Converge
Jane Doe


5.0
classic

Review

by Booberry USER (2 Reviews)
December 23rd, 2010 | 146 replies | 7,588 views


Release Date: 2001 | Tracklist


6 of 20 thought this review was well written

When I first heard Jane Doe, I hated it. I was used to The Beatles, Led Zeppelin, Beethoven; basically just bands that ripped off Converge in some way in an alternate reality. Little did I know that one fateful night, my girlfriend Tanya would dump me and I would fall in love with Converge's 2001 masterpiece Jane Doe.

This album is 45 minutes of anger. You think you know anger? Korn - that are pretty angry right? Think again. So, if Korn is not angry, then who is? Twisted Sister? No, nada. Not even the king of 80's anger and king of 90's anger can either of them hold a well-lit candle to the chaosity and insanity that is Jane Doe. Never before and never again has an album been so filled with hate and anger. But it is not a juvenile type of anger like with Lynyrd Skynyrd or Alanis Morrisette, it is true raw emotion - Like a shark smelling blood, or like a cougar in the highway. Never again. Never before. Jacob Bannon's vision is inside us all.

Describing the music is pointless. Look at the cover. You see the nameless, faceless lady extruding emotion like a vampire without blood? Vampire. Deep inside us all. Repeat it to yourself; perhaps in the mirror. Never before. Never again. That is the theme of Jane Doe. If you cannot relate to the unrelenting power, then just *** off. You can't relate to Jacob Bannon's vision. He is not just a vision, it is a capsule of time - 2001. The World Trade Centers. Remember that? We were all angry, but none was as angry as Jacob Bannon.

Every song is like a collection of mathematical proofs that 2001 was THE year in anger. Not only did we have George Bush in office, there was much more - The Tony Blair oil scandal, the release of American Pie 2 and to top it all off like a big cake, Mario Party 3. Combign that with the power of 9/11 (God Hates Us All) and we have basically an album that would be aptly retitled "2001: Fire Inside Us All", because there was a raging fire. Inside. Us. All.

Jacob Bannon's vision continues to change the earth to this day. Never again.


user ratings (3416)
Chart.
4.4
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Ponton
Emeritus
December 23rd 2010



5785 Comments


rah rah raaaaaahhhhh

Urinetrouble
December 23rd 2010



5760 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

shouldn't have written this ugh. Jane Doe did not need another review. going to neg, needs longer paragraphs and better writing

LegendofPittman
December 23rd 2010



2943 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

A 5 Jane Doe review? This is a first.

ffs
December 23rd 2010



4855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

merry xmans

tiesthatbind
December 23rd 2010



7373 Comments


and to top it all off like a big cake, Mario Party 3.

OMG YES. That alone earns you a pos.

EverythingEvil2113
December 23rd 2010



1279 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

you shouldn't say describing the music is pointless, because that's kind of the point of writing reviews, to describe the music so i can decide if i want to check it out.

i appreciate where you are coming from but this review wasn't needed

ffs
December 23rd 2010



4855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ummm,

LegendofPittman
December 23rd 2010



2943 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Well, the last paragraph was pretty lol. Not bad, better than any review I would do, although you are pretty new to heavier music aren't you?

BallsToTheWall
December 23rd 2010



44164 Comments


Have you been drinking that christian coffee again? You rascal.

Urinetrouble
December 23rd 2010



5760 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

First of all, your review needs more structuring. Second, you cold actually talk about the music. Third, you lack decet writing skills. 4th, this is just criticism and you should take it in and make yourself better. fifth, WE DON'T NEED ANOTHER GODDAMN JANE DOE REVIEW

EverythingEvil2113
December 23rd 2010



1279 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ya but if I'm new here i would have no idea if this was worth checking out which is the perspective i take with most reviews. But I'll give you that most regulars here have checked Jane Doe out.

I feel we have near the same opinion on this album though so let's chalk that up as a win at least.

Urinetrouble
December 23rd 2010



5760 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

GODDAMMIT GODDAMMIT

You seem so sure of yourself huh? Someone here has an entirely huge ego. I'm just giving you constructive criticism and now you're being a huge jerk-off. Who the fuck made you a god?

Relinquished
December 23rd 2010



24852 Comments


god

Psilocyanide
December 23rd 2010



1823 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"5. Don't say Gd."

lol.

EverythingEvil2113
December 23rd 2010



1279 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

oh, i see

BallsToTheWall
December 23rd 2010



44164 Comments


Dont listen to any of these fucks. Do not allow them to detract you from your reign of greatness. They are only jealous of your success and will stop at nothing to get their way.

Urinetrouble
December 23rd 2010



5760 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

^dickridin' much.

@Booberry. i lol'd. u must be trollin' or somethin'

East Hastings
December 23rd 2010



4391 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Shut the fuck up.

BallsToTheWall
December 23rd 2010



44164 Comments


Actually its Dragon Ball z sire.

Relinquished
December 23rd 2010



24852 Comments


I would expect such awesome behavior from a fellow Gundam collector. ;)

lol



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy