The Jezabels
Dark Storm


4.5
superb

Review

by doug USER (78 Reviews)
January 27th, 2011 | 75 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: If vocals could kill

“You can’t rely on the common man”

The Jezabels are a four piece Sydney based band that are out to show that their whimsical style of penetrating lyrical depth, and gorgeous instrumentation is going to be the talking point for the Australian music scene for some years to come. In Dark Storm, the final in the trilogy of EP’s being released last year, The Jezabels hit their straps creating some of the most intoxicating and omnipresent sounds to reach your earlobes for some time.

The vocals of Hayley Mary would be the most potent, yet delightful poison that the Jezabels posses. Her sweet, yet hauntingly beautiful voice swells around you like a hurricane before gently placing you back down. This is none more obvious than in the EP’s single, ‘Mace Spray’ which builds up slowly from a gentle guitar waddle, to a full blown procession with some amazing falsetto vocals from Mary, with subtle yet will found harmonies from other band members.

Lyrically “Mace Spray” shows the bands depth in more than just their instrumentation;
“And so the shattering shards of glass fell,
And glistened this way and that,
But she would say I won't find my way through the plaster;
I'm an empty hourglass in the sand”


While ‘Mace Spray’ may be the single of this EP, ‘Sahara Mahala’ is really the centre point and focus. It is a has a much quicker pace than the rest of the EP, and every band member shines through. ‘Sahara Mahala’ is filled with bombastic piano playing quite an aggressive drum beat and the now token reverb guitar solo. Yet all these large and abundant sounds found throughout the whole EP seem to be made still and delicate as the voice of Hayley Mary seems to soothe everything down to a modest level. The Jezabels seem to be able to find that perfect mix of rock and dulcet indie offerings to make a ridiculously good EP that shouts the band’s name out for a record label to pick them up.

The amusing, yet short ride that The Jezabels will not grow off or become boring since the mix of dynamics between instrumentation and vocals swell around for some time charging the emotive counter with a large sum of joy and relaxation.

"All that really matters is love,
But if it's all that you really care about, then tough."




Recent reviews by this author
Flume and Chet Faker LockjawThe Naked and Famous In Rolling Waves
James Blake OvergrownTaylor Swift Red
Macklemore and Ryan Lewis The HeistChet Faker Thinking in Textures
user ratings (106)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
related reviews

Prisoner

The Brink
recommended by reviewer
some band
that's really
really good

Comments:Add a Comment 
Douglas
January 27th 2011


9118 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

So, definitely check this out.



SeaAnemone
January 27th 2011


20554 Comments


took waaaaaay too long for this to get a review, it's superb. a little skimpy, I wish there was some more here, but you described it well... good on you for giving it a review it deserves : ) pos

Digging: Dirty Beaches - Stateless

Douglas
January 27th 2011


9118 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Ah, cheers Eric. Yeah, I always write short reviews but eh. Thanks for the feedback!

SeaAnemone
January 27th 2011


20554 Comments


Haha sorry I phrased that badly... let me say that again:

I think the album is superb, even if the amount of material here isn't quite what I was hoping for

That being said, the review is great, very fitting, and I'm glad you concentrate on her voice a little because that's what I hear when I listen to this

Douglas
January 27th 2011


9118 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

hahah, makes much more sense. Cheers.

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
January 27th 2011


3772 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

FFiiiannnnllylyy a Jezabels review. When these guys drop and LP it's gonna be massive.

Digging: The Flaming Lips - With A Little Help From My Fwends

Douglas
January 27th 2011


9118 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Yeah they better drop it this year. Album of the year no doubt haha

Captain North
January 27th 2011


6789 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Her voice when she sings "she loves me" gets me everytime

Eclectic
January 27th 2011


3302 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Fuck this is good

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
January 27th 2011


28655 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

needs moar 5

pos

Digging: Jessie Ware - Tough Love

Douglas
January 27th 2011


9118 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

@Captain: Yah man, I just love her voice on Sahara Mahala
@Eclectic: Heck Yes
@Academy: It does indeed, cheers.

Kiran
Emeritus
January 27th 2011


6001 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

love love love this band

Douglas
January 27th 2011


9118 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

More love is needed, keep loving!

Chrisjon89
January 27th 2011


3738 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

My mate recommended this. Next time I have a few spare bucks I'll try to grab it. I heard Mace Spray on Triple J and it seemed pretty good.

Good review.

Digging: Flying Lotus - You're Dead!

AtavanHalen
January 27th 2011


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

You people make me sick.

Eclectic
January 27th 2011


3302 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The hell, why do you dislike this?

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
January 27th 2011


3772 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

what what the fuck man?

Douglas
January 27th 2011


9118 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

wtf

Awesomesauce
January 27th 2011


1084 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is fucking rad. Cool review too D-Money.

Eclectic
January 28th 2011


3302 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

lol, "D-Money"



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy