Disturbed
Live & Indestructible


3.5
great

Review

by Irving Tan STAFF
December 18th, 2010 | 36 replies | 8,420 views


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Disturbed: only to be taken in small doses.

In this writer's opinion, American rock band Disturbed are a bit of an enigma: in their fifteen years together, these four musicians from Chicago have released a total of five studio albums (all of which have been reasonably solid) and managed to have a rather stellar touring career in the process.

At this point, I would ordinarily have displayed the holy thumbs-up of approval and go on to say, "Good job boys - you did well for yourselves"...but not this time. For there's this nagging feeling in my gut that I could probably sit down one lazy Sunday afternoon on my hypothetical porch and fit all of their truly great songs onto a single CD - such is the mindless dirge of impotence that characterizes many a Disturbed record. This systemic dysfunction has a nasty habit of usually popping up somewhere within the album's latter half or its final third, causing the record to quickly collapse like a flan in a cupboard.

Paradoxically however, this perception of the band's likely indifference towards creating a truly coherent record is probably why their ridiculously short 2008 EP Live & Indestructible comes across as such a fantastic, bang-up job. Although a relative lightweight at first glance (the release merely features live performances of "Inside The Fire", "Stricken", and "The Game"), its rather compact size belies a dynamism and coherence altogether absent from the band's fuller releases. Take, for instance, opener "Inside The Fire" (incidentally the best piece of songwriting that the band have ever put to tape). Every section that made the original recording such an enjoyable fist-pumper is vividly recreated, with guitarist Donegan's raw machine-gun riff sounding absolutely eclectic once straddled next to a pulsing synthesizer onstage. Blue-liner "Stricken" is also more thrilling and more cohesive than initially remembered on Ten Thousand Fists, whilst EP-closer "The Game" has aged surprisingly well in the decade since its release - even despite vocalist Draiman's insistence on sounding like an electrocuted moose during the song's bridge.

Although ultimately a very short ride (just over eleven minutes), Live & Indestructible somehow manages to communicate a certain tacit understanding to listeners - the notion that all good things truly only come in small packages. All things considered equal, this really shouldn't come as that much of a surprise - this is Disturbed, after all.



Recent reviews by this author
Linkin Park The Hunting PartyColdplay Ghost Stories
Caleb McAlpine All Things NewAngel Olsen Burn Your Fire For No Witness
Eternal Summers The Drop BeneathBlood Orange Cupid Deluxe
user ratings (20)
Chart.
3.2
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
Irving
Staff Reviewer
December 18th 2010



7136 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This review may also be found on my personal blog (at the address http://snuffleupagush.wordpress.com/2010/12/18/take-your-place-inside-the-fire-with-them/).

Comments and criticism will be very much appreciated.

JustJoe
December 18th 2010



1399 Comments


I will be reading this in the morning. I'm sure this review is up to your usual standard of quality.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
December 18th 2010



7136 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Hey JustJoe.

Thanks for the confidence (I appreciate it lots). But truth be told, I'm not too sure about that - it's 4 am where I am right now, and I think it kinda shows. That said, do let me know what you think when the morning rolls around.

Cheers! =)

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
December 18th 2010



30865 Comments


Is the track listing wrong? You say 'Stricken' but it has 'Stupify' listed up the top

Digging: FaltyDL - In The Wild

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
December 18th 2010



19908 Comments


Used to quite like this band, not so much now though.

Needless to say it's another good review, pos'd.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
December 18th 2010



7136 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Whoops - yeah the track-listing was banjaxed. Thanks for pointing it out!

(wow I am on a roll here - am committing a litany of errors like there's no tomorrow)

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
December 18th 2010



30865 Comments


I'll change it

Edit: nevermind, already done

cvlts
December 18th 2010



8954 Comments


okay a couple problems with this.

first, formatting problems

and went on to say: good job boys - you did well for yourselves...

and went on to say, "Good job boys, you did well for yourselves"

second, pretty much every colon here can be replaced with either periods or semi-colons (grammar
police, I know)

and third, and biggest pet peeve. paragraphing. seriously, every paragraph here is one or two
sentences. merge most of them and it will both read and look soooo much better.

content is good, those are just my nitpicks.

coneren
December 18th 2010



11111 Comments


mr steve?

Irving
Staff Reviewer
December 18th 2010



7136 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

@ Deviant: Yup I went ahead and fixed it. Thanks though.

@ Jamie: Thanks! I'm glad to hear the review to was your liking.

@ The both of you two gentlemen: if it isn't too much to ask, criticism/comments would be appreciated. Is there any way to make the review flow better? Any sore thumbs sticking out by any chance?

Thanks!

coneren
December 18th 2010



11111 Comments


not mr steve?

Irving
Staff Reviewer
December 18th 2010



7136 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

@ Genocide:

i.) Formatting fixed. I admit - I was struggling with how to present that bit.

ii.) Colons eradicated/replaced.

iii.) Paragraphing was a huge problem for me too - this is the first time I've done a review that's so short (and sparse if you will) that deciding when or where to end the main bodies of writing was ridiculously problematic. I've merged them now though - hopefully that makes them a lot more presentable.

iv.) Thank you very much for your time.

coneren
December 18th 2010



11111 Comments


sooo...no mr steve? er hat

cvlts
December 18th 2010



8954 Comments


soooo much beter, gj

pos

edit: quit tryin to take over sputnik again, coneren

coneren
December 18th 2010



11111 Comments


what the cunt is a take over of spunik

SCREAMorphine
December 18th 2010



1751 Comments


Good review

RosaParks
December 18th 2010



14592 Comments


Band sounds good live but they're just really boring

JustJoe
December 18th 2010



1399 Comments


"Paradoxically however, this perception of the band's likely indifference towards creating a truly coherent record is probably why their ridiculously short 2008 EP Live & Indestructible comes across as such a fantastic, bang-up job."

I think there should be a comma after paradoxically, and the title of the EP can be separated from the sentence by commas/dashes on either side.

That's all I spotted. Great write up, as per usual, Irving. I look forward to more quality writing from your corner.

Pos'd.


pizzamachine
December 18th 2010



12571 Comments


Nice review sir!

JustJoe
December 18th 2010



1399 Comments


That's a mighty good looking box of pizza you got there...



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy