The National
Boxer


5.0
classic

Review

by STOP SHOUTING! USER (27 Reviews)
December 31st, 2010 | 13 replies


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: you know i dreamt about you for twenty nine years before I saw you.

you know i have been waiting twenty nine years to hear this. yet when i heard it, i didn’t even hear it. not at first. yeah yes there were highlights, stumbling vocals tumbling in staccato drum runs, a saturnine piano coda soothing me smoothing me relentlessly. but then one alcoholic evening as i slunk slouched in my room: the tangy realisation, the unfurling inevitability of this whole. (slow show)

not the day to day minutiae, forgotten as soon as experienced, but those moments to remember forever:
that night down by the lakes the two of you when she whispered conspiratorially and giggled.
the brushing hush of her lips and the bruising slush of your skin inside. (fake empire)

a land locked lubber scuttles for treasure;
seeks to scatter the tatters of an archipelagic lover.
you changed your face for her, swore this sweating suit for her, earned fool’s gold for her. for. her. (mistaken for strangers)

and days later (how could it be?) weeks months years
when she said no when you said no
then then then neither of you had anywhere left to go. (start a war)

oh my god, a million years ago,
moments grasped at clutched at,
the straining sands sloughing shaking hands.
if i had done something different, done something.
if i had returned. but i will not. i did not. oh i cannot. (green gloves)

softly slowly she unwraps the layers,
lays her wrappers down.
she ignores the gnawing.
that sickening feeling that grows and grows to a cold stone certainty. (gospel)

what remains, electronic embers conflabulated in the unfathomable recesses of a hard disk, this threnody?
what kicks in (serotonin? testosterone?), alone for always and ever, snapping through slurred synapses to fingertips to keyboard to the infinite internet beyond? (apartment story)



Recent reviews by this author
Anna Calvi One BreathThe National High Violet
Wild Beasts SmotherDavid Bowie Scary Monsters
Fenech-Soler Fenech-SolerJames Blake James Blake
user ratings (1749)
Chart.
4.3
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
STOP SHOUTING!
December 31st 2010


631 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

just felt like trying something different to acknowledge berninger’s status as one of the few lyricists to write poetry; and to mirror the themes of his lyrics, which starts imo with him falling madly in love (fake empire) and closes with illness/death (gospel).

Slum
December 31st 2010


2579 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

what

Tyrael
December 31st 2010


20893 Comments


what [2]

Enotron
December 31st 2010


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

didn't care for this all that much

TheStefan
December 31st 2010


1003 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

capitalize the first letter of a new sentence.

i think i learned that in kindergarten

foreverendeared
December 31st 2010


14678 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is good, but it's obviously not a review. So I wouldn't be surprised if this got deleted.

Also I'd avoid cliches like "the brushing of her lips"

Eko
December 31st 2010


2119 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

at first i thought this was lyrics then i realized it wasnt so this makes no sense at all.

Shrapnel94
December 31st 2010


2213 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Wat.

razedtotheground
December 31st 2010


368 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

pretty sure we already had a more than adequate 5-star review

Digging: Electric Wizard - Time to Die

KeithStone582
December 31st 2010


1480 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thanks for wasting my time.

DiceMan
December 31st 2010


7068 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

AVANT GARDE REVIEWING

pos

Ethics
September 2nd 2012


4112 Comments


…where there was nature and earth, life and water, I saw a desert landscape that was unending, resembling some sort of crater, so devoid of reason and light and spirit that the mind could not grasp it on any sort of conscious level and if you came close the mind would reel backward, unable to take it in. It was a vision so clear and real and vital to me that in its purity it was almost abstract. This was what I could understand, this was how I lived my life, what I constructed my movement around, how I dealt with the tangible. This was the geography around which my reality revolved: it did not occur to me, ever, that people were good or that a man was capable of change or that the world could be a better place through one's taking pleasure in a feeling or a look or a gesture, of receiving another person's love or kindness. Nothing was affirmative, the term "generosity of spirit" applied to nothing, was a cliché, was some kind of bad joke. Sex is mathematics. Individuality no longer an issue. What does intelligence signify? Define reason. Desire – meaningless. Intellect is not a cure. Justice is dead. Fear, recrimination, innocence, sympathy, guilt, waste, failure, grief, were things, emotions, that no one really felt anymore. Reflection is useless, the world is senseless. Evil is its only permanence. God is not alive. Love cannot be trusted. Surface, surface, surface was all that anyone found meaning in… this was civilization as I saw it, colossal and jagged…


Pentagon
September 2nd 2012


1998 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

not bad for your 26th review



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy