this was a decision made by the label or the band itself, but either way it hurts the demo.

At the beginning of Into the Depths of Madness the same catchy guitar riff from the previous song, Creation of Carnal Lust, is repeated for a couple of bars, then is replaced by an even catchier modification to the original riff. Some may find this repetitive but I have no problem with this, they mislead the listener and then provide an even stronger riff to back them up. The rest of the tracks play out in a similar fashion, catchy riffs, catchy vocals, strong percussion section, barely audible bass, though they are by no means weak, they just provide the same elements the first two do. However, the third track is an Abhorrence cover, did I mention we were back in the 90’s yet?

Ultimately, Where Death and Decay Reign is an excellent demo from such a young band, but is held back due to the fact that only three original songs are present on the demo, and the lack of audible bass. However, Where Death and Decay Reign is definitely a release to be noted in today’s metal scene, and is the definition of an overlooked record.


user ratings (34)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Crysis
Staff Reviewer
February 17th 2011


16434 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is a demo, not an LP or EP. You call it both in the last paragraph. This is also not their debut anything, they released a previous demo in 2005.

That said, can't wait for an LP by these guys.

Digging: Swallowed - Lunarterial

Ross22
February 17th 2011


1596 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

orly? couldn't find any info on that my bad

Ross22
February 17th 2011


1596 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

and I share your sentiments about an LP.

ShadowRemains
February 17th 2011


21042 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That said, can't wait for an LP by these guys.


123, this slays


Digging: Execration (NOR) - Morbid Dimensions

Ross22
February 17th 2011


1596 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Totally

R6Rider
February 17th 2011


4679 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

good one Ross

will check out as soon as I can get myself to stop listening to Alcest

Digging: Diocletian - Gesundrian

Ross22
February 17th 2011


1596 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ty, took me like an hour.

DeafMetal
February 17th 2011


8588 Comments


this needed it, very good review man. really promising band

rasputin
February 18th 2011


14550 Comments


this was the second best dm demo of 2009

awesome record, for sure

Ross22
February 18th 2011


1596 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Do you guys agree with what I said about the record, or am I totally off base? Plus this is a record that's awesome to get jacked to.

ShadowRemains
February 18th 2011


21042 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i'd compare the riffs more to Convulse than Incantation, but overall it says what needs to be said

Ross22
February 18th 2011


1596 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, that actually makes more sense, was trying to pick a band on the fly, ty.

ShadowRemains
February 18th 2011


21042 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oh and put a dash in between "Convulse" and "like"

Ross22
February 18th 2011


1596 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

gotcha, didn't know if that would fuck with the script or not

ShadowRemains
February 18th 2011


21042 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

...and add the "l" back in "like" and delete the spaces between the dash :p

Ross22
February 18th 2011


1596 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

god i suck on laptops, wrote this on a pc, haha

rasputin
February 18th 2011


14550 Comments


if you want some criticism, i'll say that the review comes off a bit noobish because you don't really talk about finnish death metal at all. sure this is old school death metal, and this demo is part of its 'revival', but maybe a bit about its specific Finnish influences and how it measures to Finnish death metal in the past and in the present would be good. or at least that's what i would talk a bit about if i were to review this.

jingledeath
February 18th 2011


7104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Love this demo, the title track is a beast. There's a new Ep coming out some time this year, can't fucking waaaaait.

Ross22
February 18th 2011


1596 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah but you're rasputin n stuff, and it's only my second review, on my first review I was told I gave too much background info, and since this was only a demo and I had some time to waste I thought I'd just write a quick review.

Ross22
February 18th 2011


1596 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah jingle, the new record sounds awesome, at least the track they released on myspace does.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy