Janelle Monae
The ArchAndroid


3.0
good

Review

by natey USER (46 Reviews)
January 16th, 2011 | 48 replies | 5,673 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Janelle Monae likes robots.

2 of 3 thought this review was well written

The ArchAndroid (Suites II and III of IV) is a mashing together of dry potatoes into dull but thick soup; Janelle dances her way through 18 throwback tracks appealing to pop fans from another time. Of course she can't help dancing, (“Dance or Die”) and who can blame her? She's a perfect maniac on the stage, dressing up a sharp suit with sharp moves. Her presentation is off the charts.

But this album doesn't last long in stereos, on the radio, or even jukeboxes. It's a work for the stage as much as it is a record. The tracks don't aim for highs and lows or rise and fall well enough to stand on their own. Some like “Oh Maker”, "Wondaland", and “Dance or Die” graze the cinematic plateau the music rests at with special hooks and grooves, but most of the album bows to Monae's simple novelty. “Make the Bus feat Of Montreal” is one of the standout songs. They're a dynamic partnership.

The smorgasbord of stylings Monae plays with witnesses her playfulness and special ability to consistently deliver solid ballads, folk and dance numbers, and even scat songs. The production value, clever storylines, and tributes to earlier performers make her a hot target for the music business. Diddy chomped her up for being “different and innovative.” She's something no one's listened to in a minute, and she nails the role with attitude. But the way she makes it her own, drawing together images of machines, orchestras, and smoky jazz bars, collapses empty of melodic power. She attacks the ears with a mixture of quirky oddity and accepted standards, but never builds an impacting moment beyond bright visions of frantic dancing or classic atmospheres. J Monae has creative vision and nails her designs with exceptional grace, but it's a dry image to behold. The intros and interludes are just unattractive decoration on an average pop album by a hot star.



Recent reviews by this author
Harold Budd In The MistEsperanza Spalding Chamber Music Society
Sunset Rubdown Random Spirit LoverTwin Sister Vampires With Dreaming Kids
North What You WerePassion Pit Chunk of Change
user ratings (556)
Chart.
4.2
excellent
other reviews of this album
Alex Robertson STAFF (4.5)
...

Sam Feldman's Rating (5)
Original, catchy, honest, and couragous, Janelle Monae's full length debut is a masterpiece of moder...

Peter Tabakis (5)
A masterpiece from the 28th century....

Nick Butler EMERITUS (4.5)
Everything her fans had been hoping for, and then some....


Comments:Add a Comment 
natey
January 16th 2011



4170 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

guess what I had for lunch and this is boring except for "Dance or Die"

illmitch
January 16th 2011



5429 Comments


heard tightrope and thought it was boring, didn't have the desire to check this out

good to see i'm not the only one who doesn't like her

Bitchfork
January 16th 2011



7584 Comments


"BabopbyeYA" and "Wondaland" are def. in my top 30 songs from 2010

Bitchfork
January 16th 2011



7584 Comments


what chambered said

couldwinarabbit
January 16th 2011



6996 Comments


I think it was yeti who said

"I love this album but I never feel like listening to it"

that sums it up for me.

Bitchfork
January 16th 2011



7584 Comments


i always feel like listening to cold war, sir greendown, make the bus, babopbyeya and wondaland

kangaroopoo
January 16th 2011



3175 Comments


dance or die, cold war, faster, wondaland, 57821 standouts for me

found myself skipping most of the others after a while

Chrisjon89
January 16th 2011



3336 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Good review, I loved this when it was released and then went off it for a few months. But now I love it again and it's a shame it didn't get more recognition.

I've seen the Tightrope and Cold War videos semi-regularly but I felt like this album was accessible enough for everyone to collectively get into it and I don't think it really took off like it deserved to.

Digging: Ichiko Aoba - 0%

Tyrael
January 16th 2011



20704 Comments


Oh my god.... good review though I feel you could have explained your point of view better, because
some of your arguments are just... there.

AtavanHalen
January 16th 2011



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Lucky for you, I just had some space freed up in my Dead To Me list.

STOP SHOUTING!
January 16th 2011



631 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i agree with you it is a bit overrated.

you make some good points, but need to make it flow more.

mmfarva
January 16th 2011



1352 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Nah, album is incredible.

The review is well-written, but I feel it is far too short to properly present your feelings on the album,especially since it's an opinion differing from the majority. As a result, none of your points seem like they're flushed out well, and the conclusion is incredibly unsatisfactory.

natey
January 16th 2011



4170 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Oh my god.... good review though I feel you could have explained your point of view better, because
some of your arguments are just... there.

The review is well-written, but I feel it is far too short to properly present your feelings on the album,especially since it's an opinion differing from the majority. As a result, none of your points seem like they're flushed out well, and the conclusion is incredibly unsatisfactory.

i'm not really sure what else there is to flush out, it's a pretty straightforward "argument." I could butter it up but I wasn't going for buttery
but I feel it is far too short to properly present your feelings on the album,especially since it's an opinion differing from the majority

I felt like a short review was the best match of my feelings for this album. If it warranted more I'd probably like it more, but none of the tracks really speak loudly lyrically or feel amazingly catchy, just vaguely James Brownish.

I'll have a go at fluffing this up later.


natey
January 16th 2011



4170 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

like if I thought "It’s fitting that Janelle Monaé fancies herself an android; mere mortals couldn't
pull off what she and her co-producers have achieved. The ArchAndroid is a masterpiece, a work of art
– the first of the new decade, direct from the 28th century," (like another reviewer) then the review
would probably be a little longer and have a more satisfying conclusion. this review isn't really
supposed to express adulation or deep rage

kingsoby1
Emeritus
January 16th 2011



4938 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i was really disappointed with this album overall. I still love Cold War, Come Alive, Make the Bus, and Wondaland enough to pump the rating up

AggravatedYeti
January 16th 2011



7684 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't think I've ever disagreed with you on anything more than this Mr. Natey Sir.

I still < 3 you though.

natey
January 16th 2011



4170 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I do like Wondaland

yeti I appreciate your love

FatChickIrl
January 16th 2011



4096 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

cute opinion

AggravatedYeti
January 16th 2011



7684 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oh forgot my pos.
this is well written.
so, uhhh...pos!

Zettel
January 16th 2011



582 Comments


This is a great review.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy