Lead Hands
Lead Hands


4.0
excellent

Review

by danielito19 USER (21 Reviews)
January 17th, 2011 | 195 replies | 25,389 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Post-Hardcore isn't dead yet.

11 of 13 thought this review was well written

Decoder is setting the bar high for post-hardcore in 2011. Their self-titled debut implements scathing post-hardcore influences from the two bands they formed from, Oceana and Of Machines, and fuses these with ambient elements to create a delightful, promising debut.

Now, Decoder is not even close to the first band that plays ambient passages throughout the album, but they do it better than almost everyone else who tries. To begin, the ambient passages dominate the songs. Vocalist Keith Jones screams his lungs out over the top of a beautiful semi-ambient instrumental section in nearly every song, and it WORKS. Where every other post-hardcore band resorts to a breakdown on the first and zeroth frets for the “scream parts,” Decoder switches to a different chord progression and keeps the instrumentals chill and blissful.

One of the highlights of the album is the vocal performance. The two vocalists, Keith Jones and Spencer Pearson play off each other very well. They pour their heart outs on every track, and the raw emotion in his voice is absolutely beautiful. Their best vocal performance is on The Horrid, where Pearson showcases his entire clean range, and Jones, some of his best harsh vocals. However, Jones' screaming is inconsistent at best. It can be a little grating, especially in the first two songs, where his harsh yell sounds far too raw and unproduced. Then again, his vocals steal the show from Pearson in The Light.

Now, this album isn’t perfect. The main problem is the bass. There are few to no bass fills, and the bassist plays the root of the guitar at all times. There’s plenty of times in each track when the guitars are merely playing chords, and the bass could easily do some riffing, but alas, the bassist is one of the most generic bassists in post-hardcore. And, of course, that's when he is audible, and not mixed out.

The bass issues aren't the only problem with Decoder's self-titled. Every single song uses the same tired old verse-chorus-verse pattern that we all know and hate. Also, the ambient guitar riffing is usually just a few measures repeated ad nauseum.

Decoder’s self-titled debut is an album for those who defend post-hardcore to the death, for those wishing to get into the genre, and for those who accept the fate of the scene.



Recent reviews by this author
Glenn Branca The AscensionSeeker Unloved
Unwound Leaves Turn Inside YouFucked Up David Comes to Life
Strung Out An American ParadoxCoerce Ethereal Surrogate Saviour
user ratings (227)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
Eli EMERITUS (3)
Imagine waking up naturally, without the aid of an alarm, well rested and fully aware, only to find ...

Muzik Dizcovery Reviews (3.5)
Decoder creates a technically great, but monotonous debut album....


Comments:Add a Comment 
danielito19
January 17th 2011



4878 Comments


I think I overrated it, but hey. Constructive criticism extremely welcome. Also, how can I edit this? formatting screwed up >.

TheOceanInside
January 17th 2011



439 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

my only complaint is the screamer feels grating at some points,

RiversCuomo
January 17th 2011



439 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I The screamer is just good enough imo.
He fits the sound.

tkxxx7
January 17th 2011



6153 Comments


"one of the most generic bassists in post-hardcore."

how can you tell lol jk

bloc
January 17th 2011



34772 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Somehow I just KNEW people would love this album.

This is alright I guess.

Digging: Interpol - El Pintor

tkxxx7
January 17th 2011



6153 Comments


better than Geeving

wyankeif1337
January 17th 2011



6739 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

just now listening to the stuff on their myspace page, really liking what i'm hearing so far.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
January 17th 2011



6006 Comments


Also, how can I edit this?

go to your personal profile.

double click "Edit my reviews/albums"

Then click on the review/album you want to edit.

Digging: Troldhaugen - Obzkure Anekdotez For Maniakal Massez

danielito19
January 17th 2011



4878 Comments


thanks voivod!

PinkBlackberry
January 17th 2011



2346 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

CD is fucking amazing. the Vocal performance impregnates my soul with..talent..?

TheSpirit
January 17th 2011



17719 Comments


Not really a great review tbh but it's your first so i won't neg

Digging: Venus Star - Nigredo Expulsion

RiversCuomo
January 17th 2011



439 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

once again
bloc udum?

tkxxx7
January 17th 2011



6153 Comments


Not great but not bad either

PinkBlackberry
January 17th 2011



2346 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Yeah bloc you've been surprising me man.

Some CDs I feel show a lot of true talent and you're like, NAHHHH SOOOO BAdDDDDDdDdDdDDD

danielito19
January 17th 2011



4878 Comments


Ok TheSpirit, what exactly didn't you like? I just want to get better, would like criticism.

PinkBlackberry
January 17th 2011



2346 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

if I may offer some too Daniel;

it's not a bad review, I think spirits being kinda a douche, but I do think that reworking the first paragraph would be to your advantage, the whole ' Savior of post-hardcore' and saying 'post-hardcore is a blah blah blah genre blah blah blah stale stagnant' is a tad overused, I've read it 3 times in the last week (2 that I can think of at the top of my head see : PMtoday review, and Lady Radiator review)

my advice is just take it out, and rephrase it, or devote more time to the music, because the general population wants to read about the band in question, and be convinced to download the CD.

Blaizend
January 17th 2011



647 Comments


I like this.

bloc
January 17th 2011



34772 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I am SO SORRY guys

PinkBlackberry
January 17th 2011



2346 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

FUCK BLOC

LETTING ME THE FUCK DOWn


jkloveoyu.

danielito19
January 17th 2011



4878 Comments


Thanks for the tip Pink. I'm probably going to listen to this again later, and add more about the music, because I feel like that first paragraph is necessary.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy