Eminem
Relapse


3.0
good

Review

by Jayy USER (4 Reviews)
December 22nd, 2010 | 24 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Am I the ONLY one who likes this album?

Well, no. But I'm in the minority, it seems. Yes, I'm a bit late to the party. Yes, his voice gets a bit annoying, and yes, his rhymes are a bit irrelevant. But if people would separate this album from the rest of Eminem's work, as it seems they have with Recovery (which is more by Marshall Mathers than any other part of him), I think it would be enjoyed quite a lot more.

The album's first track, a skit, actually sets the mood pretty well, which I rarely think about skits, since I find them useless unless they're supposed to be funny. But as Em wakes up from a nightmare of relapsing, we're sent directly into 3 A.M., a slow paced song with arguably the worst chorus in the entire album. Annoyingly slow and incredibly poor lyrics, but the rest of the song makes up for it, not in content, but for the flow that the world loves Shady for. Yes, content-wise, it lacks, but this song, like most the album, is quite a lot better when not taken seriously. The same can be said about Bagpipes From Baghdad, Medicine Ball, and Hello, as far as songs with crap choruses (we're talking "Shove a gerbil in your ass" Fack bad) and great flow go. Honestly, these are pretty decent songs... just as long as you aren't looking for either:
A) The Old Shady
or
B) Meaning
Because you are not going to get it.

However, there are some really solid songs, most notably Insane and Underground. Honestly, I think this why people bothered taking this album seriously for just a couple moments. Each of these tracks are what we loved about Eminem back in the Slim Shady LP. With lyrical complexity and literary devices used well, intense rhythm and flow, and a heavy beat behind it, we've got our old Shady back, at least for a couple tracks.

But for every good track, there's a bad one. Same Song and Dance has multiple different problems that most people hated about the album as a whole:
1) Lack of complexity.
2) Boring beat.
3) That annoying accent amplified a couple times
and it's pretty overall generic. Sadly, this applies to multiple songs, like Must Be The Ganja and We Made You. However, Same Song and Dance is probably the worst of these; the other two can be decent the first couple of times, but the replay value is pretty low.

Dr. Dre makes a couple appearances. Isn't it sad when you bring someone into the track and he outraps you (which he's no stranger to, like in Drips)? In both Crack a Bottle (which also has 50 Cent) and Old Time's Sake. This doesn't mean that the tracks are bad; no, they're actually two of the best, mostly thanks to Dre. I would complain about the tracks themselves, but compared to past work, I wouldn't call them masterpieces (ironically, this is what I'm trying to avoid: comparing to the past).

But can I really call this album great? Hell no. Am I trying to prove this is worth that sort of rating? No. But overall, the good outweighs the bad, and I found this to be a decent album in the end. Would I recommend it? Only as a rap album, not as an Eminem record.


user ratings (1548)
Chart.
2.5
average
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
OutOfMyself
December 22nd 2010


688 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

God-awful album, but the review was pretty good man! Oh and just for future reference, when referring to song titles, I would put quotations around them, not bold them, as the bold writing is distracting.

Jayy
December 22nd 2010


11 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks for the advice! I'll keep that in mind.

PuddlesPuddles
December 22nd 2010


4772 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album is much better than people say. He's got some incredible flow here and the lyrics aren't too terrible. It's my go-to late night driving album

crsini
December 22nd 2010


93 Comments


good review, but the album is terrible.

pos'd

ShadowRemains
December 22nd 2010


20700 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

all i can say is: "accent..."

Digging: Banks - Goddess

Ire
December 22nd 2010


41770 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

ew

climactic
December 22nd 2010


18900 Comments


wow, thank you for the 3 review. we needed one!

crsini
December 22nd 2010


93 Comments


^ stellar use of sarcasm, if I do say so myself.

climactic
December 22nd 2010


18900 Comments


thanks

Urinetrouble
December 23rd 2010


5760 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

review is poorly structured. oddly enough, 3 am is one of my favorit songs off of this.

Satellite
December 23rd 2010


20813 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

Oh and just for future reference, when referring to song titles, I would italicize them, not bold them, as the bold writing is distracting.

wrong. song titles are always quoted. album titles are italicized.

i agree that the bold text is very distracting.

Digging: Spoon - They Want My Soul

Firestarter
December 23rd 2010


277 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I agree with the score and yes this album is underrated. I like the dark mood and the beats as they are reminiscent of early shadey. However the silly voice totally destroyed this record for me.

Surprised you didn't mention Beautiful or Deje Vu, which I believe are the two best songs on the record....

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
December 23rd 2010


7334 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Good review, I think that this gets too much hate as well, though it's undoubtedly one of his weaker moments.

PurpleDrank
December 23rd 2010


417 Comments


this album is just fuckin wack, man

MO
December 23rd 2010


18649 Comments


it's an ok album, a couple decent songs, but on the whole it's not as good as he can do

Irving
Staff Reviewer
December 23rd 2010


7269 Comments


Solid for a third, so have a pos. That said, I agree with those who suggested not using bold text. I would also suggest against randomly breaking the review down into A.) B.) sections when you're trying to make a point. Try to embed it in your review if you can.

Because it's a.) easier to read, and b.) less jarring.

Cheers!

Digging: U2 - Songs of Innocence

Destructerator
July 15th 2012


853 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Some dumb tracks but I love the theme and the darkness of it. And the fact that Em dissed it just to sell Recovery pisses me off.

Destructerator
July 15th 2012


853 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Much much better than Encore. Listening to him belch and shit on every other track was nauseating.

PuddlesPuddles
July 15th 2012


4772 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Technically not on the album but Buffalo Bill is what I play when I sneak around corners with pizza cutters and whipping cream

Destructerator
July 16th 2012


853 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

He should have re-recorded the vocals in his real Slim Shady voice, thrown out the shitty tracks, and kept the good tracks from Refill.

This was rushed out. A disappointment because I love the serial-killer theme, great album package design, the darkness, and how it tries to follow the old template for albums. And it has the best Ken Kaniff skit of all of them.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy