Moodie Black
Sana Sana


3.5
great

Review

by Sobhi Youssef EMERITUS
January 31st, 2011 | 24 replies | 11,466 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: No longer Dalek-lite

K. describes his creations as "Static-laden Black Shit" on his website. This is no stretch from the truth, as Sana Sana is a bleak, dystopian vision of hip-hop, improving upon nearly everything that made his 2009 debut unpolished. Declaring oneself a practitioner of a new sub-genre is a bold and typically requires innovation to some degree. The Responsive Chord was moderately successful in proving K.'s claims to "post-rap"dom. While it was, at times, a scatterbrained mish-mosh of influences, it also showed promise with unconceited yet insightful lyricism, and satisfactory employ of various electronic production techniques. The follow-up truly expands this post-rap envelope in virtually every way: the overall record is cohesive and focused, a continuous product from start to finish. Opener "Sana" sets the stage with static-soaked melodic meanderings that dematerialize into noise, yet reintegrate; a pulsating, dank beat sets the tone (and compositional strategy) for much the rest of the record.

The metamorphosis K. undergoes here is just the needed impetus for nearly any budding artist, struggling to differentiate themself from being just another promising local act. Sana Sana takes every past criticism and integrates them into a neatly improved package that shows real innovation in hip-hop. Instead of being one sub-genre laden with static and noise on any given track, the new formula effectively combines these influences. Industrial, hip-hop, ambient, post-whatever, it's all here in an especially apocalyptic, electronic future. Album closer "Sin" really set expectations high after being leaked last year, yet every track follows suit effectively. "Olvides" offers psychotic mutterings in a sea of synths, whirs, and trip-hop reminiscient beats, while readying the listener for the first set of offerings where K.'s mic skills take center stage. Possibly an additional by-product of improved production, the actual rapping is greatly improved from The Responsive Chord in that nothing hints at a remote possibility of being rap-rock. K. is anxious and frantic, technical yet leaning more towards alliteratives than multi-syllabic rhymes and verbose vocabulary.

While the new offering succeeds in correcting major flaws from The Responsive Chord, there are still a few minor complaints that will hopefully be addressed in upcoming releases. First and foremost, sometimes the distortion feels either overdone or unplanned, almost like the recording levels have topped out. The production formula is nearly there, and knowing exactly when to blast the listener's synapses with noise will go a long way. Additionally, the megaphone effects are used too liberally for the vocals; K. is a very solid rapper and even vocalist (ie the spoken/sung "Cukoy") and should always flaunt these skills. Again, the megaphone effect works very well in certain situations, but is definitely unnecessary 100% of the time.

Sana Sana is, without hesitation, static-laden black shit straight from the maw of the abyss. K. is blazing undiscovered territory territory here above and beyond anything close relatives Dalek and Oktopus have offered. At this rate, his next release will be remembered for years to come. Expect big things; I will be completely dumbfounded if he is not scooped up by a nationally renowned experimental hip-hop label.

Buy Sana Sana here: http://www.gahedindie.com/



Recent reviews by this author
Nacho Picasso and Avatar Darko VampsterdamGorguts Colored Sands
Run the Jewels Run the JewelsThe-Dream IV Play
James Blake OvergrownTyler the Creator Wolf
user ratings (9)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
AlexTM510
February 1st 2011



1398 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ay..getting now.

good review, twas wondering when he'd come out with new stuff.

liledman
February 1st 2011



3826 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

above and beyond anything close relatives Dalek and Oktopus have offered


well i guess i better check this out

DiligentIntelligence
February 1st 2011



1 Comments


a sonic assualt on all fronts (and backs).
i appreciate the reviewers knowledge of production,
however, i assure him and all of the readers that those distortions are there on purpose and are strictly there to invoke madness.
its interesting to me that the same person/people can go from a track like Riderback (which i still fully love) to something like the ear bleeding last minute plus of cukoy.
personally, i am a fan of both elements of this unit (the noise and the hiphop) and in a world where no stone has been left turned, this band really steps it up a notch.


liledman
February 1st 2011



3826 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

ok just listened and this is good, and pretty much agree with all this:

sometimes the distortion feels either overdone or unplanned, almost like the recording levels have topped out. The production formula is nearly there, and knowing exactly when to blast the listener's synapses with noise will go a long way. Additionally, the megaphone effects are used too liberally for the vocals; K. is a very solid rapper and even vocalist (ie the spoken/sung "Cukoy") and should always flaunt these skills. Again, the megaphone effect works very well in certain situations, but is definitely unnecessary 100% of the time.


i dig the sound hes going for, but its nowhere near as expansive as dalek... maybe thats not the right way to put it as hes not going for the same sound, but whatever. i guess its like just a step or two away from being something really incredible.

Hiatus3
February 1st 2011



1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off


Not a 3.5, more of a 4.

Good review, though the sound of confusion, the sonic assault is intentional and not a flaw of the album. It is apocalyptic, rage, and angst. The review is spot on when commenting that the best is yet to come.

I imagine an album that is an answer to the aftermath of Sana's apocalypse, a beautiful sunset falling on a scene of dead baby heads, glimpsing at deep emotions of remorse and loss.

AggravatedYeti
February 1st 2011



7684 Comments


this sounds pretty great Sobhi. I'll keep my eye out.
Can't believe I've never heard of him seems right up my alley.

AlexTM510
February 1st 2011



1398 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yea this rules basically. it seems like he's honed in his "post-rap" sound pretty well. and yea from what it seems the next one for sure will be killer.

kingsoby1
Emeritus
February 1st 2011



4938 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

posted this mid-flight from phoenix to minneapolis!

"i guess its like just a step or two away from being something really incredible." -- That's basically what i wrote in a nutshell

Also, Hiatus, hopefully the next record is not about sunsets and dead baby heads, just saying.

Jruined
February 1st 2011



1289 Comments


Going to be grabbing this. It sounds like exactly what I need with all the goddam snow in New England.

Apollo
February 3rd 2011



10239 Comments


this sounds interesting I will be checking this out

Bleekill
February 3rd 2011



832 Comments


I love Dalek so I will definitely look into this

Imperial
February 4th 2011



1719 Comments


I actually love Dalek...but I can't find this album anywhere...

liledman
February 4th 2011



3826 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

its streaming on their bandcamp just google it

thurston
February 4th 2011



5 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

http://kofgahedindie.bandcamp.com/

Bulldog
February 5th 2011



3796 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Tweetering between a 2 and 2.5 for me.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
February 5th 2011



30859 Comments


Keep on tweetering

Digging: Calyx and Teebee - FabricLive.76

LiquidSwords
February 8th 2011



6 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Good review, very informative. Never heard of him.

Willie
Moderator
February 10th 2011



15873 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm not a big fan of hip-hop, but I liked this. I was kind of expecting something else, but this was still good.

Digging: Sadistik - Ultraviolet

Bulldog
February 10th 2011



3796 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Willie could you destroy the obvious promoter accounts that 5d this and are probably affiliated with K. in some way or another?

Willie
Moderator
February 10th 2011



15873 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Done. What out there is similar to this style?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy