Sky's The Limit
Sky's The Limit


4.0
excellent

Review

by Phideaux USER (6 Reviews)
February 1st, 2011 | 17 replies


Release Date: 1998 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Make it seem like it was yesterday, but we've come a long way.

Mae singer/ guitarist, Dave Elkins’ pre-Mae project, Sky’s The Limit played a series of local shows and recorded an album between 1998 to 2001. Nearly ten years after the initial recording, the band’s debut album is widely available. Sky’s The Limit shares many similarities with Mae’s Destination: Beautiful as Dave wrote for both projects simultaneously. Sky’s The Limit is filled with layered guitars, deceptively simple melodies, and even shares the song, Skyline Drive with Mae’s debut release.

Dave’s pre-Mae band differs in that, due to the fact that it was recorded on a small budget, there is much less production, giving the album a much rawer sound. In addition, Where Destination: Beautiful was characterized by its cleanly layered guitars; Sky’s The Limit’s sound is much denser and more heavily distorted. Overall, the sound creates much more tangible energy than what is found on Mae’s debut. The album is also very instrumentally focused, not only more so than Mae, but more than just about any band in the genre. Five of the album's eleven tracks clock in at over five minutes. Sky’s The Limit is filled to the brim with extended instrumental sections and even includes an entirely instrumental track, 12.31.99 (Us vs Them). In Dave Elkins’ future releases with Mae the vocals take much more of the spotlight and are actually of much higher quality than the vocals on Sky’s The Limit. However, the guitar on this album is arguably the best thing about the album and is absolutely terrific, even when compared to some of Mae’s best work.

Some of the best guitar on the album comes from A Song For Kate. The song starts with a restrained guitar riff and softly sung vocals before exploding into a much heavier chorus. This song is the best example on the album of the clean, transparent sound on Mae’s debut mixed with heavier distorted guitars that are much more prevalent on this album. Nostalgia is another highlight of the album, beginning with more than a minute of just guitar and drums before the vocals even come in. The song displays a great laid back feel, despite having a livelier chorus, before shifting gears for a completely different second half, making it the most dynamic song on the album.

Sky’s The Limit shows a great deal of Dave’s potential that he explored in Mae. The album is different enough from Mae’s debut to be a great stand alone album and contains more of Mae’s signature brand of honestly simple yet emotionally moving lyrics. Sky’s The Limit is a great listen and is perfect for anybody who wishes Mae would’ve stuck around a little bit longer.



Recent reviews by this author
Arcane Roots Left FireSilverchair Diorama
Aereogramme Sleep and ReleaseRyan Shupe & The RubberBand Dream Big
Shaimus The Sad Thing is, We Like it Here
user ratings (3)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Phideaux
February 1st 2011


1656 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh, and this is free:

http://spartanrecords.bandcamp.com/

Xenophanes
Emeritus
February 1st 2011


10663 Comments


THE LIMIT DOES NOT EXIST!

Digging: Blut Aus Nord - Memoria Vetusta III - Saturnian Poetry

Xenophanes
Emeritus
February 1st 2011


10663 Comments


Mean Girls quote, excuse me while I stick a brick up my ass.

Eko
February 1st 2011


2119 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

wow i added this to the database like yesterday and a review gets posted. was think of reviewing this myself, its great stuff. ive only heard destination beautiful once but i think i like this better than it.

Eko
February 1st 2011


2119 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oh and pos of course, review was spot on.

Phideaux
February 2nd 2011


1656 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah. I first heard this on Friday and wanted to write a review for it. When it was added to the database I was actually worried someone was gonna beat me to it. Ha ha.

And I agree that this is better than Destination: Beautiful. I mae even up my rating.

@Xenophanes: Sorry, never seen Mean Girls...

You should check this out though.


Oh and spread the word guys. This is free so there's no reason for people not to be listening to this.

Eko
February 2nd 2011


2119 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this grew on me a lot. went from like 2.5 to high 3.5 in a couple of days.

Phideaux
February 2nd 2011


1656 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is definitely way better than a 2.5. I was pleasantly surprised.

As far as this and Mae goes I think:

The Everglow > (e)vening > Sky's the Limit > (m)orning > Destination: Beautiful > Singularity.

And I actually think Singularity is good. I haven't heard (a)fternoon yet.

Nikkolae
February 2nd 2011


4870 Comments


This sounds rather promissing

Digging: Modern Witch - Unknown Domain

Eko
February 2nd 2011


2119 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

im the only mae fan that doesnt flip over the everglow so i would go

(e)vening > (m)orning > everglow = this = (a)fternoon > destination beautiful

havent heard singularity.

here comes the "whats not to love about the everglow?"

Phideaux
February 3rd 2011


1656 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've always liked The Everglow. Especially after I really bit into the concept of it. Its probably my favorite album. Its one of those special-place-in-my-heart-deeply-emotional-blah-blah-whatever albums for me.

And I definitely think Singularity is underrated. It's not as good as the rest of Mae's stuff, but it's pretty good. It just sounds more radio pop-ish. I don't understand why people hate it so much.

But seriously man, seriously. Whats not to love about The Everglow? Just let go and fall into it.

Eko
February 3rd 2011


2119 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i think its a little straightforward. its just never connected with me. its a great album, dont get me wrong, but i favor their sort of progressivey stuff on morning and evening just rules. need to hear singularity.

Phideaux
February 3rd 2011


1656 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like morning and evening a lot too. Especially evening. I listened to that so much. I hope they reunite and put out another album some day.

Eko
February 3rd 2011


2119 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah. heads up everyone, tomorrows the last day for free download of this.

Eko
July 5th 2011


2119 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

listened to this again for the first time in a while, wow is it good. chance it could go up to 4.5.

Phideaux
July 8th 2011


1656 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah. Album is really quite good. It's too bad this has never really gotten any attention.

bakkermaarten007
December 8th 2012


3686 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This album leans way more to emo than most of Mae fans will ever know.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy