The Black Keys
Brothers


5.0
classic

Review

by DrEpic4181 USER (12 Reviews)
January 4th, 2011 | 35 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A true classic.

A five out of five does not come lightly from me. Why does this album deserve it?

Quite simply:

It's Revolutionary.

Laugh if you will, perhaps you are surfing through reviews and think that a 5 is a ridiculous score for a Keys album, perhaps you hate the keys, perhaps you think that this is a terrible review. That's all opinion. And while I think Rubber Factory is still slightly above this album in terms of musicality, it does not compare with connectivity.

Im quite the weezer fan. When Pinkerton came out, it was bashed for its abrasive sound, somewhat offensive lyrics, and above all, total change of genre. After a couple years, the critics realized their mistake, and Rolling Stone changed the rating, a 2/5 (they called it the worst album of 1996), to a 5/5. I think something similar will happen here. Of course this wasn't bashed on it's realease, but i still think this album is rock/blues heavy artillery against bands like the Jonas Brothers. I am a terrible reviewer, I know, but this album deserves to praise I give it.

The sign of a great band (such as the beatles, the who, the stones) is a band that has a consistent stream of great albums, and then totally changes their sound to create something great. This is what the black keys have done. The album takes the hard rocking, drum pounding musicians and does something rather peculiar...they simply tone it down. Not the passion, but the music. The album simply screams from it's insides with soul. It's like they have all this emotion, but they are keeping it all inside. Each song bursts with originality: every track is laced with intricate harmonies, saucy guitars, and some of the most compelling drum beats I have ever heard. Not only that, but the Black Keys try something they have never done before...fallsetto. I'm sure that may seem like a trivial thing, but this is what makes the album so unique. It's an emotional overload, and it comes off as a truly personal album.

Which is why the album is in and of itself a revolution: the songs are what music should be. Filled with a range of emotion, trying to push yourself to new limits, and connecting with your audience. Whenever I think of an album, I simply ask myself this: does it connect with me? Most albums i listen to may be pretty good, but an elite few connect.

Look: I am well aware I am not a good reviewer - Its just a small hobby. If you can leave any tips or comments below, that would rock. Almost every song on the album is perfect - ironically, the worst song is the lead single - Tighten Up. Nontheless, the keys dont fail to impress. Again, just my opinion.

But you owe it to yourself to check out this album.

Check Out

10 Cent Pistol
Everlasting Light
Sinister Kid
Only One
Black Mud



Recent reviews by this author
PSY PSY's Best Sixth Part 1Justin Bieber Believe
Jethro Tull Songs from the WoodThe Beatles Abbey Road
Wavves WavvesMac Miller Blue Slide Park
user ratings (1041)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
Joseph Viney STAFF (3.5)
The Ohio duo up their game and set a good precedent for the future....

Scott Wannan (3.5)
Same old Black Keys but with a bucketful of soul...

Rudy K. STAFF (4)
A new chapter for one of rock's most consistent bands...

Travis Marmon (4)
This is the sixth album by the Black Keys. This band is still really good....


Comments:Add a Comment 
shrapnel
January 4th 2011


735 Comments


1 review per day doc

DrEpic4181
January 4th 2011


145 Comments


these were all done i was just posting them on here all at one time

Kris.
January 4th 2011


12345 Comments


k well don't
post one review a day

Kris.
January 4th 2011


12345 Comments


oh and learn how to properly punctuate and grammatize and whatnot

DrEpic4181
January 4th 2011


145 Comments


thanks for the tips

Kris.
January 4th 2011


12345 Comments


having actually read the review i have one more stop reviewing

DrEpic4181
January 4th 2011


145 Comments


I hate being new to sites

DrEpic4181
January 4th 2011


145 Comments


wow that was a little harsh

MUNGOLOID
January 4th 2011


4333 Comments


focus on reviewing an album instead of going on a tangent about reviewing an album.

shrapnel
January 4th 2011


735 Comments


I hate being new to sites

this isn't a hazing of the new guy, if your reviews were good, it wouldn't matter that you're new

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
January 4th 2011


31338 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Im quite the weezer fan. When Pinkerton came out, it was bashed for its abrasive sound, somewhat offensive lyrics, and above all, total change of genre. After a couple years, the critics realized their mistake, and Rolling Stone changed the rating, a 2/5 (they called it the worst album of 1996), to a 5/5. I think something similar will happen here. Of course this wasn't bashed on it's realease, but i still think this album is rock/blues heavy artillery against bands like the Jonas Brothers. I am a terrible reviewer, I know, but this album deserves to praise I give it.


Wtf is this even doing here?

tombits
January 4th 2011


3470 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this is a cool album but it's certainly not revolutionary. if anything one has to question their originality.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
January 4th 2011


23900 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this album's really good but it doesn't even approach classic territory

Digging: RATKING - So It Goes

Irving
Staff Reviewer
January 4th 2011


7311 Comments


Look: I am well aware I am not a good reviewer - Its just a small hobby.

Not to kick you when you're down, but if I may offer a small token of advice: Rule #1 when reviewing - never put yourself down. The last thing you want to do is to downplay your worth as a critic. It's the same as public speaking - never ever start a speech by saying "this is my first time speaking in public, etc etc...".

Hold your head high, and do your best. The rest will come with time. Welcome to Sputnik - hope to hear more from you in the coming days.

Countess
January 4th 2011


818 Comments


I am a terrible reviewer, I know

and now WE know too : )

keysofanxiety
January 5th 2011


143 Comments


I wish you wouldn't constantly repeat that you're not a "good reviewer", it makes it highly uncomfortable to read. You seem to concentrate on your reviewing skills more than the actual album.

Plus there are a few grammatical errors niggling here and there. Also, always remember to use apostrophes for words like "I'm", as well as capitalising band names (e.g. The Beatles).

And just one more thing: "The album simply screams from it's insides with soul."

It should be "its", not "it's". (Pet peeve of mine)

North0House
January 5th 2011


1764 Comments


Just relax and let it flow out. Let your thoughts about the album hit the computer screen you're typing on.
Also, type in Microsoft Word so you can get some spell-checking in there, and grammatical error notifications.

Countess
January 5th 2011


818 Comments


moar like DrEpicFail
amirite?

Apollo
January 5th 2011


10330 Comments


Don't get the love for this band at all

Apollo
January 5th 2011


10330 Comments


and no cuntess, your not rite



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy