Burning The Masses
Offspring of Time


2.5
average

Review

by TBliss USER (33 Reviews)
January 10th, 2011 | 18 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: 'Offspring Of Time’ is simply an average deathcore release.

With the arrival of Cameron Argon (AKA Big Chocolate) on lead vocal duties, I was greatly anticipating ‘Offspring Of Time’. The addition of such a widely renowned talent as Argon, as well as the proficient musicianship that the band had displayed on previous releases, I believed had set the stage for the appearance of a stellar album.

Unfortunately, this was not the case. For all the technical wizardry on display, ‘The Offspring Of Time’ suffers ultimately from severely bland song writing, and what the listener is left with is an entirely forgettable experience. It is undeniable that the instrumentation is fantastically executed, with the speed and accuracy of the guitar work particularly impressive (there are a glut of sweep arpeggios throughout, and the leads in ’Lair Of The Blind Ones’ and ’Overseer Fixation Pt2’ are excellent), yet the tracks themselves come across as a procession of tepid riffs strung together to fill out the time, making for an incredibly dreary listen. This is especially the case with opener ‘Immersed Entity’, as the song really fails to go anywhere as the band slog through tedious lead lines and complex yet redundant riffage.

Argon himself turns in a average performance, as his vocals, whilst impressive amongst the dire Youtube wannabes, reveal themselves as utterly typical on record. The same can be said for the drumming. Blast beats and rapid double bass are employed predominantly, and as with all aspects of this disc, are well done, yet nothing that has not been heard, and done better, before.

‘Offspring Of Time’ is simply an average deathcore release. For all the potential the outfit has displayed in the past, their song writing abilities clearly have failed to progress past the desire to flaunt their technical ability, which has only worked to the detriment of their music’s infectiousness and appeal.



Recent reviews by this author
Deicide To Hell With GodMattias IA Eklundh The Road Less Travelled
Megadeth Rust in Peace LiveHideous Miscreation Delusions Of Grandeur EP
Dyscarnate Enduring the MassacreThe Rotted Anarchogram
user ratings (92)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
TBliss
January 10th 2011


987 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Short review, but I think I said all that I needed to on this album

Dryden
January 10th 2011


12928 Comments


yeah this band has always been boring

bloc
January 10th 2011


34872 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This band is just too tech

Rev
January 11th 2011


9431 Comments


Some of the songs on Mind Control were cool

asdemonsburn
January 11th 2011


793 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

shit review, this is not deathcore. A few pretty great songs on this album, new Disfiguring the Goddess will make this obsolete hopefully

TBliss
January 11th 2011


987 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

So becuase i said deathcore i deserve a neg and its a 'shit review'? My god, some people...

frenchy12340
January 11th 2011


23 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

its a good review. but this isnt deathcore

TBliss
January 12th 2011


987 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Meh, its boring whatever it is.

dogmaster
February 3rd 2011


74 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

some parts of this cd are fun

good review, but calling it average deathcore may be misleading to anyone who might be interesting in listening to this

Uranium
March 29th 2011


7169 Comments


vicarious of wrath has a nice riff. can't say that for the rest of the album.

HectorLetberg
May 31st 2011


7 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Vicarious Wrath kills and so does Immersed Entity but, yes, kind of generic. Perfect for the gym. 2,5 is pretty harsh whatsoever, though.

Following up on dogmaster's input : not to push your buttons, but definitely not deathcore. Even though labels aren't worth s*** most of the time as they open wide the way to ambiguity, this band, and this sound, leaves no doubt: it's Death Metal, the young american way.

TarkAhh
June 30th 2011


46 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I honestly didn't like this review. It Said nothing about the album other than it was "your average deathcore release." I'm not disagreeing wit your review, I just got nothing from it other than it wasn't good. Maybe more about the songs would help.

I give this album a 4.5.
The band really did take a Chance by changing it up to a death metal band from a death core one. Alot of the songs, to me were quite rememberable. Such as Vicarious Wrath. Both melodic and Death metal, the song does a great job in making a highlight song off the album. Immersed Entity provides many different genres and has a fun Rock n Rollish solo bringing a change to your "average deathcore release." Resonance of the Foul is one of my favorite songs. IRS a fast past death metal feeling dog and could be played over and over again. The song, 'Overseer Fixation pt. 2' is a good listen. (sounds alot like a Faceless song, but is ok) It has a progressive type part towards the end which was a nice change. Also, the album closer, like 'Galaxy Abduction' from 'Mind Control,' is a catchy, epic, melodic track that opens with acoustic guitars then jumps into the famous BTM sweep fests that have you hummin to for hours.
Alot more could be said about this album and each individual song, however, I can just say that it's not just another death metal album or one youll forget. Might not be the best, but it's a pretty good release.

TBliss
June 30th 2011


987 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Well why not write your own review and let people know what you think instead of negging my review for having a different opinion to you. I said the songs are poorly put together and that their is nothing exciting or outstanding about this album. My opinion is what it is, and I explained it well enough.

Eulogize
August 25th 2011


2969 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Since when do solos happen in deathcore?

bloozclooz
October 9th 2011


1770 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

is this the only review this album got? my god

Shuyin
May 28th 2012


11703 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

'Since when do solos happen in deathcore?'

huhh.. all shall perish?

Digging: Django Reinhardt - Djangology

expire
May 28th 2012


162 Comments


band tries too hard

J0ckstrapsFTW
December 3rd 2012


3652 Comments


This is pretty cool



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy