Motorhead
The World Is Yours


3.5
great

Review

by Joseph Viney STAFF
January 16th, 2011 | 82 replies | 19,235 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Rock and roll: Warts and all.

Death and taxes? Another sure thing you can add to that shortlist is that Motörhead will always be on hand to deliver a short, sharp dose of dirty noise. Now on their 20th LP, Motörhead have yet to relent on their quest to blow the minds and ears of their baying audience. Sticking to a strict schedule of an album every two years since 1996’s Overnight Sensation, the circus rolls on with reckless abandon and despite their advancing years you feel as if Motörhead will outlive us all.

Lately, Lemmy appears to have been inducted into the Hall of Elder Statesmen. Fashionistas are wearing glittery Motörhead shirts without a trace of irony, both Slash and Dave Grohl have recruited him for their respective projects and his appearance in a surprisingly smooth Kronenburg advert has kept his profile high and introduced him to the younger set, brought up on a diet of pretenders to the throne. To many, Lemmy is the last bastion of rock and roll. If Nigel Tufnel had not set his amps to 11, you know Lemmy would have done it first.

The World Is Yours won’t set the world alight with insightful lyrics or experimentation, but that isn’t what we’ve signed up for. This is an LP that just does not let up from the get go. Opener “Born To Lose”, echoing the sentiments of one their more famous couplets, is like a hammer to the face and in the right conditions would probably cause more damage to the recipient. “Hell is coming and it won’t be long” growls Lemmy right before a solo that could wake Cthulu from his deep slumber.

The one aspect of Motörhead’s longevity that has served them well is the advance in production tools and techniques. Their classic material, as joyful as it is, can sound like a coin rattling around a cadaver’s ribcage when compared to the luxuries afforded to today’s groups. Motörhead’s later LPs have encompassed their monolithic live sound and the records are the better for it. “Brotherhood Of Man” sounds like the apocalypse come early. Juggernaut riffs and Lemmy’s funereal lyrics deriding the folly of mankind give the song an urgent and dark tinge, putting their younger contemporaries to shame. It’s the standout track on the LP and whilst it is not the most original song in the Motörhead canon its sheer relentlessness is impossible to dislike. The only track that could have done with either another look or ditching altogether is “Rock N’ Roll Music”, a sub-par plodding rocker that sounds unnervingly like Status Quo, had Francis Rossi spent his childhood being served a diet of gravel on toast. Across the rest of the LP it’s much of the same; winding solos, crunching chords and Lemmy putting the world to rights. The album’s kiss-off is the tetchy and frantic “Bye Bye Bitch Bye Bye”, about as close as Motörhead could ever come to a love song.

Lemmy’s position as the ever-present front man of Motörhead means that his band mates tend to be forgotten, but they perform a stand-up job here. There is not one unnecessary guitar chord or drumbeat out of place. The current line-up has existed since 1994 and with them showing constant improvement you hope they become the final and permanent fixture of an ex-musicians list that’s longer than Mr. Tickle’s arms.

Ultimately, we all know what to expect from Motörhead. Lemmy’s legacy is in his own hands and safe for that reason. He stands as one of the only true rock and rollers able to back up their talk with action. They’re more than just “Ace Of Spades”, “Overkill” and “Bomber” and The World Is Yours is a superb testament to that fact.



Recent reviews by this author
Morrissey World Peace Is None Of Your BusinessArchie Bronson Outfit Wild Crush
Manic Street Preachers FuturologySweet Apple The Golden Age of Glitter
Parquet Courts Sunbathing AnimalSKATERS Manhattan
user ratings (145)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
thebhoy
Emeritus
January 16th 2011



4459 Comments


They'll always be around unless they succumb to death and/or taxes. Whoa tautology!

Enotron
January 16th 2011



7695 Comments


i'm sure this blows

vanderb0b
January 16th 2011



3473 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Didn't know this was coming out, will definitely give it a listen. Nice review.

JViney
Staff Reviewer
January 16th 2011



322 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Lemmy's...erm...'facial growths' will soon be big enough to have to pay taxes.

JViney
Staff Reviewer
January 16th 2011



322 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Enotron - Give it at least one listen, come on!

vanderb0b - It's released today/tomorrow (17/01). There was a giveaway of the full album in Classic Rock towards the end of last month also.

Enotron
January 16th 2011



7695 Comments


alsoooo

FUCK MAH BITCH JVINEY U DA MAN, TYPE MUSCULAR ARMS FUK BITCHES UP U GO JVINEY SWAG

/comment

Enotron
January 16th 2011



7695 Comments


but yerr never liked motorhead

JViney
Staff Reviewer
January 16th 2011



322 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You've lost me on that caps lock rant but I'll take the...compliment?

kanecooper
January 16th 2011



630 Comments


band's pretty lame but gnarly review

Irving
Staff Reviewer
January 16th 2011



7143 Comments


Great review mate. Very well-done and eloquently thought out indeed.

The discussion above and this following tidbit of information confuses me:

Release Date: 12/13/2010

Is that just a regional release date then? It's worth fixing if it's inaccurate in any case.

JViney
Staff Reviewer
January 16th 2011



322 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not sure why that particular release date is there. Classic Rock had a special pre-release on 28/12 and general release is 17/01. I'll see about getting it sorted if possible.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
January 16th 2011



15332 Comments


Pretty nice review there man, probably won't check this out though

Digging: Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds - Abattoir Blues/The Lyre of Orpheus

Irving
Staff Reviewer
January 16th 2011



7143 Comments


Not sure why that particular release date is there. Classic Rock had a special pre-release on 28/12 and general release is 17/01. I'll see about getting it sorted if possible.

If you wrote a review for it, you can edit it yourself. Just above the box where your review is entered in the "Edit My Reviews" section is the release date. Fire at will! =)

JViney
Staff Reviewer
January 16th 2011



322 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

To anybody umming and ahhing over this LP (which I can understand), at least check out "Brotherhood Of Man" or "Born To Lose" on Spotify or wherever. If you don't like those ones then don't bother with the rest of it.

Oh, and thanks for the compliments, Irving. You gave me a bit of a (good-natured) kicking in the Gorillaz review so I'm glad to see there's no repeat, must have been a good job!

Irving
Staff Reviewer
January 16th 2011



7143 Comments


Oh, and thanks for the compliments, Irving. You gave me a bit of a (good-natured) kicking in the Gorillaz review so I'm glad to see there's no repeat, must have been a good job!

LOOOL that reminded me how hard I was on you in your more recent reviews (Daft Punk and Gorillaz) - sorry! I'll be honest with you Joseph, ever since your promotion, I've actually trawled through some of your older stuff (out of curiosity) and found that you're actually a fricking good writer. The Gorillaz thing must have been a bit of a slump (if I may use the term), because here you're back in full form. And it roars.

I like this Motorhead review a lot because it has class and also appears to be delivered in the style of someone who knows what he's talking about - which is always a good thing. It's the kind of piece that makes you want to get up (or sit down, rather) and write your own. Your passion of writing is shining through, and it is always a pleasure to see that in a writer/reviewer. I think you'll turn out to be an amazing addition to the site =)

Okay I will end my rather fanboyish comment here haha! Cheers!

Ponton
Emeritus
January 16th 2011



5784 Comments


agree with irving, great review

LepreCon
January 16th 2011



3593 Comments


Pumped for this, will be getting this in work tomorrow, Motorhead are badass

Urinetrouble
January 16th 2011



5754 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Motorhead suck more and more with every release

and lol Classic Rock Mag lol

LepreCon
January 16th 2011



3593 Comments


Nuh-uh, Motorizer was a great deal better than some of their past albums and Classic Rock magazine is exactly as it says on the cover- Classic Rock indulgence for fans of classic rock like myself

Urinetrouble
January 16th 2011



5754 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

motrizer was a 3 for me- it just seems that Lemmy likes to write the same songs over and over and just changing up the lyrics to go with



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy