Miles Davis
Jack Johnson


4.5
superb

Review

by Alex Robertson STAFF
February 1st, 2011 | 19 replies


Release Date: 1970 | Tracklist


Listen to A Tribute to Jack Johnson and hear, like, six people tear shit up, sometimes at the same time. “Right Off” was supposedly an accident (a jam started by guitarist John McLaughlin, bassist Michael Henderson, and drummer Billy Cobham that Miles Davis suddenly rushed in the studio to play on), but what a gorgeous accident; Herbie fucking Hancock was just “in the building” and sort of walked in and sat down and just destroyed it with the nastiest organ sound known to man. Oops.

Okay, so yeah, this review--after only two sentences--has surely been the most hyperbolic and informal I’ve yet committed to paper (or computer, or whatever), but isn’t “Right Off” the most hyperbolic and informal music can get? For twenty-six minutes, Miles and co. run through the most complex, rugged solos of their career, all while creating a musical background that presents itself as both entrancing and surprisingly raucous.

“Yesternow,” for the most part, is considerably quieter and more interested in the spaces between notes (as much of Kind of Blue was)--especially evident not only in its spare beginning section but also in its sample of 1969’s In a Silent Way, an album that could be considered “ambient jazz,” a little more than halfway through. In its own way, though, “Yesternow” is just as blissfully ridiculous as the preceding track, with the band doing as much as it can with, say, a James Brown bassline, or a funk guitar riff. On A Tribute to Jack Johnson, we see this happen over and over again: the band takes small amounts of something, and turns them into overwhelmingly large amounts of everything. And, of course, when the band wreck it like they do here, this vast “everything” sounds pretty fucking awesome.



Recent reviews by this author
Teebs E S T A R ATabu Ley Rochereau The Voice of Lightness: Congo Classics 1961-1977
Julia Holter Loud City SongNara Leao Dez Anos Depois
Thelonious Monk Thelonious Monk TrioZahava Seewald and Michael Grebil From My Mother's House
user ratings (256)
Chart.
4.3
superb
other reviews of this album
Miguel Walter (5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
robertsona
Staff Reviewer
February 1st 2011


15050 Comments


this review is dumb

AggravatedYeti
February 1st 2011


7685 Comments


only jazz record I have on vinyl jyeah.
nice review Alex.

vanderb0b
February 1st 2011


3473 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Herbie Hancock, Davis, and McLaughlin all on the same song? No fuckin' way, I need to get this asap. Review is informal as hell, but that doesn't hurt it, and you get the point across really well. Pos'd

kygermo
February 1st 2011


996 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Good review mainly because the music is incredibly difficult to put into words! Nothing is better than when Miles appears about 2 minutes into Right Off, and it just rules from there! Have a pos.

cvlts
February 1st 2011


8967 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i could write about this record for days, absolutely perfect.

review gets the job done though, good job.

Xenophanes
Emeritus
February 1st 2011


10611 Comments


Fun review; nice job.

Digging: Kayo Dot - Coffins On Io

Jethro42
February 1st 2011


12478 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Fantastic album. One of those that got me into Jazz, couple of decades ago.

Chrisjon89
February 1st 2011


3731 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good review, I love the album. Yesternow is a bit awkward for me - the first 8 minutes or so where they jam on that bass riff is a bit tedious I think and then the 'Shh/Peaceful' edit feels weird but the last half is great, especially the end.

Digging: Flying Lotus - You're Dead!

Douglas
February 1st 2011


9115 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

fuck yus

Digging: The Preatures - Blue Planet Eyes

thebhoy
Emeritus
February 1st 2011


4461 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

fuck yus [2]

liledman
February 1st 2011


3826 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the most complex, rugged solos of their career


maybe the most rugged, wouldnt say most complex, but i appreciate the rest of the hyperbole in the review just fine.

NeutralThunder12
February 2nd 2011


8742 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

my favorite jazz album of all time

great review

conradtao
Emeritus
February 2nd 2011


2090 Comments


review is all kinds of awesome alex 8D

Enotron
February 2nd 2011


7695 Comments


yerr i need this

Deathcar
February 2nd 2011


1534 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Anyone with ears needs to get this.

Douglas
February 2nd 2011


9115 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is probably right now my favourite review on this site.

YoYoMancuso
April 8th 2014


11149 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this absolutely rips

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
April 27th 2014


16056 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

awesome

Digging: Lo-Pan - Colossus

DikkoZinner
June 30th 2014


3278 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

[2]



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy