Charlie Simpson
When We Were Lions


4.0
excellent

Review

by Adam Knott EMERITUS
December 30th, 2010 | 29 replies | 12,928 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Taking the scenic route.

As Fightstar temporarily take their feet off the effects pedal, Charlie Simpson changes gear and strays from the beaten track; visited are the crunching guitars and apocalyptic visions of 2009's Be Human, only to be replaced by another indelible aura, this time a mellow ambience guided by sorrow and loss. There are indeed a few hints of Bon Iver in these five gorgeous and largely understated tunes, but there are yet more tinges of something truly exciting in the blend of genres and techniques which comes together best on the title track: that instinctive ability to dress a pop song up in perfectly-fitting clothes from a different clique. But where with Fightstar it is a shift towards aggression, here, solo, it is a beautiful folksy vibe, gently recalling Iron & Wine.

It may be just seventeen minutes from top to bottom, but When We Were Lions underlines the musical mentality behind Simpson's departure from the pop band he went to school for. Subtle fragments of The National and other organic indie acts lie in the strolling rhythms of cover 'Bullet' and 'When We Were Lions,' serving as proof that the decision to leave behind those boyband roots was rooted in a more general ambition; its length and the element of surprise prevent this EP from being a full realisation of this venture, but with the prospect of a full-length, who'd write Simpson off? For now, we have this remarkable release to tide us over.



Recent reviews by this author
Mumford and Sons BabelAbel (NY) Make It Right
The Gaslight Anthem HandwrittenMotion City Soundtrack Go
Sigur Ros ValtariSilversun Pickups Neck of the Woods
user ratings (21)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
NorwichScene (4.5)
It makes sense to forget what it takes... Charlie is destined for big things...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Knott-
Emeritus
December 30th 2010



10195 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

he released this as a free download on christmas day to anyone who'd pledged to his pledgemusic account. unsure about a physical release, i cant find too much information about it.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
December 30th 2010



7177 Comments


Short and sweet review is good review. Have a pos.

Digging: Ty Segall - Manipulator

Ponton
Emeritus
December 30th 2010



5790 Comments


whoa! need to find this

Fugue
December 30th 2010



7352 Comments


Knott a soundoff. Convinced me to check this out.

loveisamixtape
December 30th 2010



5952 Comments


good review.

hey knott, go read my The Everglow review. I'm interested in seeing what you think about it considering you review a lot of their albums.

Knott-
Emeritus
December 30th 2010



10195 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is so good and cute and awesome

will do mixtape i saw it and commented but didnt read

Deathcar
December 30th 2010



1534 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

So excited to check this out.

Knott-
Emeritus
December 30th 2010



10195 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

someone else listen to this please

it's all i've listened to all day and it's only seventeen minutes long

that's like

a big number of listens

Phideaux
December 30th 2010



1654 Comments


Sounds pretty interesting. I'll go check it out.

SeaAnemone
December 30th 2010



20049 Comments


I really hate this name


but yeah sounds awesome adam I'll listen right now seeing as it's so short

Digging: Natural Snow Buildings - The Night Country

Knott-
Emeritus
December 30th 2010



10195 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Can't stop fucking listening to this at all.

You mean the EP title? Meh the songs in general are titled meh-ly. They are all TUNES though.

Knott-
Emeritus
December 30th 2010



10195 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

parades fucking sucks this is where it's at

Knott-
Emeritus
December 30th 2010



10195 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

(parades doesn't suck but this is as good as it)

SeaAnemone
December 30th 2010



20049 Comments


This feels a little repetitive and mundane at points... that being said though there's some really sweet moments too. I'll keep listening, and I doubt it'd crack good/great range, but yeah... good nonetheless, thanks for the heads up!

Knott-
Emeritus
December 30th 2010



10195 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That's the best thing about this record. (@Stokes)

Except how awesome it is.

Honestly Sea after the first listen I was settled on a 3.5 but it grew like a motherfucker.

Deathcar
December 30th 2010



1534 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is so so awesome, listened to it all day in the car. If the full length can maintain this level of quality consistently, it should be something special.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
December 30th 2010



15892 Comments


where can i get this? the album art looks so sweet

Digging: Maybeshewill - Fair Youth

maidenpmcc
December 30th 2010



1424 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hey Adam, how exactly did u have to pledge? Did you have to pay for it?

By the way, this is a sweet 17 minute listen.

thumbcrusher
January 1st 2011



3591 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

can't wait for the full length album to come out

NorwichScene
January 4th 2011



1415 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Well worth my £15 pledge! Awesome EP

Digging: Lonely the Brave - The Day's War



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy