Metallica
Kill 'Em All


2.5
average

Review

by antiprog86 USER (1 Reviews)
November 29th, 2010 | 32 replies | 2,741 views


Release Date: 1983 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Embryonic Metallica. From what I'm told, it was quite a revelation at the time of its release, but knowing what Metallica would go on to do (which still isnt that impressive), there's not much reason to listen to it.

1 of 9 thought this review was well written

Considering its undeniable historical importance (the first thrash album in history, let us remember), this is a surprisingly unimpressive record. Everything, from the songs to the riffs, from the musicianship to the production, sounds rather unremarkable and terribly dated (in a bad way, I mean - albums can also be dated in a good way). Hetfield's vocals doesn't show a sign of future developments - sometimes it seems like the guy simply can't hold it. The debt to the NWOBHM is all too evident - to me, also not a good sign.

Ok, this is not that solid-sounding as their future albums, in fact it's not solid sounding at all, I enjoy songs like "Hit The Lights", "The Four Horsemen", "Seek And Destroy", "No Remorse" and the bass solo of master Cliff Burton "(Anesthesia) Pulling Teeth". The thing about this record is that the only ones that sound like good musicians is Burton and Hammet, otherwise Hetfield sounds like he can't sing at all and his lyrics don't help much, in fact I laugh at his lyrics in this album, I'm pretty sure I could write better and deeper stuff than that. And Ulrich's drumming is just crap, to this day Lars can't drum, but he still has some good drum beats in songs, although I know a couple of drummers that would kill Lars' ass in one song...otherwise Hammet never seizes to amaze me, he always does an outstanding work with Metallica and Burton always did, I'm sure he's rocking with his bass in heaven.

Sure, the song might be full of energy, but the compositions are quite lacking, and it seems Metallica have drawn out their song lengths since the very beginning for some strange reason. Here, rather than long song lengths being an advantage & being put to good use (the progressive leanings of their next few albums are much more accomplished), this slow-motion punk-metal borders on boredom on just about every song, despite being forcefully energetic. Some of the more concise cuts are well worth raving about: "Jump in the Fire" in particular, but "Hit the Lights" & "Whiplash" are also fine. Overall tho, this is a bit too much of a mixed bag, and the noticeably inferior songwriting sticks out like a sore thumb.

It is inescapable that this album is very, very average. I dont care how influencial and whatnot this is. I dont care if its the first thrash album (this isnt true anyways). That doesnt mean its good. Some nice riffs here and there, and in my opinion, Kirk Hammets best perfromance, but really, only The Four Horsemen stands out as being anything better than mindless early thrash nonesense. I know it unfair to compare this to more modern metal masterpieces (Latter day Death, Cynic, Neurosis, Nevermore etc.) because of its age, but I dont care. There are metal albums that have came out since this release that make it sound like the childish bestial lips thrash rumblings that it is.


user ratings (4351)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
antiprog86
November 29th 2010



25 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

My first real review. What can I say, There are much better albums out there...

LepreCon
November 29th 2010



3600 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

lololololol

Deathfan1
November 29th 2010



12 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

...........What can I say? Kill 'em All is not the first thrash metal album, nor is Metallica the bast band in the genre. At the same time however, this certainly isnt the best review out there either.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
November 29th 2010



7144 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's alright as a review (especially for a first), but two things:

a.) You sound like even you are unsure what you feel about this album. Is it good? Bad? Average? Even you don't know - read this piece to yourself once again, and you'll see what I mean: your opinion cycles to all three conclusions in the space of a couple of paragraphs.

b.) It actually reads like an angsty rant, as opposed to a critically justified, thought-out review.

Still, decent start. Welcome to the site, and hope to be hearing more from you soon!

dr2den
November 29th 2010



1342 Comments


thats nice

MassiveAttack
November 29th 2010



2688 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this was OK, their next was the shit

fr33convict
November 29th 2010



11687 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

lololololol neg

Inveigh
November 29th 2010



24800 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

in fact it's not solid sounding at all, I enjoy songs like "Hit The Lights", "The Four Horsemen", "Seek And Destroy", "No Remorse" and the bass solo of master Cliff Burton "(Anesthesia) Pulling Teeth".


so it's not solid at all, yet you like half the songs? also

influencial


*influential

not bad for a first, but yeah it does read like a stream-of-consciousness rant rather than an actual review.

on a side note, is your name based off progmaster85? are you Proggy in disguise?

BigHans
November 29th 2010



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

lol

Crymsonblaze
November 29th 2010



7479 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Strange review...

I've never liked this album at all.

FilthyBorgir
November 29th 2010



1334 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You have to at least like Whiplash.

ipunchscenekids
November 29th 2010



202 Comments


gay

NeroCorleone80
November 29th 2010



28414 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This isnt your first real review. Its your first failed attempt

maidenpmcc
November 29th 2010



1424 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Overall tho*****, this is a bit too much of a mixed bag, and the noticeably inferior songwriting sticks out like a sore thumb.

though.

Urinetrouble
November 29th 2010



5755 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

despite how basic the music is this record is still their best to fuckin party and slam to

eternium
November 29th 2010



16304 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

THRASH PARTTYYYY.

Rhinoceron
November 29th 2010



94 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The problem I have with this review is the horrid bias. You've got this problem explaining your viewpoint in the review, and then you try to explain it further, as if you're trying to prevent someone from misinterpreting your statement. Fuck that, just do it right the first time.

The entire review just comes off as kinda pompous in a, "Here, this is how it is. And I'm gonna try to elaborate by dragging along the point to ensure you get it" sort of way, although there is no real point you make, just rehashed biased crap.

in fact I laugh at his lyrics in this album, I'm pretty sure I could write better and deeper stuff than that.

They aren't, but go ahead and try. More pompous nonsense.

Also, you typed 'perfromance' rather than 'performance' in the middle of the last paragraph, among other grammatical inconsistencies that I'm too lazy to point out. Last sentence is lolwut.

Poor first review. Hope you do better next time around.

fr33convict
November 29th 2010



11687 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

YEAH THRASHIN' AND PARTYIN'

ReturnToRock
November 29th 2010



3448 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Didn't read past the first sentence, which is WRONG.

Hello, Show No Mercy (1983). Hello, Black Metal (1982). Let me introduce you to a n00b reviewer...

theacademy
November 29th 2010



28255 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

best tallica there is



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy