Clive Tanaka y Su Orquesta
Jet Set Siempre No. 1


4.0
excellent

Review

by Kiran EMERITUS
January 11th, 2011 | 39 replies | 9,717 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The two sides of Clive Tanaka: dance while you're hot, chill while you simmer.

Though the cassette was generally deemed obsolete once CD’s had taken over car stereos and the Discman had knocked the Walkman off its perch in a sales battle not quite as superhero-y as their names make it out to be, the format isn’t dead just yet. Leave it to the generation whose obsession with vintage has led to vinyl sales recording their biggest jump since 1991, cassettes are, in relative terms, surprisingly healthy amongst both indie musicians and listeners and for a guy like Clive Tanaka, that’s great news. In fact, it’s great news especially for a guy like Tanaka because the two formats do justice to his music that a CD simply couldn’t.

Tanaka’s Jet Set Siempre No. 1 is split into two distinct sides; side A, “For Dance”, and side B, “For Romance”, and the music runs a pretty tight course with the titles. Side A’s “All Night, All Right” and “I Want You (So Bad)” come blazing right out of the disco-cum-house Daft Punk books, while “Neu Chicago” drops the heavy vocoder and instead fuels its poppy boy-girl duet with bubbly synths and the brand of youthful, quixotic longing that chillwave has spent the last two years hoping to recreate. The joy that underlines Side A is nothing short of irresistible and its tenacity for weaving hooks together should reel in just about any listener pining for France’s next electro-sensation.

The sound byte of wood (presumably a pier) creaking as waves roll in as Side B starts is pretty indicative of the 20-minutes to come, as the funk romp of Side A all but vanishes and the breezy loungetronica of “Skinjob” struts in on its cashmere slippers. The rest of Side B soothes in much the same manner – distant, cinematic strings soar through “International Heartbreaker”, soundtracking some ‘60s first-class airport lounge, though the breakbeat keeps it firmly grounded while everything else seems to flutter above your head. “Lonely For The Highscrapers” floats wistfully towards the end of the record in a way where you’d think it had freed itself from gravity, repeating a vocodered refrain of “you’re not the only one” and bouncing between tropical, percussive rhythms.

The best part about Jet Set Siempre No. 1 is that it’s a record for two moods. The first half (and specifically how “All Right, All Night” kicks it off) is powered by the sheer warm exuberance it emanates for pop and dance music, like something you can tell is sprung from the heart of an obsessive, while Side B jaunts along like it could be the soundtrack to just about anything (including every beach-napper’s favourite; absolutely nothing). Tanaka has done a tremendous job in creating an album as terrific as a whole as it is between its two sharply defined goals and if you’re looking for something to offset the winter malaise, you don’t need to look any further.



Recent reviews by this author
Unknown Mortal Orchestra IIBeirut The Rip Tide
Alex Turner Submarine OSTRobyn Body Talk
The Concretes WYWHWarpaint The Fool
user ratings (19)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Kiran
Emeritus
January 11th 2011



6000 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

though it's been available for a while on cassette, i believe this comes out on vinyl today.

Digging: Spoon - They Want My Soul

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
January 11th 2011



23798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

good review, this sounds strange

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
January 11th 2011



23798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"In fact, it’s great news especially for a guy like Tanaka because the two formats do justice to his music that a CD simply couldn’t."

does this mean I shouldn't listen to it unless on vinyl or tape? or can I acquire this using my....usual methods

Kiran
Emeritus
January 11th 2011



6000 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

whichever way you see fit, just keep in mind it's supposed to be split into two sides because the change in sound is rather dramatic and it works better in context of side A/side B

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
January 11th 2011



23798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ok fair enough

but it's not like I have to get all audiophile to enjoy this or anything?

Kiran
Emeritus
January 11th 2011



6000 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

haha, no, don't worry

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
January 11th 2011



23798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

cool, I'll check this out then, it sounds awesome

cassette tapes were pretty rad, I'm barely old enough to remember my parents playing them in the car
before CDs took over.

Spare
January 11th 2011



5252 Comments


at first glance the band name looked like circle takes the square and i got really really excited. and this sounds pretty awesome.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
January 11th 2011



30904 Comments


recommended by reviewer
Air France No Way Down
Daft Punk Discovery
St. Germain Tourist
Tosca Suzuki


This sounds like love at first sight for me

Digging: FaltyDL - In The Wild

Kiran
Emeritus
January 11th 2011



6000 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

side b obv isnt as good as those last two recs but if im gonna rec chill downtempo electronica, im not gonna rec bad downtempo electronica!

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
January 11th 2011



30904 Comments


Those were the two I was most interested in too! Still though, I'm always on the lookout for Kruder & Dorfmesiter-esque chillout so I'm gonna be all over this

alachlahol
January 11th 2011



7477 Comments


fuck me i knew this was a two-sided tape no wonder the album went from raging to chilling so abruptly cut my dick off

alachlahol
January 11th 2011



7477 Comments


i wanted more of the poppy dance stuff i was not ready to chillax so soon after partying hard to the first four songs

AggravatedYeti
January 11th 2011



7684 Comments


looks like I've got another album to get.

and just when I was talking about how much cassettes suck.

cbmartinez
January 11th 2011



2525 Comments


my friend just mentioned this guy the other day, I'd like to check this out

deepintheorchard
January 11th 2011



644 Comments


Neu Chicago is magnificent.

kanecooper
January 11th 2011



630 Comments


interest piqued, nice review

Drsmith4
January 11th 2011



1712 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Needed something like this.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
January 11th 2011



7144 Comments


Great review Kiran. Got my interest piqued for sure. And I randomly found this to be the best word in the whole review: "loungetronica".

"You can dance, you can jive, having the time of your life..." X 3.



Kiran
Emeritus
January 11th 2011



6000 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i wanted more of the poppy dance stuff i was not ready to chillax so soon after partying hard to the first four songs

yeah this is the main gripe, if both sides were fleshed out into albums of their own i'd prob love them both!





You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy