Jean-Luc Ponty
Mystical Adventures


5.0
classic

Review

by ProgJect USER (31 Reviews)
November 25th, 2010 | 23 replies | 6,515 views


Release Date: 1981 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Since Ponty, the jazz violin has been a different instrument.

2 of 2 thought this review was well written

Jean-Luc Ponty is a classically-trained multi-instrumentalist who soon branched out in the jazz fusion realm. He became an innovative, versatile electronic violinist, and led a prolific solo career. A skilful musician and natural composer, he is above all an important pioneer in the jazz fusion movement. He gained his notoriety in the music industry from his various stints in Mahavishnu Orchestra, on their albums Apocalypse and Visions of the Emerald Beyond, as well as with Frank Zappa and the Mothers of Invention, playing violin on records such as Hot Rats, Over-Nite Sensation and Apostrophe. While these albums bear no resemblance to Ponty’s solo work, they certainly helped pave the way for the type of music he was about to create.

Apparently these experience in fusion suited his taste, because after leaving Mahavishnu Orchestra, he started creating his own fusion-based albums, and he’s always managed to surround himself with very talented musicians. The commonly named ‘Jean-Luc Ponty and his Band’ started it all with album Upon the Wings of Music which had an obvious tendency toward jazz fusion, and while remaining true to Ponty’s musical background, got a more controlled framework than the harsh, 'shred fest' style of Mahavishnu Orchestra. His next album, Aurora, was where he really started to define his trademark sound. For his three following albums, he leaned definitely more toward progressive rock than jazz, and he then reached the peak of his career. In effect, Ponty left us a series of extremely original and explorative jazz fusion albums, appealing to all prog lovers. These three representative masterpieces firmly established him as a figurehead in America's growing jazz-rock movement: Imaginary Voyage, Enigmatic Ocean and Cosmic Messenger.

In those days, his music was a well-balanced combination of sounds that definitely provided the jazz fusion elements, but also had that overall progressive feel to it, with epic multi-parts compositions, varying, complex time signatures, shifting atmospheres and electronic instrumentation. Dominated by Ponty’s melodic, punctuated violin, ranging from smooth passages and energetic, powerful parts, and filled of technical prowess and countless solos, the band combined the perfect blend between spontaneous improvisations and concise orchestration. The interplay between the musicians is spectacular. The pieces all interweave violin, guitar and synthesizers exquisitely to form a melodic, harmonious whole. While Ponty tends to create music that revolves around his virtuosity, he always gives room to many other soloists. His music is based on a solid, miraculous rhythm section which always brings interesting yet intricate grooves, and also greatly supports the violin. Bass and fiddle complement each other in melodies performances. Chris Rhyne’s (Santana) piano is exuberant and stylish. Ponty's violin solos swirl into controlled pandemonium while bassist Randy Jackson and drummer Rayford Griffin enhance Ponty's solo with complimentary rhythms.

Mystical Adventures marks the end of the adventurous era of Jean-Luc Ponty. It was a shame that he reinvented his style somewhat after the album, just when he was getting building his classic style to perfection. It’s the very last album that contains suites, and the five-part title track is heavenly, and arguably one of the finest 20 minutes in prog history. After this release, Ponty found himself revising his positions, and was ready for a major change, apparently to avoid doing the same stuff over and over again, and also to modernise his sound. That gave somewhat interesting results, considering the dozen of albums which reached the top 5 on the Billboard Jazz charts and the impressive amounts of copies sold. The result was overall somewhat less consistent than what he achieved during his classic years, but he still managed to create heartfelt music which contains ethereal moods, a la Pat Metheny, flirting more and more with a kind of hybrid between fusion and New Age. Ponty managed to add just enough improvisations, clever arrangements and compositional skills to keep it interesting. Producing music that is incredibly high energy, but yet soothingly melodic is his trademark. The tempos and moods of his music move along gracefully in that perfect blend of electric jazz, funky, classical and rock, in a manner that only he can achieve.

Jazz, fusion or not, may quickly become merely ‘background music’ if we are not attentive to it. But the quality of Ponty’s music inevitably leads to an attentive listen. Critics said that Jean-Luc Ponty was the first jazz violonist to be as exciting as a saxophonist. Listen to Mystical Adventures to be convinced.



Recent reviews by this author
The Moody Blues In Search of the Lost ChordLe Orme Uomo Di Pezza
Maxophone MaxophoneRenaissance Turn of the Cards
Museo Rosenbach ZarathustraLocanda Delle Fate Forse le Lucciole non si Amano piu
user ratings (9)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
ProgJect
November 25th 2010



37 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

ProgJect continues with another bit of jazz fusion.

vanderb0b
November 25th 2010



3473 Comments


Nice review, always a pleasure to read your stuff. Only thing I don't really like about the review is:

On his next album, Aurora, Ponty began to build his trademark sound of the 70's. This was where he really started to define his sound.

Perhaps, this sounds a bit redundant.

Been meaning to check this album out for ages, will get around to it today.

Jethro42
November 25th 2010



12402 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@Nagrarok, my close collaborator in ProgJect: Both jazz fusion reviews that we've just done have more connections with progressive rock than they have with jazz fusion. We need to do some more reviews to get back to our 100% progressive rock' pie chart haha. Thank you for your effective and usual enhancing, trimming and correcting on the review, mon cher collègue.

@vanderb0b: You're right, bro. Probably for the sake of making myself understood well, I tend to add repetitive and/or unnecessary details, and this habit goes against my efforts to be more concise in my writings. Thank you to point it out. Since the very first ProgJect' review I work hard to improve this, isn't it, Nag.
8-)

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
November 25th 2010



6013 Comments


is Progject a mutual Sputnik account between you Jethro42 and Nagrarok?

cool.

Digging: Troldhaugen - Obzkure Anekdotez For Maniakal Massez

Nagrarok
November 25th 2010



8197 Comments


is Progject a mutual Sputnik account between you Jethro42 and Nagrarok?


Indeed t'is. Jethro writes, I correct.

I believe Strawbs was up sometime next Jethro?

Jethro42
November 25th 2010



12402 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah Voivod; This is a team effort to help progressive rock music taking more and more room here on Sputnik. Our goal is ultimately to review some essentials that are not covered yet.

@Nag: Yeah, I'm still hesitating between two albums of theirs atm.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
November 25th 2010



7365 Comments


I'll be frank. I haven't even heard about this guy. I don't know if jazz fusion is my thing, but the review definitely got me interested. Well done!

Digging: 68 - In Humor and Sadness

Jethro42
November 25th 2010



12402 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Much appreciated, Greg, buddy. You've won a prize:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eyS3uLXqrW8
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l49LyLC8q-Q


greg84
Staff Reviewer
November 25th 2010



7365 Comments


Haha, thanks. Quite surprisingly I really enjoyed listening to it. So, I may check the whole album out.

Jethro42
November 25th 2010



12402 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Man, that makes me really happy! Finally, it's me who introduced you to something good, for a change. Band/Album is A to Z amazing, just like both Imaginary Voyage, Enigmatic Oceans and Cosmic Messenger.



greg84
Staff Reviewer
November 25th 2010



7365 Comments


Technically it's not the first time. I still have to check out this Psychotic Waltz disc.

Jethro42
November 25th 2010



12402 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Wich one again? Anyway, get their four LPs, you can't go wrong with PW. Also, I know you are quite opened to prog genre. Be sure I'd be glad to assist you to make some informed choices.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
November 25th 2010



7177 Comments


Nice work, the two of you. It reads more like a history brief than a review to be honest, but hey, a well-written piece is a well-written piece is a well-written piece =)

It's also common knowledge that more information on everything out there = good for Sputnik, and its many users.

Digging: Ty Segall - Manipulator

Jethro42
November 25th 2010



12402 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I can see where you're coming from. It was meant to look like a 'standard' review at first, but I couldn't help to add some more informations here or there, wich is obviously not the good way to make a concise, to-the-point review like you guys cleverly do. Thanks for your constructive comments, Irving.

Nagrarok
November 25th 2010



8197 Comments


I kept it in because you'd taken the effort writing it, but I agree you overdo the history a bit sometimes. It makes sense though, the albums you reference aren't ususally covered here either.

Jethro42
November 25th 2010



12402 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Very good observation, mate. Also, I am kinda greedy when it comes to write on artists that I grew up with.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
November 26th 2010



7177 Comments


It makes sense though, the albums you reference aren't ususally covered here either.


My point exactly.

And you're most welcome Jethro. It's always a pleasure to read what you and Nag come up with. Please do keep it up. It's very beneficial for the uneducated peon like me, haha!

EVedder27
November 26th 2010



6088 Comments


Great stuff guys, might give this a listen since I've heard Cosmic Messenger.

Jethro42
November 26th 2010



12402 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thanks for your kind words, Irving. Not sure about your last phrase though :D

@Eved: Thanks a bunch, buddy. This and Cosmic Messenger are my personal favourites. Enigmatic Ocean and Imaginary Voyage are essential stuff too. So yeah, you definitely should give Mystical Adventures a try. Start with the link I gave above.

aresx
November 26th 2010



300 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i have this on vinyl. its awesome



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy