Daft Punk
Tron: Legacy


4.0
excellent

Review

by Adam Knott EMERITUS
January 10th, 2011 | 37 replies | 3,571 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Hey, wait, this isn't Discovery.

In at the deep end: Tron: Legacy is a soundtrack! Daft Punk's phone rings one afternoon, and the French trailblazers agree to score Joe Kosinski's new movie. So the creative process is fucked, a pre-determined visual framework having taken care of all the overarching questions, leaving only the interpretation of concept art and all those decisions of detail for an outfit that normally takes its cues from within. An album written by Daft Punk, then, but by no means a Daft Punk album, so it would be grossly unfair to judge this OST as a stand-alone record were it not so damn great.

Because this is a music site, we'll do things without the movie, thanks, but hey, don't worry - Daft Punk have brought it with them anyway. These are twenty-two evocative tracks to close your eyes to, as the electronic and the orchestral war over centre-stage, the result being a swaggering atmosphere with two co-existing faces: the first, understated and robotic; the second, dramatic and sprawling. Daft Punk still exist in the strings and thuds and recurring motifs, but it's in no way unmistakably them; truth is, Tron: Legacy sounds like a band born to write the score for Tron: Legacy. That's not an exaggeration.

Perhaps the most striking thing is how Tron: Legacy retains its urgency despite its length; sure, occasionally the music here drifts, sometimes a deliberate part of the soundtrack's ebb and flow, other times a bloated or too-familiar passage of string instruments, but this album is never boring; it feels almost post-rock in construction, hooking onto your imagination and making shapes out of epic climaxes and rolling rhythms, creating pictures despite being set to none. It's both relaxing and invigorating, and at points almost sinister; it thrives on the contrasting duality of its components, and the product is huge.

And I'm still not talking about the movie, simply the way the waves of atmospherics take control of your retina burns and guide them; you may not have seen Tron: Legacy, but you'll have heard it. As a separate entity, surely the aim of a soundtrack is to conjure the same range of reactions as the film it's 'supposed' to accompany; it may not cover all that much ground, but it completely nails the mood. While in no way perfect, this record is every bit as precious as the movie, and proof that cinema is not the only thing that can be cinematic.



Recent reviews by this author
Mumford and Sons BabelAbel (NY) Make It Right
The Gaslight Anthem HandwrittenMotion City Soundtrack Go
Sigur Ros ValtariSilversun Pickups Neck of the Woods
user ratings (345)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
Joseph Viney STAFF (2)
Softer/Worse/Slower/Weaker....

Keelan H. EMERITUS (3)
Around the World... with Jeff Bridges...

Deviant STAFF (3)
In which the robots find themselves a heart...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Knott-
Emeritus
January 10th 2011



10194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

HEY GUYS:

Shut up.

4th 4/5 review in a row I need to find something to write about that sucks.

Xenophanes
Emeritus
January 10th 2011



10556 Comments


Great review Knott-, you may have convinced me to pick this up!

Digging: Saintseneca - Dark Arc

dnor
January 10th 2011



3978 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the movie sucked, the music rocked. pos'd for a good review

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
January 10th 2011



5618 Comments


well written, i think you put this into the right perspective, pos.

Digging: The 3rd and the Mortal - Painting On Glass

Irving
Staff Reviewer
January 10th 2011



7012 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

JViney - your counterpoint!

Classy review Knott; pos. And this is the best line in the review:

And I'm still not talking about the movie, simply the way the waves of atmospherics take control of your retina burns and guide them; you may not have seen Tron: Legacy, but you'll have heard it.

Exquisite.

Digging: Pixies - Indie Cindy

Irving
Staff Reviewer
January 10th 2011



7012 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

4th 4/5 review in a row I need to find something to write about that sucks.

The latest Michael Jackson compilation of posthumously released new tracks needs a review. Haven't heard it, but corporate greed's a potential stinker if I ever saw one.

tkxxx7
January 10th 2011



6146 Comments


I always play "The Game Has Changed" on my iPod dock-clock

Knott-
Emeritus
January 10th 2011



10194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This just changed to best new music, dunno if my review had anything to do with that but :D anyway.

Thanks a lot for gushing comments!

Irving there is absolutely no way I'm going anywhere near Jacko alive or dead hahaha.

Jethro42
January 10th 2011



12052 Comments


The latest Michael Jackson compilation of posthumously released new tracks needs a review. Haven't heard it, but corporate greed's a potential stinker if I ever saw one.

R.I.P. Michael
=P
Good review, man.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
January 10th 2011



7012 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Irving there is absolutely no way I'm going anywhere near Jacko alive or dead hahaha.

Fair XD

Knott-
Emeritus
January 10th 2011



10194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

haha

thanks Jethro

dunno sam i dunno how the BNM thing works, don't even know whether it's manual or works on an algorithmqwid

Gyromania
January 10th 2011



14653 Comments


Great review, you made a good case.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
January 10th 2011



15697 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this review is 100% correct thank you adam knott

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
January 10th 2011



30315 Comments


Totally thought BNM was based on a certain number of high staff ratings. Knott must have powers I can't fathom

Digging: L'Orange - The Orchid Days

Ire
January 10th 2011



41471 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

THANK YOU

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
January 10th 2011



3752 Comments


Point/Counterpoint

Digging: Labyrinth Ear - The Orchid Room

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
January 10th 2011



23667 Comments


Knott must have powers I can't fathom


Digging: Trophy Scars - Holy Vacants

qwer7yfreak
January 10th 2011



486 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh my god, thank you. This soundtrack is seriously is not as bad as some people are making it out to be.

thebhoy
Emeritus
January 10th 2011



4459 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

it's not a bad soundtrack, but it's just another soundtrack and therefore I don't think it works so great as a stand alone entity... but I've already said all this in my REVIEW


Ponton
Emeritus
January 10th 2011



5775 Comments


REVIEW

Digging: Mimicking Birds - Mimicking Birds



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy