Sasquatch
III


4.5
superb

Review

by Greg Fisher STAFF
December 30th, 2010 | 53 replies | 10,233 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Stellar, mighty and totally engrossing throughout, this is the hard rock album that many similar artists can only dream of.

Sasquatch are one of these several bands that totally negate the conviction that hard rock is dead. Heading from Los Angeles this powerhouse trio of Keith Gibbs (vocals/guitar), Clayton Charles (bass), and Rick Ferrante (drums) never ceases to be dependable and consistent. Released early this year on Small Stone Recordings "III" marks yet another step in the act's progress as both musicians and songwriters. In case of these guys the lack of originality that is ingrained in the classic heavy rock genre comes as an insiginficant quibble. This is easy to realize in the process of being exposed to the trio's knock-out performance on their third release.

"III" can be best described as a collection of twelve hard rock anthems heavily influenced by classic rock juggernauts Led Zeppelin, stoner pioneers Kyuss and "Badmotorfinger"-era Soundgarden to name a few. Sasquatch couple these inclinations with anti-monotonous, varied song structures that ranges from dynamic, rampant hard rocking ("Get Out Of Here") to slow-burning doom metal-oriented passages ("Queen") and everything in-between. They also raise the bar in terms of bigger-than-life, infectious melodies and sing-along choruses that populate the disc. Keith Gibbs possesses an amazing strong voice that helps to pull out even the most dynamic and risky vocal lines in an impressive manner. He appears to be an equally skilled guitarist as well sporting some admirably heavy, yet groovy riffs along with entirely captivating old-school soloing. This is effectively enriched with always audible, pulsating bass lines as well as thundering drum fills.

With such a consistent album, it's not easy to select standout tracks. All of them share the same anthemic, magma-laden quality that constitutes a trademark feature of the band. "Complicated" might be the most accessible song on the record with its smooth transitions, while "Soul Shaker" stoods out as arguably the ballsiest, most representative anthem they've ever recorded. On the other hand, the blues influences are all-over-the-place in the furious stoner rock of "Walkin' Shoes" and acoustic guitar-driven "New Disguise" that works as an amazing counterpiece to Monster Magnet's "Space Lord." In addition, way more psychedelic, mellower side of Sasquatch finds its representation in masterful "Pull Me Under."

It's believed that the third record of the band is the definitive one. "III" couldn't be more accurate in proving that this conviction is legitimate. Stellar, mighty and totally engrossing throughout, this is the hard rock album that many similar artists can only dream of. Sasquatch have just confirmed that they can do absolutely no wrong.



Recent reviews by this author
Chevelle La GargolaElbow The Take Off And Landing Of Everything
Hark CrystallineNeneh Cherry Blank Project
St. Vincent St. VincentWolves Like Us Black Soul Choir
user ratings (15)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
greg84
Staff Reviewer
December 30th 2010



7160 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The album absolutely slays!

http://www.myspace.com/sasquatchrocks


Digging: Trophy Scars - Holy Vacants

NodScene23
December 30th 2010



247 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great album. I discovered this band recently and was impressed. Some definite classic hard rock influences but I love the appreciation of bands like Kyuss, Soundgarden, etc. Good review.

Jethro42
December 30th 2010



12028 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yet another rabbit came out of the hat before the arrival of 2011 :D
Great review (what a final sprint you do both in reviewing and in discovering some last call' 2010 gems!!) Awesome stuff right up my alley. Pos'd

NodScene23
December 30th 2010



247 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Also, thanks for the referral to Gozu's Locust Season. They look cool.

pizzamachine
December 30th 2010



12568 Comments


Good review. I like the album.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
December 30th 2010



7160 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Good to see I'm not the only one on here who's obsessed with Sasquatch. Sup guys.

@Jethro: Yeah. I'm on a reviewing spree this past few days. You should definitely check Sasquatch out (not referring the creature, this might be dangerous).

@Nodscene: Welcome. Gozu also own face!

SteelErectedb4you8er
December 30th 2010



2612 Comments


Nah Greg, I loved their debut album when it first came out, and then second one was pretty damn rad too. I didn't even know they had a 3rd album out, kudos. I am glad you are taking the stoner band route, I would do it, but I am too damn lazy. Maybe soon, I will start reviewing again.

SteelErectedb4you8er
December 30th 2010



2612 Comments


These guys and Halfway to Gone are straight up hardcore rock n rollers. Love it. Good review, man. I will have to check it out.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
December 30th 2010



7160 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Cool, Steve. Plus, you should def check out Gozu's Locust Season (my previous review).

Halfway To Gone's last album is excellent. I'm a big fan.

And of course I'm looking forward to your new reviews.

SteelErectedb4you8er
December 30th 2010



2612 Comments


Alright, I will look into it. You check out Witchcraft? Pentagram worship, but they do it so well and they are newer band that I don't think the older bands could do it as well these days.

I think it has been a year since my last review; so, I will need to get on it.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
December 30th 2010



7160 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ok. I'll give Witchcraft a go.

Any ideas on what you would like to review?

SteelErectedb4you8er
December 30th 2010



2612 Comments


No idea. Maybe Goatsnake, the second Roachpowder, yob, truckfighters......

greg84
Staff Reviewer
December 30th 2010



7160 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I support Truckfighters and Roachpowder. Haven't heard the other two.

SteelErectedb4you8er
December 30th 2010



2612 Comments


You should get on it by listening to the other two!

greg84
Staff Reviewer
December 30th 2010



7160 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm definitely going to.

Some other recs for you:
Lo-Pan - Sasquanaut
Black Mountain - Widerness Heart
Solace - A.D.

NodScene23
December 30th 2010



247 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Greg84,

Glad to see you dig this sound. You into stoner rock?

greg84
Staff Reviewer
December 31st 2010



7160 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yea. You can say I am. There aren't many people here into stoner as you can see.

Jethro42
December 31st 2010



12028 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Greg is the sputniks hard rock/stoner authoritah. Here's a 4 from me.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
December 31st 2010



7160 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yea. Because the album owns! What are your favorite tracks, guys?

Jethro42
January 1st 2011



12028 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Very good question. Album gets better and better with each listens, really. If you ask me I'd pick up Soul Shaker, the Led Zeppish Queen, Live it up to you and No More Times.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy